We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Baltic Kaunas Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Hotel has a nice mixture of antique furnishings and is situated in a good location by the river. The beds and rooms are very comfortable and clean. The restaurant and other facilities are good but only the gymn is free and the hours of use are limited, charges apply for use of pool and sauna.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front above the second floor so you get a good view of the river!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and were pretty pleased about it. Superb bed! The only negative thing during our stay was cold coffee in the breakfast. I would visit this again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jussi_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

First of all, excellent location, Friendly helpful staff Very nice breakfast selection Free internet in reception and room. The location of the hotel is excellent - right in the center of T own and very close to the main street. The cost of the room with breakfast was extremely good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have stayed in Daniela recently and really liked the place. It is right in the middle of the city, very close to the main pedestrian alley. The room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable. However, the problem was with rather noisy air conditioning. Also, I was not able to get wifi properly working. Breakfast was ok, however I was expecting a better one with more to choose from.
All in all, the hotel is worth 4 stars, however do not expect anything brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in Kaunas for four nights, along with my parents and their friends. We had three double rooms which handily were booked in opposite and adjacent to each other. The rooms were a lovely size - with a good sized bed, easy chairs, tables, etc. We had a problem on the first night with noisy air conditioning and a broken lamp light bulb, but the hotel staff went out of their way to fix these.

The hotel itself is very clean, and the breakfast buffet was really good. There was plenty to choose from and a different choice each day. There was a choice of breads, jams, yoghurt, cereal, lots of fresh and dried fruit, eggs, sausages, bacon, cakes and even some Chinese food on some mornings (there was a large party of Chinese school children staying).

Location wise, the hotel was very easy to find, in fact we braved getting the bus from the airport and found it with no problem at all. I would add that if travelling by bus, by tickets in advance from the kiosk at the airport. The hotel is literally a stones throw from the main shopping street.

Kaunas has plenty on offer, and is a lovely place. We also took the train to Villenus for the day, which is well worth a visit.

Food tends to be very much a meat and two veg affair, but there are also pizza and burger restaurants so all tastes catered for. I was pregnant at the time, and was delighted by the range of absolutely delicious non-alcoholic beers available!

Would recommend the hotel - doesn't get 5 out of 5 as could probably do with a bit of updating of the decor, and we had a really boring view from our room. Didn't get round to trying out the spa facilities unfortunately, but they are probably a nice addition.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Difficult to fault this hotel except to describe it as drab. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was fine if a little noisy. The position of the hotel was ok in a slightly dull but very busy street but I think we had been spoilt by Vilnius which is a much nicer destination.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieandSueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I cannot recommend this lovely hotel highly enough!

I only wish it had been possible to have spent our entire holiday in Lithuania based in this hotel.

Arriving on the train from Vilnius was a nightmare - there were no taxis to be seen. We eventually squeezed onto one of those microbuses (like a Turkish dolmus) - not easy with luggage - and happily another passenger spoke English and sorted us out where to get off!

So we were a bit stressed on arrival but just walking into the calm, elegant reception area and seeing the red and white designer clad staff smiling at us was a taste of what was in store.

We had only booked a standard room but found ourselves in the most beautiful, comfortable and spacious room I think we have had on a city break (we go for 2-3* hotels usually on these sorts of trips, quantity not quality is our aim!)

We were at the front of the hotel with a massive double bed and a gloriously comfortable settee and easy chair.

There was a TV, fridge, mini-bar and the whole ambience was comfort.
Loads of wardrobe space, safe, central heating & double glazing.

Bathroom was just brilliant with state of the art facilities and ample large fluffy white towels plus a hairdryer and various lotions etc. Quite large and warm too in there.

Tiny tiny gripe was no coffee sachets (the hotel had apparently run out totally) just lemon tea bags with no milk....well one can acquire the taste.....

We ate twice in the lovely restaurant - and as another reviewer said, gourmet food at very low prices.

Free internet in reception :-)

Very close to the pedestrianised main shopping street (the longest such in Europe apparently) but quite a walk into the lovely old town for someone who is temporarily partially disabled. (We made it but caught a taxi back for £4)

At the top of the street is a funicular up to the massive church which was commandeered by the Russians to be used as a factory - now restored to the Catholic church. The church really dominates the skyline in Kaunas.

Never seen so many handbag/boots and clothes shops in a city so small! The shopping was great.

The Russian Orthodox Cathedral is also worth a visit as is the eternal flame outside the War Museum.

There are some ghastly examples of Soviet era architecture to be found everywhere outside of the old city.
Our taxi driver said all the money for restoration is going to Vilnius as it is European City of Culture next year.

Hotel Daniela was a joy and for £57 a night we thought that it was quite a bargain considering the high standards.

Staff were super efficient and friendly & helpful. They booked us a taxi to the airport with fixed price (£15 equivalent, well worth it rather than ram into a microbus!) which is 12 km from the city.

I simply cannot find anything critical to say about this hotel in any respect. I just wished we were able to stay longer - it was a credit to Kaunas and to Lithuania and I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone.

Comfort and class personified!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.7 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
0.3 mi away
Europa Royale Kaunas
Europa Royale Kaunas
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#2 of 28 in Kaunas
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#19 of 28 in Kaunas
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Baltic Kaunas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Baltic Kaunas Hotel

Address: A. Mickeviciaus gatve 28, Kaunas 44311, Lithuania (Formerly Daniela Hotel)
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kaunas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kaunas
Price Range: £45 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Baltic Kaunas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST BALTIC Kaunas hotel - this hotel is in the heart of the Kaunas city, just a few steps from the Laives avenue (the main street) and "Zalgiris" arena. Facing its guests with an elegant and graceful interior and friendly atmosphere. Surrounded by the major cultural, commercial and public facilities. BEST BALTIC Kaunas hotel is a perfect choice for visiting both business and leisure spending. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Baltic Kaunas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern Daniela Kaunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing