We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, with some strange drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Palanga
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, with some strange drawbacks”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This was a birthday present from my other half yesterday..we live in Palanga Lithuania so going to a spa hotel in the same town might seem unusual, but I can say it was extremely relaxing.

Palanga itself is THE Seaside town of Lithuania..out of season population around 20,000, summer population 250,000. Season really gets going mid June and ends abruptly last few days of August. It is a very pleasant place to be with great beaches, walks,bicycle paths, forests, bars, cafes although out of season can be too quiet for some people. Not for me!

Our entrance to the hotel was not what I would call the most impressive, a young lady, but with what can only be described as Soviet mentality, took all details but when it came to credit card asked my wife to write down all credit card details including the CVV security code on the registation form. I have never been asked for that anywhere in the world, and neither has my wife, so she said no. This was met with a statement of " this is our new policy following some issues with mini-bar bills in summer". Given that a few years ago this hotel had a well reported scandal with one or two staff members scanning credit cards, I could not understand the logic. Swipe the card and block off a sum like all other hotels in the world do!! This made me very uneasy, and I think it would most clients, even those who were not aware of the scandal. They clearly need to find another system, and just because it is their system, it does not make it right (or even legal in my view).

However the room was pleasant, light and warm, if a little small, but had a nice balcony. Bathroom was nice but was suffering a very minor bout of black fungus around the bath which you dont expect in a five star hotel.

My wife had booked a package which included one night with dinner and breakfast, use of the sauna and pool facilities and back massage each. The Spa facilities are wonderful, we enjoyed the saunas, jacuzzi, steam baths..sadly the pool was not working that day. The massage was fantastic too...really good, we both knew afterwards that we really had just receieved a high quality massage. The staff in the Spa were excellent.

Dinner was lonely (we were the only people there!) in a great aircraft hangar of a room, and the surroundings are not cozy or conducive to a romantic dinner, but the food was fresh and tasty and well prepared. The package gave us a choice of 4 starters, two mains course and 3 deserts. The choice was not so well thought out, cabbage soup, herring (OK if you like it) chicken salad and some interesting concoction with organge "filet"..so we both went chicken. Main course was chicken or Salmon, both went chicken and desert was icecream. As I said, it was all fresh and tasty and good, but little more imagination on choice may be better. Wine cheapest bottle was euro 26 which is what we took..prices after that got crazy. Waitress was pleasant and smiley, although clearly in a hurry to get us out as she wanted to go home..bothered? I always go slower when that happens.. :))

Breakfast was very tasty, and somehow more appropriate in the huge room than dinner.

All in all, a pretty good experience with a couple of drawbacks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BritLithcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    31
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
35
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

very difficult to get around in hotel, no foreign languages, service in bar and restaurant is just no good at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aerdenhouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden Baden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I usually do not write review in case if I'm satisfied with hotel. But I didn't expect much from Lithuania hotel and I was surprised. First of all I would like to say, VERY nice and friendly staff. Very nice SPA facilities and threatments - a lot of services/threatments to choose with a highest quality I've ever experienced. Prices are pretty good. And staff just superior. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I had a wonderful stay at the Vanagupe Hotel. The spa was delightful, and the prices for treatments very reasonable. They had a great variety of treatments and the AYURVEDA - Indian therapy - was a beautiful experience.

The staff was friendly, and the massage ladies were so nice that it didn't matter if they didn't speak any English (the receptionists do, though, so it's no problem arranging treatments).

The restaurant served very good food, also at reasonable prices compared to West European countries.

I had a single room, quite small but with a comfortable queen-sized bed and a very small balcony - no chairs. The decor is modern.

I was a bit put down by the location - it's outside town and the surroundings were nothing special. The beach is a 5 minutes walk away, and you can rent a bike at the hotel for going to town - takes about 10 minutes through pine forest by the sea.

I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing spa and wellness weekend or mini holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2008

I have stayed in this hotel o my wedding night as well as did all the preparations before the wedding. All I can say - it's excellent. Exceptionally clean, staff is going extra 10 miles to make your stay perfect. We have been coming back with my husband last year to check out the new spa and had a massage session for two. All I can say again - we will be definitely coming back. Very well done for all the staff!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, nice room and spa, cleanliness
  • Disliked — not in the noisy city center which might be good or bad depending what you are looking for
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichikaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

good hotel, only problem is location - it's outside center

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vecais_buks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

I stayed in this hotel during very high season, with almost all accommodations overbooked in Palanga. It was weekend of seasonal 1003 km car race and next weekend – international dog show. 9 overnights in Vanagupe hotel were not too long for me even in diverse weather typical for Lithuanian resorts. First thing why I chose this accommodation was- they are located in a calm area aside from all noise and night life. So having a car or calling a taxi or even taking a local bus you can reach city centre in 5 – 15 minutes, walking would take 20, but you are in a noiseless part of the town and also reaching sea is 5 min walk thought nice forest area. Of course around you will not find any restaurants or cafés. But hotel provides all type of food during all the day till late midnight and the kitchen is superb.
What I really liked from hotel, they accept guests with dogs, although you have to pay extra for that, dog feels also a part of the guests of the hotel. You can sit with your pet in the open air launch have breakfast in same open air place and staff will not tell you a word against this.
Expect that standard double rooms are somehow small, if you can afford business class room it is double in size and much more convenient. Hotel builds a new spa so at the moment they provide massage and different treatments but you have to book in advance. Also nice inside pool with different saunas, Jacuzzi and relaxation area are available for the guests free of charge, you can walk inn with a bathrobe provided in your room or take on directly in pool area. I would recommend this hotel for people looking clean and noise less location also for business overnight it is superb.

  • Liked — Calm place , high quality service which is still difficult to find in Palanga elsewere
  • Disliked — Surrounded by new constructions that muct be finished finally
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gabryte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palanga hotels
2.0 mi away
Palanga Spa Luxury
Palanga Spa Luxury
#3 of 39 in Palanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amberton Green Apartments
0.2 mi away
Gradiali Palanga
Gradiali Palanga
#7 of 39 in Palanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Gabija
Hotel Gabija
#12 of 39 in Palanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meguva Resort Hotel
Meguva Resort Hotel
#8 of 39 in Palanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kerpe Hotel
Kerpe Hotel
#5 of 39 in Palanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center

Property: Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center
Address: Vanagupes g. 31, Palanga 00169, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Palanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palanga
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vanagupe is a premium quality property based in Palanga, the most popular resort of the Lithuanian Baltic Seacoast. This luxurious five-star hotel offers business and family-friendly accommodation purpose built to facilitate both business and leisure travellers. Each hotel room has a plush and sumptuous interior design and of course all rooms enjoy a full range of luxury facilities and are equipped with Internet access. The hotel boasts one of the largest and most up to the minute conference centres in the entire country. Our conference suite features 7 well appointed conference / banqueting rooms providing ample space for up to 700 people. The hotel also offers a spacious Health and Wellness Centre. Our facilities include a pool, gym, saunas, Jacuzzi and massage section. We also offer a wide range of beauty and relaxation treatments for our guests. During summer time guests are welcome to enjoy our outdoor tennis and basketball courts or to take a bicycle ride on the seaside forest paths. Also you'll find plenty of tasty dining options in the hotel restaurant which offers 87 seats. Dishes are prepared in the restaurant’s kitchen, using highest quality ingredients, in accordance with the traditions of classical European cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanagupe Hotel Conference And Spa Palanga
Vanagupe Hotel Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing