We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, terrible hotel”
Review of Kaunas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaunas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, terrible hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Despite the nice pictures, the hotel turned out to be a total disaster - it is definitely not a 4-star hotel, rather it is 2-2,5 stars maximum. The largest problems are with the buildings (both, A and B) and personnel.

The major issues:
1. The buildings are sound-transparent, as the walls were made of paper, so you hear when your neighbour in another room is turning in bed, not mentioning all toilet flushes, sneezes and conversations;
2. The buildings are very stupidly planned and poorly maintained, you tend to hear weird noises from piping and sewage, ventilation, air conditioning, etc., which are engineered in a wrong way for a public building;
3. Hotel management is spying on guests via candid cameras, which are disguised as fire detectors or other devices, and there are no signs indicating video surveillance, so this seems to be an illegal activity;
4. Personnel speaks very poor English, if any at all, and have no clue what a service means, and most of the staff is very unfriendly, unwelcoming and unhelpful;
5. Rooms are very dirty. Everything is dirty. Furniture, walls, etc.

So I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Rather take Best Western (****) or Park Inn by Radisson.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    154
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
50
116
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel two years ago and then I liked the hotel very much. This time some things disturbed me little bit - room I had was bit worn out and soon some freshing up would be nice. Also pillow sucked big time. But all other things were good - excellent breakfast, really wide range of dishes, free wi-fi in the room, free and safe parking for the car. Good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our girls weekend away over the May bank holiday was definitely enhanced because we stayed here. The staff were amazingly friendly and getting them to sort out the taxi pick up at the airport made it a cheaper and much smooth welcome.
Once there the staff continued to delight us with offers of help on what to do and where to go, and were very happy to book us in to local restaurants (despite having one in the hotel - which we did also eat in and would recommend).
Our rooms were in the new wing above the small swimming pool and the gym. This locations was quiet and clean and the room sizes were brilliant.
The location is a good 15 min walk from the old town but is well located if you also want to go up the other end, or up the funicular, and is in the heart of the shopping area. Again another plus all round.
They serve the most comprehensive breakfast however the only negative is that there are some tables (down the stairs to the right) which have a slight drain smell around them so best to avoid if you can.
Overall though we'd gladly go back, especially as the value was so good.

Room Tip: Go for the new building towards the rear as it's fresh and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Entering the breakfast room in the basement was a shock: Dozens of uniformed soldiers from Lithuania, Germany and the Netherlands virtually ransacked the buffet and the poor staff had a really hard time to refill. We felt uneasy and the reputation of Hotel Kaunas was battered due to this traumatic experience (second morning again, but we were warned!).
Apart from that Hotel Kaunas is centrally located, has high class rooms with good facilities, a gym (full of soldiers, again!), a pool and it is equiped with helpful staff. Good value for money.
We would come again - but only without the army in the breakfast room!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrondelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced, has large bedrooms, English-speaking staff and a quirky cellar bar/restaurant. Location wise it's a brisk 10-15 minute walk from the Old Town, but that means it's handier for the various attractions of the New Town, and there are various bars and coffee shops a short walk away, so overall not bad.
The biggest plus point is the breakfast. With everything from fresh fruit and cold meats and cheeses to hot sausages, eggs, and a variety of breads and cereals, it's hard to know where to start - or stop!
There are even things you wouldn't expect to get for breakfast in England, such as steamed vegetables, salad items, pancakes and cakes – and local delicacies like cold herrings and pigs' ears.
A couple of criticisms though: The swimming pool is tiny, which could disappoint if you were hoping to do some vigorous swimming. Someone told me it's supposed to have some kind of 'current' in the water but I could't feel it. And the sauna was lukewarm – apparently you're supposed to tell the hotel in advance if you want a sauna (presumably they will then turn it on).
We couldn't get a drink at the bar at 11.45pm even though we'd previously been told it would be open until midnight.
And the cellar bar/restaurant rather smells of drains – rather off-putting if you're eating there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rydqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The room was large and clean and the breakfast had a wide variety. The staff in the reception, in the breakfast and the hotel maids were very polite. And the most important: The hotel in in the center of Kaunas.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The sauna is clean and hot, the pool is small but with a current so strong it was a good excercise.
The garage is fenced in.
Good internet.
All of the above included in the price.
Room was very nice clearly renovated not many days or weeks ago, and with an enormous bed!
Staff is friendly and helpful. Lokated a little walk for the old town, but in a walkingstreet with lots of shops and a few excellent bars.

Room Tip: 209 was fine. Balkony overlooking the street. Some noise from happy people if windows are open, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCHasselgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.1 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 28 in Kaunas
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#9 of 28 in Kaunas
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaunas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaunas Hotel

Property: Kaunas Hotel
Address: Laisves al. 79, Kaunas 44297, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaunas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kaunas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing