We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice warm hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice warm hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel in Kaunas is very nice and comfortable. The rooms are very clean and nice. A bit colder on one side of the hotel during the winter. The hotel is in a great location and easy to walk to some of the cafes and restaurants. The Staff is very nice and they are always there to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your opinion is very important to us and we value it. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.
Thank you again for your time.
Sincerely,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    128
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
42
108
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My stay at Best Western Santaka was with business intention for 1 night. This stay was comfortable, room was very clean, cozy, lovely decoration. The staff are pleasant, give for me all needed information.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykolasLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your kind and warm words!
We would love to welcome you at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos again.
BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at the Santakos on business for 3 nights and found it very comfortable and welcoming. I did not pay so cannot comment on the price. The room was comfortable and spacious with modern yet warm decor, solid wood furniture and full length windows across the longest wall. The bed had soft white linen sheets and pillowcases. The ensuite bathroom was superbly clean and stylish.

Breakfast was buffet style with a very wide range of cold and hot food. Meats, cheeses, fish, eggs, breads, cereals, yoghurts, pastries and fruit. Perhaps if you have a particular preference for a specific kind of tea you might need to bring your own.

We used the sauna and 'swimming pool' on only one morning. It was only just open at 7am and still warming up. Be warned the swimming pool is very small and was really cold in the morning but makes a good plunge pool.

The staff were all wonderfully helpful and mainly speak excellent English. They helped us with directions, looking up information and providing everything we asked for. The only thing I would have liked was a kettle in the room to make tea, but the staff kindly found tea making facilities and loaned them to us for free.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure as it is well situated in Kaunas. The conference facilities are also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing director
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend on a deal with a free bottle of bubbly (local). Everything went as promised. Really cozy and clean, no annoying crowds as in a big hotel, central within walking distance to all you need. Staff was polite and accommodating. Check-out at 12am, however nobody tried to kick as out as we have overstayed for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arta_Vietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property and all your warm and kind words.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spratton, Uk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Santakos is well located in the old town area of Kaunas. The main sites are all within easy walking distance. The bedrooms are very comfortable and all have free wifi. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. The cost of the rooms are reasonable. Breakfast was buffet style and offered meats, fish, breads etc. the hotel has a small pool and sauna. Ideal for a weekend in Kaunas.

Room Tip: Room 414 was a large room with ensuite shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +370 37 302 702.

BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I booked and paid in advance of around 40 days a room at the Hotel Santakos for my family between the 12/09/2013 and the 19/09/2013 and when we arrived at 20:15hrs we where told that our room was not available because they had given all their rooms to another group and we could not stay there. But we were told that they had booked another hotel for us in the same city. I insisted that this was not what we paid for but eventually had no other choice since we were travelling with small kids. We were taken to the other Hotel which was extremely inferior as you can see from the reviews found here (Amberton Cosy Hotel). While at the other hotel there was another family who were treated the same by the Hotel Santakos and were relocated without being informed earlier. So this must be a common practice by the Hotel Santakos. So I suggest not to book the Hotel Santakos in the first place if you don't want to be disappointed since they treat their customers like rubbish and don't care at all about what happens next.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you do not want to get disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and the opinion you expressed. Our customers and their feedbacks are extremely important to us. As I do not agree with your point, I’d like to express our views on this happening.
I know that the customer is always right, that some of them are not satisfied with the move-out therefore we do not make the overbookings with the pursuit of profit. Unhappily the overbooking sometimes happens in all hotels. This time we had all 92 hotel's rooms booked by one of our constant clients. Some days before we were informed about the decision to organize the event some days earlier. We have no right to refuse this change and cancel their booking, because our company is a sponsor of this event and we gave the rooms at a very special (low) rates. And we can not inform you in advance as we did not have any your contact – the channel you made a reservation sent us your name, surname, dates and room type, therefore on your arrival we move you out to another 4 star hotel with the excellent location. We paid for the taxi and the bottle of wine, as our apology gesture, was waiting for you there. Next morning after you have expressed dissatisfaction with this hotel and found the hotel satisfies your requirements, we booked that hotel and paid the price difference. Are you sure, that we “treat the customers like rubbish and don't care at all about what happens next”????
Anyway, please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused once again.
BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed for 3 days, 16 Aug 2012 - 19 Aug 2012

The location is excellent. Room was very comfortable. I love the bathtub, I enjoyed it every day. The sauna and the indoor swimming pool were very nice. Breakfast was excellent, was a lots of choice.

I had some problem with the key... I could not open a door of my room, but the hotel staff helped me.

Windows of the room was on back side and there was the open terrace of restaurant. Even with closed windows I could hear music from the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONAtalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inga K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
First of all I'd like to thank you for your stay at the Best Western Hotel Santaka. It was a great pleasure to serve you.
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us - please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations fully. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Again, I apologize for some inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
BEST regards,
Inga Kerbelyte
Managing Director
BEST WESTERN Hotel Santakos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 29 in Kaunas
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 29 in Kaunas
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kaunas
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#8 of 29 in Kaunas
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amberton Cozy
Amberton Cozy
#10 of 29 in Kaunas
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Address: J. Gruodzio Street 21, Kaunas 52316, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
#3 Family Hotel in Kaunas
#6 Business Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Westrn Santakos hotel is situated at the merging point of the centre and the Old town - in a calm J. Gruodžio street. In the aesthetic 100 year old building you can find a comfortable and elegant interior. Being away from home, you will find yourself quite at home at Best Western Santakos hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaunas
Kaunas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing