We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monk's Bunk Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is the cleanest hostel I've seen. And the longer you stay, the more at home you feel. The beds were comfortable. The hostel was quiet, but maybe because there weren't that many people. The lounge area is huge and superbly relaxing! The kitchen had a foosball table and everything you need to cook a great meal. The people gave us great recommendations for restaurants and bars. I would definitely come back and I would definitely recommend this to others. It's just low key and homey. I would have loved to stay a day or two longer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank geniusbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Cosiest hostel I have ever been to. As it is located excatly in the middle of the town, it is the best place one traveller could stay! Friendly atmosphere and even more friendlier staff. PS! Try out all the nice and different teas they have gathered themselves!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaspar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The place is perfect for backpackers and travellers in general, it is a small hostel with a nice lounge and that makes it a good place to meet another travellers so I strongly recommend it for solo travellers.
It have all the utilities you expect while on the road, like a fully equipped kitchen and full laundry service for a reasonable price, also, all the rooms have lockers and it is quite clean in general.
The owner was always there and gave good advises about the city, also, took some guests to a jazz festival while I was there!
It is very well located as it is on the pedestrian street and close to the old town, just next to a supermarket and easy to reach from the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The hostel is really cool. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the city center is in walking distance, and it is even very inexpensive. The best part however is the guy at the reception. He was dedicated to showing me the best places in the city and also on the way along my further trip to Riga.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This place ROCKS! We came in super late at 2 AM but this didn't change the fact that the staff was SOOO nice...
The hostel is at the best area of the city & The rooms are super nice and clean.
Oh and the internet connection was super fast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noam270788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Being on the main walking street through all of the interesting areas, the location couldn't be better. The host was very friendly and told us all of the interesting things to see in town, and pointed us to a wonderful Lithuanian restaurant nearby. I will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed here for three nights. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the common area was a good place to hang out with other guests. Many reviewers have commented on the easy-going, comfortable atmosphere/vibe, and I echo this sentiment. The information I received from the staff was top notch, which led to taking in a reggae concert and enjoying several off-the-beaten-path bars: experiences I wouldn't have had if I hadn't stayed at the Monk's Bunk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.4 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magnus Hotel
Magnus Hotel
#12 of 28 in Kaunas
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 28 in Kaunas
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europa Royale Kaunas
Europa Royale Kaunas
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apple Economy Hotel
Apple Economy Hotel
#21 of 28 in Kaunas
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#15 of 28 in Kaunas
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk's Bunk Kaunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk's Bunk Kaunas

Address: Laisves al. 48-2, Kaunas 44246, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kaunas
Price Range: £8 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first backpackers hostel in Kaunas! At our small cosy oasis, on the main street in the very heart of town, all guests are treated as friends. We offer:Free city mapFree linen and towelFree tea and coffeeFree wifi and guest computer useFree luggage storage until you leave KaunasFree printing serviceFully equipped kitchen Laundry facilitiesCity toursExperienced staffAwesome location, close to everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Monk's Bunk Kaunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing