We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but service needs improving”
Review of Amberton Cozy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amberton Cozy
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

hotel is at a great location, within minutes walk to all major old town sightseeing spots e.g. the castle and the "white swan". hotel was a bit old - rooms are in good condition but there are no elevators so it could be a pain if u hv heavy luggages to carry upstairs.

hotel service attendants, however, are not too attentative to guest requests: for instance we hv specifically asked the hotel to book large taxi cabs for us to/from the hotel as we hv big luggages. both times, regular size taxis came and we could barely fit in!

when we checked out, we were waiting for our taxi at the lobby which has v limited space for guests to sit (one 1.5 seat sofa, 1 broken chair, and one 1 seater sofa). we noted some lady, who looked like a friend of the hotel staff (as they kept chatting with her and she was using wifi at the lobby, i suppose a regular guest could use wifi in their own room) occupying the sofa for almost an hour. as a result, the four of us, with our 8 bags and lugguges, had to STAND or stay outside the hotel while we wait for our taxi to come, which is v inconvenient and rather annoying. perhaps the hotel should consider expanding the lobby area to accommodate more guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
Thank you for all your comments which will help us improve in the future.
If you plan your next trip to Kaunas please do not hesitate to contact me anytime and I would be more than happy to help you with the reservation.

Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The location was wonderful with many restaurant near bay. Staff was helpful with any of the request’s with a worm smile getting of the way to help and be accommodating.
Would recomend to all of my friends.

Room Tip: Room was clean and spacious. The room was on the 4th floor with no lift, but we didn't complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Inga2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
If you plan your next trip to Kaunas please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in my 40 years of travels. I belong to many hotel clubs Marriott, Hilton, Radission,etc and all are very good . Four years ago I discovered this very clean, polite, and very service oriented hotel. I opened a new business and stayed 3 months in the hotel, the length of my visa, in 2009. I knew I was returning and could of rented and apartment. HOWEVER, when I evaluated the benefits of the Amberton there was, and is, no decision.
1.the director and manager both speak perfect English,The Director's father lives in the USA, and she has visited the US, several times, both have University degrees. Both are very accommodating Ladies.
2. The staff all speak English, even the Maids, most are working on degrees.
3.Directions: they all, know the city very well and not only will they tell you all the good places, they will also give you caution when in certain places.
4. Make appointments for you when someone does't speak English, like the demist ( i know first Hand)
5. Where to shop, and where the best deals are.
6. CLEANNESS: My bath room at home should be so clean, and the linens are clean ,and so nice to crawl into,need and extra towel,no question, they just bring it to the room.
7. My experience bugs are NOT a hotel problem, if the hotel doesn't have them, the guests will carry them in. After 4 years I am still looking for the FIRST BUG!!
8. Very reasonably priced, I. usually do not mention price for fear they will raise there there prices.
9.Fun Times:I have had days when things didn't go good,and come to the hotel to find the Manager or Director playing the piano,or one time a guest of 10 yrs. (she was very very good)
10. Christmas : No one like to be gone at Christmas I had to stay twice. The staff had a party,with favors, for the guest staying in the hotel. It wasn't home but at least some one cared. The hotel is like home , someone cares if you are HAPPY!!.
These are only 10 reasons that I have chosen Amberton for the past 4 years.
FJMG Houston TX USA

Room Tip: All rooms are good,i like the first floor,however other floors have rooms that bedroom separated.I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasa1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
I am always happy to have you in our hotel and to hear all these nice things about AMBERTON Cozy. It is always a pleasure for me when you keep coming back here. All our staff is very happy and thankful for your comments and your smile.

Should you need anything you know how to contact me.

Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a hotel we try to stay if we visit Kaunas. It's really cosy, has a great location in the middle of the Kaunas old city and friendly stuff. Free parking and free wifi-Internet is also a great advantage.

Room Tip: free Kaunas old city maps can be found at the reception variety of small souvenirs can be purchased...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
I am more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
If you plan your next trip to Kaunas please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

AMBERTON Cozy hotel the coziest place ever

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay AMBERTON Cozy is THE place to stay.
I loved the staff , they were helpful with every question I had and they just could not do enough for us.
The rooms are very cozy and spacious. The cleaning ladies are so friendly , they smile all the time and they do their job properly. The rooms are clean. I stayed there 3 nights and I can say that the hotel is like second home in the middle of the oldtown! Nearby you can find anything you need! There are shops, cocktail bars, night clubs ect. just 2 minutes away by walk! It is a really good value for your money. In the morning coffee smell wakes you up coming from a hotel restaurant Valick Valley. Very good choice of breakfast. You can find 5 hot dishes, nice coffe or tea, lots of vegetables and Lithuanian sausages, cheese and so on. For us as a family with a child this was the best choice ever.
We have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and I can say we have never got that much attention as in AMBERTON Cozy hotel.
What surprised me the most and made the biggest impression was the piano in the lobby and the girl working at the reception (Egle was her name) , she lighted the candles and played a beautiful song on the piano in the evening! I remember guests standing in the lobby and listening to her beautiful performance. Trust me I have never seen that before in any other hotel! So for me it really was COZY on so many different levels.
Pleasure or business-this hotel is the best choice
10/10 will recommend to all my friends and colleagues!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reene55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hope to see you again in our hotel.
If you plan your next trip to Kaunas please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have visitted a lot of countries and hotels but one thing I can say about AMBERTON Cozy hotel is the atmosphere there!
First impression lobby. You open the door and see a nice girl greeting you with a smile and kindness. Right this second you can say that it is COZY. There is a wonderfull white piano standing in the lobby with a lot of candles on it! Beatiful view!
Rooms are big and spacious and really beautiful! We stayed on the 4th floor(room 408) and although it did not have an elevator the staff was friendly to offer us help with the luggage ! (You don`t get that much attention in other hotels).
Loved the fact that there is free wireless internet in this hotel.
Great location, nice breakfast, clean hotel.
Thank you and we will be back for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car0linaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
Also, I would like to thank you for such nice words about our hotel and about our staff. It is very nice to read such beautiful comments.
If you plan your next trip to Kaunas please do not hesitate to contact me anytime.

Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I can't describe my disappointment with this hotel. It was dirty, dusty, bed linen was full of hair from all the parts of the body and the thing that pissed me off completely - SPIDERS. The room that was offered to us had like 8 enormous spiders all over the place. There was spider webs above the bed and some spiders were working on them. It was like a Halloween night.
We changed the room, but there were spiders in that one too. When we looked true the window we saw that there are dozens of them on their spider webs on the windows of the room. I haven't seen things like this in any hotel I've ever been to and we do travel a lot around Europe and the Americas. I've stayed in little hotels in third world counties, just next to the jungle and never had spiders crawling above my bed and behind the windows making their webs. What is this?!
Hotel has 4 starts rating!! I cant see exactly why. It is far from that in all the aspects!! it does not deserve not even one!
When I asked the girl who worked in the reception if they check the rooms before the guests arrives and I've been given respond that they do. But from what we've been witnessing I don't think that is happening in this hotel at all! Because if the management of the hotel and the staff would do their job PROPERELLY they would know what's going on in every room and the outsides of their hotel. Now it was a big surprise for their staff member seeing the rooms with a spiders and in the state their are offering the accommodation for their guests.
We've been offered to see by ourselves the rooms and choose where we want to stay. My partner went with the receptionist and it turned out that there were spiders in every room he went to. We've been offered ''the solution to the problem'' - to hoover the spiders!! And when the hoover was brought in and the receptionist removed the nozzle - lots of dust and nasty hair balls fell on the carpet, what explains why the carpets in the rooms are so dusty and dirty. People, you have to change the filters and clean your vacuum cleaners more often!!! And guess what - my partner hovered the spider webs himself!! That a go!!! Welcome to the 4 star rated hotel - here is the vacuum cleaner if you don't like to stay like a pigs - knock yourselves out- hoover yourselves!!
I was honestly shocked to all what was happening. Its 10.30pm and we stuck in here - my partner is vacuuming the hotel room where we have to stay for the last night of our holiday!! Speechless !!
I've been given some sort of explanation from the receptionist that they have new house keeper and maybe (MAYBE!!!) she still do not know how to work!!! What load of crap!!!
We had early morning flight to catch so it was impossible to have breakfast and we've been promised packed breakfast when we were checking in. However in the morning that was not the case. So one more thing to add to the list of complains.
Resume: NEVER AGAIN we are staying in this hotel. This experience ruined our last day of holiday and left big disappointment. I feel like we wasted our money and time in there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Audra0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelina_Manager, General Manager at Amberton Cozy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Ingrida,
Thank you for your stay at AMBERTON Cozy hotel and for taking time to write a review.
I understand your concern as I have mentioned in my e-mail few days ago and apologize again.
I wish that I could complete the suggested options which I have mentioned to you to compensate the inconveniences.

We as a hotel have already solved these problems and hopefully we wount dissapoint our future guests.
Best regards,

AMBERTON Cozy General Manager Evelina Sukyt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaunas hotels
0.1 mi away
Daugirdas Hotel
Daugirdas Hotel
#9 of 28 in Kaunas
273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Kaunas
0.8 mi away
Kaunas City Hotel
Kaunas City Hotel
#3 of 28 in Kaunas
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Europa Royale Kaunas
Europa Royale Kaunas
#7 of 28 in Kaunas
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaunas Hotel
Kaunas Hotel
#4 of 28 in Kaunas
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Santakos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Cozy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Cozy

Address: V. Kuzmos g. 8 | Rotuses a. 5, Kaunas 44280, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Kaunas County > Kaunas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Kaunas
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberton Cozy 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, 28 room Amberton Cozy hotel is located in the Old Town of Kaunas, on the quiet street just 30 meters away from City Square. It is surrounded by numerous historical and architectural attractions. Cafes, pubs and main shopping area is situated close by. ROOMS: 28 comfortable and spacious rooms: 3 singles, 23 doubles and 2 deluxe. FOOD & BEVERAGE: Hotel restaurant has been opened with the new style ant look just in winter 2013 and offers delicious European cuisine, fits up to 35 people. CONFERENCE FACILITIES: Modern conference room (30 seats) with all equipment for successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amberton Cozy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing