We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One cozy place to stay in Klaipėda”
Review of Memel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Memel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Klaipeda
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One cozy place to stay in Klaipėda”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The room had skylights, which is nice and feels cosy, but the view of factory chimneys wasn't so charming. Mattress and bedding were absolutely amazing. One could say you were sleeping in the clouds. Free Wifi! Free Parking Space! Final words. Lovely and homely place to stay if you are in Klaipėda.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Memel Hotel for your stay and for taking the time to share such a positive experience with everyone. We are happy to hear that you found our beds so comfortable and you felt like sleeping in the clouds! We strive to provide our guests with great comfort so we are glad to know that you were able to rest so well.

The factory you have seen through the window is probably a historical beer factory, called Švyturys (means "Light house") Brewery. There are few rooms at a hotel, with a view of this factory. But if it bothers you, you can always ask receptionist if there is a possibility to change the room with another view.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience and we cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    103
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
100
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent two night in this building. Real disaster . I live on 3 rd floor . is it like a loft floor . More or less you will hit you head at ceiling ( very nice for sex if you travelling with wife ) . Window you can see only sky , I never been in prison before .......
They forgot to inform , that Beer factory is very close to this building , I was like that SAT and SUN , factory is off.
Limited parking , I counted only ten places . Fortunately this time I travelling w/o car.
My opinion - Poor hotel with great name. In Klaipeda ( ex Memel) possible to find something better

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting Memel Hotel. Please accept our apology for not fulfilling your expectations during your stay.
The rooms on the third floor are attic rooms. These rooms are usually liked, because lower, slanted ceilings provide a sense of coziness and romantic atmosphere (though not ideal for the very tall guests) and an opening skylights brings in a lot of light. We are sorry, that you did not like the room. Standard rooms are located on the first and second floors of the hotel. Wish you had told us about that during your visit.
Your mentioned beer factory is called Švyturys Brewery. The Brewery has its own rich history, it is the oldest operating Lithuania's brewery making beer since 1784. Švyturys beer is considered as one of the best beer produced in Lithuania. Beer lovers can taste this beer at the Hotel lobby bar or just visit a beer shop next to the building.
We are also a little confused about your comment on parking places. There are actually two parking spaces: one in front of the hotel and another private parking is at the back of hotel. In fact parking is limited, but there are total 20 parking places just for cars and there are some more places separately for bicycles, motorcycles and bus. Besides we can add, that parking at Memel Hotel is totally free of charge.

Again, please accept our apology and best wishes in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Memel Hotel. It lives up to a 3 star hotel; clean, comfortable rooms, centrally located, complimentary breakfast, and the staff was polite and well spoken in English. The hotel was located only a short walk from the bus station, as well as from the town, restaurants, and ferry. A good value for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrottingAroundTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback about Memel Hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Klaipeda. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms comfortable, liked complimentary breakfast, our stuff and also it’s nice to hear you enjoyed our central location.
We can also mention that in the summer season there is a possibility to rent a bike for free at the hotel and spend a day cycling in the Old Town of Klaipeda, visiting city‘s main attractions or just take a relaxing ride along the coastal roads and forest trails. The old ferry terminal to the Curonian Spit is only 1.4 km away from the hotel, therefore those who wish to spend a day on the Baltic Sea coast can easily reach it. For more information about bicycle rent or local attractions you can ask at the hotel reception.

Best wishes in your travels!
Memel Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is small. Realy 3 stars hotel. The room was clean, furniture and equipment new. Breakfast was regular. Everything was good, but I do not know why ventilation in the bathroom was working all the time. I tried to swich of, but with no success.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigueSigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for writing this review and sharing your comments with others. We apologize for the inconvenience the ventilation in the bathroom has caused during your stay.

We would like to inform, that our bathroom ventilation system has been changed and for now the guest can anytime activate and deactivate the ventilation when it's needed.

We hope you had a great time in Klaipeda and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Memel Hotel. My room was clean and lovely - top floor with two skylight windows and a big bathroom. The breakfasts were first-rate, with lots of variety, and enough healthy choices to keep me happy. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I also like the location, which was a short walk to the old town. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SayheyMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Memel hotel is a very nice place to stay in Klaipeda. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, tasty breakfast and good prices. Will recommend everybody to choose they place for your stay in Klaipeda. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estonianguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent a night on 2 different occasions at the Memel hotel.
Well priced for the market, comparing what is on offer with other hotels close by.
Excellent service from hotel staff, including best advice for selecting a rental car, restaurants close by.
Clean rooms, very clean bathroom/shower area, as you would expect from a new hotel
Generous buffet breakfast with a variety of foods on offer...

Only complaint. Our first time at the hotel, in the morning, there was no hot water for a shower. Very disappointing for an other wise really good experience at the Memel.
Our room was on the top floor. The sloping ceiling had opening windows directly above our bed.

The second time we stayed at the Memel, knowing about the hot water situation, we showered very early in the morning, so it was ok. Large shower can accommodate 2 people together.
We had a room on the second floor, large windows across the whole room, which was nice. We would open the windows for better ventilation, which in my opinion was a better room than the top floor rooms.

The beds we slept in were very soft, similar to sleeping on thick foam mattresses with no real support in the lower back area...

Lovely staff, generous breakfast, free wifi, very clean rooms, only a few minutes walk to old town centre.
If we visit Klaipeda again, we will go to the Memel hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solie_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memel_hotel, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to tell others about your stay at Memel Hotel, Klaipeda.

We apologize that there was no hot water during your stay. On the 22nd and 23rd of September several parts of the city experienced hot water supply disruption. The disruption was unscheduled, therefore, we did not receive a warning to turn on our own water heating system, thus leaving our guests without hot water for one day. We apologize and hope it has not caused too much inconvenience.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klaipeda hotels
0.5 mi away
Amberton Klaipeda
Amberton Klaipeda
#6 of 27 in Klaipeda
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Klaipeda
0.6 mi away
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
#1 of 27 in Klaipeda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#4 of 27 in Klaipeda
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#7 of 27 in Klaipeda
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ararat All Suites Hotel
Ararat All Suites Hotel
#5 of 27 in Klaipeda
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memel Hotel

Property: Memel Hotel
Address: Bangu g. 4, Klaipeda 91251, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Klaipeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Klaipeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Memel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memel Hotel is a 3-star hotel located in the Old Town of Klaipeda. Hotel is housed in a historic cultural heritage building of a XIX century which has been restored in 2012 and transformed into a cosy 50 room hotel. Memel Hotel rooms are designed and furnished to create a pleasant and comfortable environment for business and leisure travelers alike. Each guest room has comfortable Continental beds, multi-channel flat-screen TV, Well-Lit Work Desk, free Wi-Fi connection and En-suite Bathroom with shower. Hotel offers private car parking free of charge. Memel Hotel is situated on Bangu street in the Old Town of Klaipeda within easy walking distance of the city's main tourist attractions such as Theatre Square or Danes River, close to shopping, theatres, museums, restaurants and night clubs. Hotel offers FREE bicycle rental to all hotel guests to explore the city. The ferry service to the infamous UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Curonian Spit is only 1,4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Memel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing