We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Memel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Memel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Klaipeda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It's a very solid and relatively new hotel close to the city center. But don't expect too much. By international standards I would rate it somewhere between 2 and 3 stars. Rooms are ok but TV was ridiculously small. Breakfast itself was good, but the restaurant much too small. People had to sit outside on the terrace for having their breakfast where it was much too cold. Closed car park for free. The lady at check-in and check-out was professional and very efficient but at same time a bit cold.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very good location in the heart of Klaipeda.
Everything is new and clean, and the staff is friendly and professional.
Safe parking behind a locked gate.
Some traffic noises from the street but nothing disturbing.
Good breakfast buffet, but the breakfast room a bit smallish.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jouko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Memel Hotel. It is a real pleasure for us to know that you appreciated our central location in Klaipeda, our staff and our morning breakfast buffet.

Regarding the traffic noise, we would like to point out that this is only because one bridge of Klaipeda is temporary closed and it’s being repaired at this time. This is the reason why the traffic has increased in this part of city. We hope it didn’t cause you too much inconvenience during your stay.

For your next visit in Klaipeda do not hesitate to contact us, we would love to welcome you back as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We travelled with a little baby (11 months). The room was very big and quiet with a look on the courtyard. We told that we were travelling with a child and were provided with a baby crib. It had all the bed linen and also an extra towels for the baby.
The breakfest was good- a lots of food varietys and it costed only 3EUR per person.
Also the hotel had a free parking and one of the fastest free WiFi internets I`ve ever seen.
It is located right next to old town and a walking distance to shopping mall (Acropolis).
Also an extra + for the staff members- very welcoming :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowembriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Your wonderful compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated by our team. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at our hotel together with your family. It is very important to keep kids comfortable while traveling, especially it is important to get a good night sleep. Upon request we can offer a baby cot for children under 3 years or an extra bed for children over 3 years.

Thank you for sharing picture of your stay at Memel Hotel. We hope to see you and your family again whenever travel will bring you back to Klaipeda!

Warm regards,
Memel Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent three nights in this hotel, can't complaint about anything, yes the top floors have the window on the ceiling but who cares, the mattress is wonderful, everything is new, the breakfast was great, and the rooms are silent, the ratio quality/price is quite high, for me is the best hotel (under 50 euros) where I have stayed, is only 3 stars but it surpasses many 4 or 5 stars hotels. Definitely I would stay in the same hotel if I ever go back to Klaipeda.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for this amazing five star review! There is no greater compliment than to hear from our guests that their stay have been enjoyable and they would like to come back again.

It would be our pleasure to have you return and we thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Memel Hotel with everyone.

Good luck in your future travels and hope to see you again in Klaipeda soon!

Warm regards,
Memel Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The room had skylights, which is nice and feels cosy, but the view of factory chimneys wasn't so charming. Mattress and bedding were absolutely amazing. One could say you were sleeping in the clouds. Free Wifi! Free Parking Space! Final words. Lovely and homely place to stay if you are in Klaipėda.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for choosing Memel Hotel for your stay and for taking the time to share such a positive experience with everyone. We are happy to hear that you found our beds so comfortable and you felt like sleeping in the clouds! We strive to provide our guests with great comfort so we are glad to know that you were able to rest so well.

The factory you have seen through the window is probably a historical beer factory, called Švyturys (means "Light house") Brewery. There are few rooms at a hotel, with a view of this factory. But if it bothers you, you can always ask receptionist if there is a possibility to change the room with another view.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience and we cannot wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent two night in this building. Real disaster . I live on 3 rd floor . is it like a loft floor . More or less you will hit you head at ceiling ( very nice for sex if you travelling with wife ) . Window you can see only sky , I never been in prison before .......
They forgot to inform , that Beer factory is very close to this building , I was like that SAT and SUN , factory is off.
Limited parking , I counted only ten places . Fortunately this time I travelling w/o car.
My opinion - Poor hotel with great name. In Klaipeda ( ex Memel) possible to find something better

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for visiting Memel Hotel. Please accept our apology for not fulfilling your expectations during your stay.
The rooms on the third floor are attic rooms. These rooms are usually liked, because lower, slanted ceilings provide a sense of coziness and romantic atmosphere (though not ideal for the very tall guests) and an opening skylights brings in a lot of light. We are sorry, that you did not like the room. Standard rooms are located on the first and second floors of the hotel. Wish you had told us about that during your visit.
Your mentioned beer factory is called Švyturys Brewery. The Brewery has its own rich history, it is the oldest operating Lithuania's brewery making beer since 1784. Švyturys beer is considered as one of the best beer produced in Lithuania. Beer lovers can taste this beer at the Hotel lobby bar or just visit a beer shop next to the building.
We are also a little confused about your comment on parking places. There are actually two parking spaces: one in front of the hotel and another private parking is at the back of hotel. In fact parking is limited, but there are total 20 parking places just for cars and there are some more places separately for bicycles, motorcycles and bus. Besides we can add, that parking at Memel Hotel is totally free of charge.

Again, please accept our apology and best wishes in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Memel Hotel. It lives up to a 3 star hotel; clean, comfortable rooms, centrally located, complimentary breakfast, and the staff was polite and well spoken in English. The hotel was located only a short walk from the bus station, as well as from the town, restaurants, and ferry. A good value for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrottingAroundTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva_Grigaite, Manager at Memel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback about Memel Hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Klaipeda. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms comfortable, liked complimentary breakfast, our stuff and also it’s nice to hear you enjoyed our central location.
We can also mention that in the summer season there is a possibility to rent a bike for free at the hotel and spend a day cycling in the Old Town of Klaipeda, visiting city‘s main attractions or just take a relaxing ride along the coastal roads and forest trails. The old ferry terminal to the Curonian Spit is only 1.4 km away from the hotel, therefore those who wish to spend a day on the Baltic Sea coast can easily reach it. For more information about bicycle rent or local attractions you can ask at the hotel reception.

Best wishes in your travels!
Memel Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klaipeda hotels
0.6 mi away
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
MICHAELSON Boutique HOTEL
#1 of 28 in Klaipeda
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#7 of 28 in Klaipeda
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amberton Klaipeda
Amberton Klaipeda
#5 of 28 in Klaipeda
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Klaipeda
0.2 mi away
Friedrich Guesthouse
Friedrich Guesthouse
#16 of 28 in Klaipeda
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ararat All Suites Hotel
Ararat All Suites Hotel
#4 of 28 in Klaipeda
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memel Hotel

Address: Bangu g. 4, Klaipeda 91251, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Klaipeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Klaipeda
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Memel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memel Hotel is a 3-star hotel located in the Old Town of Klaipeda. Hotel is housed in a historic cultural heritage building of a XIX century which has been restored in 2012 and transformed into a cosy 50 room hotel. Memel Hotel rooms are designed and furnished to create a pleasant and comfortable environment for business and leisure travelers alike. Each guest room has comfortable Continental beds, multi-channel flat-screen TV, Well-Lit Work Desk, free Wi-Fi connection and En-suite Bathroom with shower. Hotel offers private car parking free of charge. Memel Hotel is situated on Bangu street in the Old Town of Klaipeda within easy walking distance of the city's main tourist attractions such as Theatre Square or Danes River, close to shopping, theatres, museums, restaurants and night clubs. Hotel offers FREE bicycle rental to all hotel guests to explore the city. The ferry service to the infamous UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Curonian Spit is only 1,4 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Memel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing