We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average hotel”
Review of Kaunas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaunas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Was in Kaunas for 2 days on a conference. Booked this hotel based on reviews. Rated 4-star but really turned out to be a 2-star hotel in many ways. Was supposed to arrive into Kaunas at just past mid-night from Hamburg via Riga, but connection cancelled (beware Air Baltic - they frequently cancel flights if the number of passengers is not worth the fuel!). Was bused to Kaunas on a coach - a 3.5 hour ride. Arrived at the hotel at 0345 to be greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. Check-in effortless. Was supposed to have a deluxe double, but ended up with a quad (1 double, 2 single), probably because of my late arrival. Spacious, very clean (even the carpet and bathroom), his and her basins but plain and certainly not 4-star. The double had a single duvet that did not cover the bed (and hardly covered me). I went down for breakfast at 0945 and found almost all the food gone. Buffet average (not 4-star), and there were no sausages. I asked a waitress if more were coming and she told me plainly that it was 0950 and there would be no more food. I asked if the chef would make three sausages for me (after all these type of sausages are boiled and do not take any time to cook). She told me in no uncertain terms that it was out of the question. I went to the reception and spoke to the head receptionist Julius, asked for the manager and was told that he was out. Julius asked if he could help and I recounted the story. He apologised but didn't give any further help. The stay was otherwise uneventful but I certainly would not stay there again.

Room Tip: My friend was given a free upgrade to a suite which appeared to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msnuzsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Hotal is well located in the most important walking avenue, and only abot 1km from the old town.
Very clean, excellent breakfast with a great variety of: fruit, bread, fried eggs, bacon, jam, juice it is almost a brunch.
The reception and restaurant team are helpfull and professional. The restaurant 55 in the Hotel has an excellent variery of dishes and you can enjoy to eat in the bar, varanda or downstairs in the restaurant.
In terms of price quality is just Excellent.

Room Tip: 4th floor is nice and was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHL573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Enough parking slots in fenced area, very positive! Room was spacious (suite) and clean with separate bedroom. Windows opening to the yard, not noisy could keep window opened (air-conditioning was not working even though it was quite warm). Nice paino bar in the evening, moderate prices for beer - smiling waitresses! Breakfast was also first class with lots of choice, local sausages etc. opportunity to get cappuccino etc.

Room Tip: Suite for 90 €/night was a good choice. Don't think there is much noise in this hotel what ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is a very good hotel but what I really liked about it was it's location. (Of course, I look for the best located ones, but when visiting a country for the first time, there's always a risk!) Not only is it it the heart of the city but it's also surrounded by huge, wide avenues and within walking distance of the Old Town and also - if you're not in a hurry - of the Railway Station! The hotel is clean and the staff helpful. The breakfast was also very good. The fact that the bedroom is separated from the rest of the room also helps. The hotel also has it's own restaurant but it's best to make a a reservation if you are going to eat there.

Room Tip: If they give you a room in section B don't worry because the rooms here are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwars0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very good location in the center of Kaunas. My room had separate bedroom and living room which was nice. Very clean, high standard. Staff in the lobby bar and reception were very friendly. Private parking behind the hotel keeps your car safe.

Room Tip: Ask your room to B building which is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is located on the main street in the center of Kaunas. The room is clean, spacious, relatively quiet. Nevertheless it was a little bit cold for me, because it was the beginning of spring and the radiators have not been working. The room is very well equipped, the bathroom as well. The most important for me was the bed, which was very comfortable. Very tasty breakfast, also with the choice of local food. I would definitely visit this hotel once again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iw0naR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a very enjoyable experience staying at this hotel. The hotel staff is young, cheerful and very accommodating. The lady at the reception went out of her way to give us an early check-in. They were also kind enough to print out a conference paper and boarding passes, store luggage, bring us a fan to our room because we found it too warm (heating wasn't yet turned off for spring) - all signs of good service. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast, average dinner (with small portions), and truly awful lunches. On the upside, if you ate even a morsel of every item at breakfast, you wouldn't want to eat till dinner! Location is excellent on a pedestrianized street which is more ideal perhaps than staying in the old town area (5 minutes by foot), with eateries, shopping, transport choices galore plus excellent people-watching, parks to sit in etc. Slightly overpriced, especially the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mithuraaj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.1 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#2 of 28 in Kaunas
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Europa Royale Kaunas
Europa Royale Kaunas
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 28 in Kaunas
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaunas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaunas Hotel

Address: Laisves al. 79, Kaunas 44297, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaunas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kaunas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing