We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Baltic Kaunas Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaunas Hotel(Kaunas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hof Hotel(Kaunas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centre Hotel(Kaunas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnus Hotel(Kaunas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Babilonas(Kaunas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
20
42
30
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
42
30
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townfirst morningnice hotelfew stepsroom was cleanpedestrian streethotel is locatedyogurtrecommend this hotelcitysaunaminibarcheesetaxichurcharena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have stayed in Daniela recently and really liked the place. It is right in the middle of the city, very close to the main pedestrian alley. The room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable. However, the problem was with rather noisy air conditioning. Also, I was not able to get wifi properly working. Breakfast was ok, however I was expecting a better one with more to choose from.
All in all, the hotel is worth 4 stars, however do not expect anything brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in Kaunas for four nights, along with my parents and their friends. We had three double rooms which handily were booked in opposite and adjacent to each other. The rooms were a lovely size - with a good sized bed, easy chairs, tables, etc. We had a problem on the first night with noisy air conditioning and a broken lamp light bulb, but the hotel staff went out of their way to fix these.

The hotel itself is very clean, and the breakfast buffet was really good. There was plenty to choose from and a different choice each day. There was a choice of breads, jams, yoghurt, cereal, lots of fresh and dried fruit, eggs, sausages, bacon, cakes and even some Chinese food on some mornings (there was a large party of Chinese school children staying).

Location wise, the hotel was very easy to find, in fact we braved getting the bus from the airport and found it with no problem at all. I would add that if travelling by bus, by tickets in advance from the kiosk at the airport. The hotel is literally a stones throw from the main shopping street.

Kaunas has plenty on offer, and is a lovely place. We also took the train to Villenus for the day, which is well worth a visit.

Food tends to be very much a meat and two veg affair, but there are also pizza and burger restaurants so all tastes catered for. I was pregnant at the time, and was delighted by the range of absolutely delicious non-alcoholic beers available!

Would recommend the hotel - doesn't get 5 out of 5 as could probably do with a bit of updating of the decor, and we had a really boring view from our room. Didn't get round to trying out the spa facilities unfortunately, but they are probably a nice addition.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Difficult to fault this hotel except to describe it as drab. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was fine if a little noisy. The position of the hotel was ok in a slightly dull but very busy street but I think we had been spoilt by Vilnius which is a much nicer destination.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieandSueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I cannot recommend this lovely hotel highly enough!

I only wish it had been possible to have spent our entire holiday in Lithuania based in this hotel.

Arriving on the train from Vilnius was a nightmare - there were no taxis to be seen. We eventually squeezed onto one of those microbuses (like a Turkish dolmus) - not easy with luggage - and happily another passenger spoke English and sorted us out where to get off!

So we were a bit stressed on arrival but just walking into the calm, elegant reception area and seeing the red and white designer clad staff smiling at us was a taste of what was in store.

We had only booked a standard room but found ourselves in the most beautiful, comfortable and spacious room I think we have had on a city break (we go for 2-3* hotels usually on these sorts of trips, quantity not quality is our aim!)

We were at the front of the hotel with a massive double bed and a gloriously comfortable settee and easy chair.

There was a TV, fridge, mini-bar and the whole ambience was comfort.
Loads of wardrobe space, safe, central heating & double glazing.

Bathroom was just brilliant with state of the art facilities and ample large fluffy white towels plus a hairdryer and various lotions etc. Quite large and warm too in there.

Tiny tiny gripe was no coffee sachets (the hotel had apparently run out totally) just lemon tea bags with no milk....well one can acquire the taste.....

We ate twice in the lovely restaurant - and as another reviewer said, gourmet food at very low prices.

Free internet in reception :-)

Very close to the pedestrianised main shopping street (the longest such in Europe apparently) but quite a walk into the lovely old town for someone who is temporarily partially disabled. (We made it but caught a taxi back for £4)

At the top of the street is a funicular up to the massive church which was commandeered by the Russians to be used as a factory - now restored to the Catholic church. The church really dominates the skyline in Kaunas.

Never seen so many handbag/boots and clothes shops in a city so small! The shopping was great.

The Russian Orthodox Cathedral is also worth a visit as is the eternal flame outside the War Museum.

There are some ghastly examples of Soviet era architecture to be found everywhere outside of the old city.
Our taxi driver said all the money for restoration is going to Vilnius as it is European City of Culture next year.

Hotel Daniela was a joy and for £57 a night we thought that it was quite a bargain considering the high standards.

Staff were super efficient and friendly & helpful. They booked us a taxi to the airport with fixed price (£15 equivalent, well worth it rather than ram into a microbus!) which is 12 km from the city.

I simply cannot find anything critical to say about this hotel in any respect. I just wished we were able to stay longer - it was a credit to Kaunas and to Lithuania and I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

Comfort and class personified!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Stayed her in November 08. Hotel was very clean and warm, for breakfast you had a good choice of things to eat, Hotel staff very freindly the hotel was in perfect loctaion just a few mins walk from main shopping street, also not far from the huge shopping centre brilliant shops, food very cheap around £13.00 (52 lats) for two soup starters and two main meals that was the most we paid, beer around £1.25 a pint, (10 lats) pubs are down back streets not far from the hotel, but you have to keep your eyes open for them,
From the airport we caught the bus number 29 and it was 1.50 lats, about 30p or under a quid, taxis are around 60 lats around £15.00p

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ROWDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews