We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Santakos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed in Hotel Santakos-Best Western in Kaunas, Lithuania for only one night on our way to Vilnius. Sadly, it was a rather gloomy and rainy day so Kaunas was not at its best. Yet the Hotel was. It is a charming hotel in an old red brick house squeezed in a little street on the verge of the old town. We got an excellent deal; mind you it was October-low season. There is a comfortable car park at the rear, towards which you are led by a polite member of staff. From there you can have a glimpse of a conservatory-an extension of the restaurant in the basement. Admittedly, rooms are a bit cramp but comfortable, cozy and tastefully furnished. So are the staircases, landings and other common areas. What we missed were a few more English TV channels other than BBC world; the news watched for the 5th time somehow loose its appeal. Thrown into the deal we had a fixed menu dinner, which was truly delicious, washed with a bottle of excellent white wine. And breakfast on the morrow. Staff was quite competent and English speaking. Due to the complicated past Russian and Polish are widely spoken in Lithuania, too. Kaunas old town is definitely worth a visit though one day should suffice, I think. Its renovation is near completion. One wonders how speedily they have proceeded considering the extent of damage left behind by the Soviets, glimpses of which one can still spot here and there. The new town, we drove through looks like it is in bad need of some major beautification. But there tourists usually do not go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive feedback with us. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at BEST WESTERN Santaka Hotel. We are glad the food was delicious and we managed to exceed your expectations!
Looking forward to serving you again at Best Western Santaka Hotel,

Warm regards from Kaunas,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

A truly great hotel!
Spent 3 nights in november.
Clean, comfortable, well-located with almost every facility you'd expect from a fancy 5-star namebrand.The staff all speak English (unusual for Kaunas) and are friendly, helpful and intelligent.
Only criticism is the wifi in the bedrooms which goes on and off at will.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank jontymgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for your stay at the Best Western Hotel Santakos. It was a great pleasure to serve you. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel on our first visit to Kaunas - what a good choice. The hotel was in a perfect location, situated right between the Old and New Town on a quiet street just off the main avenue. The hotel itself was a beautiful red brick building, with lovely original features and decor. The hotel staff were lovely, very friendly. Our room was gorgeous and spacious, with a large spotless bathroom and bed and little balcony. As we were staying there for my birthday, the hotel staff very kindly brought us a complimentary bottle of wine and a fresh fruit platter to the room - a really nice surprise!

Thanks to the advice of a review on TripAdvisor, we caught the number 29 bus from the airport into Kaunas centre (about 50p per person taking approx 30 mins). The road between the two is pretty much just a straight road, you just get off on the first stop as the bus makes a sharp left off the main road. Please note however that the buses aren't overly regular, so check your times if you're planning on getting the bus back to the airport in time for your flight!

You will honestly struggle to spend money in Kaunas, everything is such good value for money! A great place to visit for a couple of days, good bars, nice restaurants and lovely people. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking time to share your positive feedback. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos and found your room spacious and clean. We are glad wemanaged to exceed your expectations!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Wishing you a lovely day,

BEST regards,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
inga@santakahotel.eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel had a great balance between old and new, local and international. As you step through a small and inconspicuous door into the cosy interior, you feel at home. An yet it is two minutes away from the main pedestrian street of Kaunas.

The rooms were nice, simple yet with a touch of elegance. I especially appreciated the quietness of the hotel. As two single guests we were both given twin rooms - perhaps it's worth mentioning when you book that you would prefer a double.

The breakfast was also good, with a wide range of food. It would have benefitted from some lemon next to the tea (since the hotel seems very intent of keeping lemon only for conference guests... interesting).

Otherwise, the staff seemed friendly and helpful. Overall, a pleasant, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive feedback with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos and hope to welcome you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel or me personally next time you are traveling to Kaunas and we will make sure to offer you our best available rate.

BEST regards,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
inga@santakahotel.eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We returned to this hotel having stayed there nine years ago. The rooms are great, especially if you request and pay for a "suite." This trip the room quality was still good but on our second night a loud band began playing around 9:pm and didn't stop until after 3:am. We called to complain and were told that the band would stop at midnight and there was nothing that could be done about the noise. After a miserable night of not sleeping, we complained again about the fact that we couldn't sleep because of the extremely loud music that was so loud we could feel the vibration from the drums. We got a perfunctory "sorry" and were told that there was nothing the hotel could do about the band playing since the restaurant area was rented out for a private party. We were also told that many guests had complained about the noise. There was no offer of compensation for a ruined night of sleep or any other type of consideration provided to the guests who paid to sleep in a hotel and not a night club. The hotel's management is to blame for letting this happen in the first place and for not intervening the moment complaints starting coming in to the front desk.

We would never stay at the hotel again and warn others that the hotel's management will not ensure that you have an enjoyable experience if it means giving up extra revenue from a private party. It is not worth the risk to stay at such a hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose to risk a stay at this hotel, get a suite in the new part of the property and on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagoans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sad to learn about the noise from the restaurant, about the indifference and lack of competence of our staff... I am very sad to learn that your problem was not understood and not addressed in time, I really apologize for that.
We could have solved your problem easily upgrading you to another room. I understand your experience at our hotel was not one of the best and i trully hope we will have an opportunity to show our best service on your next trip to Kaunas.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you need any further assistance or help planning your next trip.

BEST regards,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
inga@santakahotel.eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at his hotel for 3 nights in September and loved Kaunas, the hotel is in a great location right between the new town and the old town.

We got the number 29 bus from the airport for about 50p per person!! Tip is to get off when you see the beginning of Walking Street and look to the left with the bus behind you and there is an archway to walk through to the hotel (it is signposted).

Breakfast at the hotel was just ok but when in Lithuania and all that!!

You can get good quality food in both the old and the new town and to be honest compared to the UK you will struggle to spend your money as everything is so cheap! We had a few nice meals and the local beer is nice.

We went to the War Museum which was quite interesting and also visited Kaunas Castle, all in all I would recommend Kaunas to anyone who wants a good quality, non touristy few days away.

We agreed a price with the hotel for the taxi back to the airport for 60LTS but when we arrived at the airport the driver wanted 70LTS so I would recommend confirming the price with the driver before you get in to avoid any confusion especially with the language barrier.

Room Tip: We had a balcony overlooking the courtyard which was nice, room number 315
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. By telling us what you liked you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests. We hope you will come back and se us again soon.
Wishing you a lovely day!

BEST regards,

Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN hotel Santakos
inga@santakahotel.eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I rate this hotel very high. Not because of rooms or service, but because of kind people working in this nice hotel. They were very polite and always with smile on the face ;) Especialy barman was great ;))) Hotel itself is nice, room was OK, just shower was licking. Hotel is situated in the quiet street in an inconspicious house next to main street. Town is not so big, so you dont need taxi to move up and down ;) We saw all the town in one day ;) People in Kaunas were very fiendly and helpfull. We recomand to visit restaurant Bernelju uziega. Its not in main street, but they cook delicious Lithuanian food!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at Best Western Santakos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for writing us what you liked about your stay at the BEST WESTERN hotel Santakos. On behalf of our entire team, I'd like to thank you for your kind and warm words.
We'd love to see you again at our hotel!

Wishing you a lovely day,

BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
inga@santakahotel.eu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.3 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Europa Royale Kaunas
Europa Royale Kaunas
#8 of 28 in Kaunas
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#9 of 28 in Kaunas
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hof Hotel
Hof Hotel
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Santakos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Santakos Hotel

Address: J. Gruodzio Street 21, Kaunas 52316, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
#3 Family Hotel in Kaunas
#6 Business Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Santakos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Westrn Santakos hotel is situated at the merging point of the centre and the Old town - in a calm J. Gruodžio street. In the aesthetic 100 year old building you can find a comfortable and elegant interior. Being away from home, you will find yourself quite at home at Best Western Santakos hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Santakos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaunas
Kaunas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing