We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amberton Cozy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amberton Cozy
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Kaunas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed there on 2 separate occasions and it was lovely both times. Rooms are spacious and well maintained- and definitely good value for money!
The breakfast was also reasonable. I will definitely go back and would be happy to recommend! It may be worth asking for a room downstairs if you're elderly or of reduced mobility, as there's no lift.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are great, but not suitable for very tall people or for elderly- there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juratewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    119
    63
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
152
21
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I really enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The room was big, nice and well equipped. I knew from a previous that the rooms on 4th floor are nice, so I had one there, and did not mind that there's not elevator. Some minor flaws (which did not disturb that much, but can be improved): the reception did not have some cream for shoes, they forgot to change a light bulb after a request (but 3 of four lamps were working, so no problem), in the bathroom there were 4 spiders (looks like the cleaning did not reach high on the walls).
Overall, very good choice, I will definitely book again here.
A special praise to the really gentle staff, both at the reception and in the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MauroRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortosa, Catalonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Amberton Cozy in Kaunas. Is very central, in the middle of old city, so the district is very safe, something you must consider in this city. I also liked the quality of the hotel, specially considering that it didn't cost so much. Free Wifi included (it should be like this everywhere!) The only negative point is the breakfast but this is a general problem in the whole region. It seems like in all the Baltic States you can only have a salty breakfast with not much choice for sweet things and drinks. We western europeans are used to have croissants and things like this which in the Baltics are difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silentwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here twice with a week between the stays. I have walking problems and since the hotel does not have an elevator, the receptionists both times have been able to give us a room on the first floor. The second time they even exchanged it with someone else that had not arrived yet.

The first time we arrived to that hotel (at about 16:30), the rooms have not been ready yet, although people had to check out at 12:00PM, they "did not have time to change and clean the rooms". That was a bit weird, and a 20 minute wait had fixed that. This gave us an idea of a lousy service, but it tended to disappear right away, as things like this may happen anytime.

The hotel is located right at the edge of the Old Town, you can walk into it in 2 minutes time. The Old Town itself is not that interesting, but maybe it is just to us, because Tallinn (our home town) has better and more interesting sights (but that's us :) ). The hotel building is not on a busy street and your sleep will not be disturbed unless there is a strong rain outside, hitting the metal windowsill.

The room was very clean, beds and sheets are spotless. Bathroom was very nice, however there was a smashed centipede on the bathroom shelf, also looked like it had been covered with lacquer, so it's been there for quite some time; must have been a local attraction :) The hotel soap has a specific smell to it, so it is better if you have some of your own. But tastes are all different, as you know.

The conditioner in our room was not working, but unless there is 30 degrees C outside - open the windows and you'll be fine. If it is hot outside - call for help with the conditioner - too hot!!

The hotel's restaurant is nothing to wish for, so is the breakfast. Juices are probably the ones out of a dry pack - the ones you have to add water to; water with lemon had no taste, so I'd recommend to go with coffee and like it. If you want to have a nice dinner - you may find plenty of restaurants on the Town Hall Square - just some couple of hundred meters from the hotel - really close and handy. The food is well cooked, the prices, however, could have been a bit lower. But if you find something you want to try - just go with it, you most probably will NOT be disappointed.

Hotel has real parking problems - not enough space and lots of locals are parking into two places, so you would probably need to ask the receptionist to find those geniuses and re-park the car normally.

Receptionists are quite nice and speak English and Russian (in case you're interested). So the next time we need to stay in Kaunas, we'll definitely choose this tested hotel, knowing what to expect and its location is just amazing for the price they charge you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalistyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel really blew us away For the price we paid for it, it was something totally amazing. The place has been newly renovated and everything is very up to date. The rooms have Flat Screen TV:s and are huge in size. Everything is clean and in good condition. The breakfast isn't anything special but it's better than nothing. There's no elevator on the property so climbing to the top floor with your luggage can be a problem. But the rooms on the top floor sure make up for the climb. The have a modern attic-like feel to them. The hotel is bang on in the city center and even offers parking! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kaunas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you can manage the climb up to the fourth floor! The rooms are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rut1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Well, it was cozy indeed. Small hotel, very close to the old town and the main square. Our room was on the last floor and there was no lift. My husband had to lug baggage up and down the narrow stairs. The room was quite clean, but there were some places (under the bed, in the shower cubicle etc.) that weren't as clean as it could be in a 4* hotel. Breakfast was rather strange - there was no fresh bread and it all reminded Polish holiday meal with herring and mayo-eggs, not really adequate for breakfast, rather lunch.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocking_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Fantastic location on a quite square just off the main old town square and a few feet from the main drag with all the restaurants.

Rooms are modern and well decked out with aircon (very important the week we were there), though there's no lift which may be an issue for some if you're on the 4th floor.

Breakfast was fine - usual bread, eggs, ham and cheese as well as local dishes such as peas with mayonnaise and pickled herring for the brave. Couple of hot options too. Didn't see the restaurant in action in the evening but we did make use of the outside tables for a couple of pre-dinner drinks which was nice.

Staff were lovely, and overall the hotel was great - our friends were all based further into the modern part of town and kept having to walk 20 mins into the old town and were very jealous!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.8 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.5 mi away
Algiro Hotel
Algiro Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 29 in Kaunas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#7 of 29 in Kaunas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santakos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Cozy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Cozy

Property: Amberton Cozy
Address: V. Kuzmos g. 8 | Rotuses a. 5, Kaunas 44280, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberton Cozy 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, 28 room Amberton Cozy hotel is located in the Old Town of Kaunas, on the quiet street just 30 meters away from City Square. It is surrounded by numerous historical and architectural attractions. Cafes, pubs and main shopping area is situated close by. ROOMS: 28 comfortable and spacious rooms: 3 singles, 23 doubles and 2 deluxe. FOOD & BEVERAGE: Hotel restaurant has been opened with the new style ant look just in winter 2013 and offers delicious European cuisine, fits up to 35 people. CONFERENCE FACILITIES: Modern conference room (30 seats) with all equipment for successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amberton Cozy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing