We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monk's Bunk Kaunas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“My new favourite hostel”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Extremely clean everywhere and the bathrooms are very modern. The common room and kitchen are home like and very welcoming. The staff are so helpful and have all the time in the world for their guests. 15 minute walk from the bus station but very easy to find. Great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is the cleanest hostel I've seen. And the longer you stay, the more at home you feel. The beds were comfortable. The hostel was quiet, but maybe because there weren't that many people. The lounge area is huge and superbly relaxing! The kitchen had a foosball table and everything you need to cook a great meal. The people gave us great recommendations for restaurants and bars. I would definitely come back and I would definitely recommend this to others. It's just low key and homey. I would have loved to stay a day or two longer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank geniusbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Cosiest hostel I have ever been to. As it is located excatly in the middle of the town, it is the best place one traveller could stay! Friendly atmosphere and even more friendlier staff. PS! Try out all the nice and different teas they have gathered themselves!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaspar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The place is perfect for backpackers and travellers in general, it is a small hostel with a nice lounge and that makes it a good place to meet another travellers so I strongly recommend it for solo travellers.
It have all the utilities you expect while on the road, like a fully equipped kitchen and full laundry service for a reasonable price, also, all the rooms have lockers and it is quite clean in general.
The owner was always there and gave good advises about the city, also, took some guests to a jazz festival while I was there!
It is very well located as it is on the pedestrian street and close to the old town, just next to a supermarket and easy to reach from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The hostel is really cool. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the city center is in walking distance, and it is even very inexpensive. The best part however is the guy at the reception. He was dedicated to showing me the best places in the city and also on the way along my further trip to Riga.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This place ROCKS! We came in super late at 2 AM but this didn't change the fact that the staff was SOOO nice...
The hostel is at the best area of the city & The rooms are super nice and clean.
Oh and the internet connection was super fast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noam270788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Being on the main walking street through all of the interesting areas, the location couldn't be better. The host was very friendly and told us all of the interesting things to see in town, and pointed us to a wonderful Lithuanian restaurant nearby. I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.3 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Kaunas Centre
Ibis Kaunas Centre
#5 of 28 in Kaunas
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hof Hotel
Hof Hotel
#8 of 28 in Kaunas
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk's Bunk Kaunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk's Bunk Kaunas

Property: The Monk's Bunk Kaunas
Address: Laisves al. 48-2, Kaunas 44246, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first backpackers hostel in Kaunas! At our small cosy oasis, on the main street in the very heart of town, all guests are treated as friends. We offer:Free city mapFree linen and towelFree tea and coffeeFree wifi and guest computer useFree luggage storage until you leave KaunasFree printing serviceFully equipped kitchen Laundry facilitiesCity toursExperienced staffAwesome location, close to everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Monk's Bunk Kaunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing