We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skip this hotel”
Review of Gamanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gamanta
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Palanga
Reviewed 9 September 2005

This is a four star disappointment – not a four star hotel. The good part: central location. Now for the many bad parts: Basic room amenities are absent included shampoo, conditioner and hair dryer. Soap is from a dispenser as you might find in a public restroom. The rooms are small but not out of line with European hotels. We asked for wake up calls (we had 3 rooms). The front desk assured us they would call but they never called – not even one of the three rooms.

We paid for an upgraded room: “garden view”. Presumably it has a balcony, a better view and is quieter. It turns out that the garden view room faces the local pool hall not to mention some loudmouth guy’s apartment. The pool hall and apartment are about 3 meters away (10 feet). At 7:30 in the morning, that jerk was on his balcony with 2 women talking so loud we actually first thought they were in our room. His balcony is loaded with beer bottles and he clanged many more into the collection during the morning. Then he got on his mobile phone for an hour at the top of his lungs. It was one of the more miserable mornings I’ve ever had. The racket was so bad it was impossible to sleep. As for the garden view, you look out on the neighbor’s rooftop that is covered with rags and garbage. If you go for the standard room, you overlook the entrance to a 24-hour grocery store (Maxima) that is convenient for buying shampoo but noisy with traffic all night long. I suspect there is just not a quiet room in this hotel.

On a positive note, the included breakfast was excellent. A choice of hot foods including blintzes stuffed with banana or cheese – yummy!

Finally, a description of this hotel would not be complete without mentioning the shower stall. It is, so tiny as to be indescribable. And it leaks onto the floor covering the entire bathroom floor with water…and we tried everything we could to prevent that from happening.

Bottom line: avoid the Gamanta. It is sub standard by any measure.

7  Thank davekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Наталия О
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _17_a_n_n_a_t_17_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Имеется выход на террасу, хороший вид на город и очень вкусные и плотные завтраки.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneOrust_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Autotechnologij... U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palanga hotels
3.6 mi away
Grand Baltic Dunes
Grand Baltic Dunes
#5 of 39 in Palanga
14 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vanagupe Hotel Conference and SPA Center
0.5 mi away
Pusu Paunksneje Hotel
Pusu Paunksneje Hotel
#6 of 39 in Palanga
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palangos Vetra
Palangos Vetra
#8 of 39 in Palanga
36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gradiali Palanga
Gradiali Palanga
#15 of 39 in Palanga
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palanga Spa Luxury
Palanga Spa Luxury
#2 of 39 in Palanga
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamanta

Address: Plytu g. 7, Palanga 00132, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Klaipeda County > Palanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Palanga
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palanga
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gamanta 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's not only the sea sough, brisk wind, fresh air and sunset, but it is also a comfortable four - star hotel "Gamanta", which is situated right in the centre of Palanga, in a very convenient place both at winter and summer time. We have 33 cozy rooms and a private villa, a bar-restaurant in "retro" style, patio full of summer flowers, conference hall, sauna, pool with cascades and underwater massage, free safe parking lot, warm and nice service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gamanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamanta Hotel Palanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing