We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right in the centre”
Review of Kaunas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaunas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I have been on holiday twice to Lithuania and chose to stay in this hotel both times, in August 2009 and also in May 2008. I am shocked at some of these negative comments. The staff were helpful to us, although Lithuanians are typically quite reserved and service is generally not as quick as in other countries. However, we did not feel a lack of service in this hotel. The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the buffet was topped up. We also had dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed the food there too, although in Kaunas there are cheaper and good quality restaurants.
The hotel lies right on the main pedestrianised shopping street in Kaunas. It is about 15 mins stroll to the old town. The rooms were very comfortable, bright with satelittle TV and a minibar and very clean.
Kaunas is a small city and not very touristy at all which is one reason why we like it so much. The streets are safe and very clean, no litter in sight. The shopping is very good and you are only just over an hour on the bus from Vilnius. There are lots of pavement cafes and nice restaurants as well as museums, parks and the castle with beautiful warm weather in summer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mo1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

Kaunas Hotel was along a gorgeous avenue - everyone was very helpful of how to get there from Palemonas (which is a bus ride away). The hotel had a sauna, swimming pool and gym, lovely rooms and we were on the 2nd floor which opened out to miniture golf! The breakfast was an amazing spread and we made the most of it! Would definately recommend you stay here when you go to Kaunas!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madcatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I stayed at the hotel "Kaunas" in June, came there for business, thankful for hotel staff for helpful service. My luggage was delayed from airport, reception staff helped me a lot to deal regarding this issue. I stayed in the room which was facing Laisves alley - the main street, room was remodeled newly, very clean, nice, so highly recommend to stay in this lovely place. Located right in the center.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The Room is OK but reception staff unhelpful and disinterested. The Fitness centre changing room lacks towels, locker keys and soap and I hate to think when it was last cleaned but the small pool and sauna were fine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berniespratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Kaunas Hotel seem to be quite recently refurbished, as it is very clean and doesnt show signs of wear and tear. Locationwise, it is perfect - right on the main walking street that runs through the centre of Kaunas and pretty close to Old Town and shopping.

The rooms are lacking somewhat in personality - very main stream decor and setup. Not very exciting...

Same with the rest of the hotel, there is nothing really wrong with it. It is just not interesting at all. I would not rate it above 3 stars, but I guess it got the 4th on the presence of the fitness center / plunge pool...

Would I go back? Mmm.... Well... Probably not... But then again I would hardly look to go back to Kaunas at all...

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TheStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Excellent location right on main promenade in old town. Staff pleasant and helpful. Facility very nice. Parking tight but available onsite.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruff7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Kaunas in November 2005.

The hotel itself is very standard. Nice clean bathroom, big shower, Warm comfy bed, thats about it.

You dont have much choice when you go to Kaunas and this will be pretty much the best place you can stay, but dont expect anything other than the bog standard. Ive stayed at nicer travel lodges.

Location wise, its good. Its smack in the centre of the main street and you have plenty of places to entertain you in the close vacinity.

The best thing about the Hotel Kaunas is the buffet style breakfast. Everything you could want and lots of it.

Kaunas is an odd place. I didnt really like it. I certainly wouldnt go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinChimmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.3 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Europa Royale Kaunas
Europa Royale Kaunas
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#9 of 28 in Kaunas
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaunas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaunas Hotel

Address: Laisves al. 79, Kaunas 44297, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range: £43 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaunas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kaunas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing