We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best place on earth :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Kaunas

Old Town Kaunas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.84*
and up
Private Open-Air Folk Life Museum of Rumsiskes Tour
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“the best place on earth :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

It is my hometown, so many times walked up and down each street of this town, especially that I lived in that area. It is little cute old town, with lots what to see and many little shops, coffeeshops and restaurants. IT IS A MUST TO VISIT! Very charming place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MalikaEp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    226
    97
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Very Quaint and Picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were only in Kaunas for 1 night so we didn't have very much time to explore. We walked to what I believe is the main street in old town which is a cobblestone street lined with cafes, restaurants, and shops. The area isn't as big as in some of the other cities , but it is very pretty and quite charming. If you are in Kaunas you should go and see it. There are lots of great photo ops.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nice old town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The old town of Kaunas was nice. Good restaurants and interesting arcitecture. I liked the city, and will return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nice and nothing more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Old town is a pretty small area, actually just a street with bars, cafes and souvenir shops on both sides. The Kaunas tower, the city hall and a couple of churches are pretty small in size and rather modest. A couple of hours are enough to see all of it. But of course going to a bar for a beer or other drinks will require more time. Based on my experience, don't buy amber and other souvenirs at the shops that are around the old town "square", the farther along the street from it, the cheaper the same souvenirs are.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank milen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great walks across cobbled streets, plenty of bars restaurants and photo opportunities.
They don't use the euro so make sure you take currency, nice shops with bargains to be had....
Bit of a gem, like Cheq used tobe before the stag and hens ruined it...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DevaDave27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Kaunas also viewed

Kaunas, Kaunas County
Kaunas, Kaunas County
 

Been to Old Town Kaunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing