We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Downtown Market B&B
Ranked #27 of 75 Vilnius B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The only reason I did not gave 5 points is breakfast. It was ok, but still, it is the only thing where they can improve. The staff is just great! It is very helpful and very friendly, always eager to help and to make your stay as nice as possible. The rooms were always clean! You get keys to the front door, the appartment door and your room door so you can come back to the hostel at any time.
Except breakfast it was perfect!

Room Tip: You get light rooms (in the summer mornings) if you book the rooms 1, 2 or 3. The others are darker...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dead-bountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Downtown Market B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Location: Very central as it was just a short walk to the train and bus main terminal. Perhaps 10 minutes walk or so. Also not far from the city centre. Generally a rather quiet area. No restaurants were spotted along the row of the apartment. Nevertheless, there was McD near the train station.
Service: Need improvement. English is not widely spoken. Think only the breakfast lady speaks English but not the guy at the reception. Also there was no one at night to take care of reception. Had some miscommunication over the time of arrival. Ended up having to wait outside the apartment in the cold.
Rooms: Even though apartment is old and does not look desirable from the outside, rooms are clean.Can get a bit cold despite having heaters. However, the temperature differs from room to room. Some rooms are colder than the others. Room 5 was ok but room 1 (for 1 person) was cold and stuffy. Shower was very good with strong, hot water. However, bathrooms lack of hooks to hang clothes. Love the towel warmer. Enjoyed the simple breakfast of Lithuanian black bread, ham, cheese, cereals, milk, coffee, tea, juice and yogurts. Everyday, we had to state our time preference for breakfast on the blackboard at the reception which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Simple hotel/b&b at 200m from the old town entrance.

Very comfortable to get in and out while in Vilnius. Price is fair, Wifi works well, breakfast is served in the room.

The staff was nice with us and they drove us from and to the airport (3 persons, 25 euro in total for the two trips).

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gheba74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It hooked me that the breakfast will be in the room. But the breakfast was very poor. The room was very, very cold. Location is good, free parking in yard is nice. Service is nice, but that does not compensate for everything else :(

Ps. No swimming pool, clicked accidentally and cannot unclick it 8-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LigaKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed in double room for one night.
It is a basic accomodation in a very central location. Everything is within walking distance. The bus and train station is just around the corner, and Vilnius International Airport is a 10min ride. Although at night you might feel a little uncomfortable as it's a shady station area. There's a free parking lot if you have a car.
The staff is very polite and always eager to help. We changed our arrival time a few times in a short notice and checked-out late, but the staff still didn't show frustration in any moment.
In the morning we received a substancial and varied breakfast (you can choose the time you wish them to bring breakfast to your room), although doubtly organic...
The room was small, but comfortable and clean, private bathroom, TV, wi-fi...
We had a very pleasant overall experience.
Perfect if you're looking a quality service, a homely atmosphere and a central location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hello_from_the_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Not the most salubrious place we've stayed in, but we only slept there as we were out all day exploring Vilnius,cheap & clean with a powerfull hot shower & breakfast brought to your room. The location is superb as it's only about 300m from the gates of dawn, an ideal starting point on your adventure in Vilnius. The architecure in the city is superb, but you'd better like visiting churches & cathedrals! The streets are very clean in Vilnius, the bars & restaurants have young staff & while their english may not be the best, you'll get by. Great value to be had in the city if you find the right places. High street shops are not the cheapest. The Downtown Market Guesthouse is a 6 bedroom premises and while it's basic it was adequate for our purposes, their is a local indoor market right across the street(hence the name) it's well worth a visit to see local people doing their daily shopping. They supplied us with maps & pointed out places to visit. They also offer an taxi service to the airport, we took the train as it was only a 5min walk to the station, we were ripped of by the taxi driver when we arrived at Vilnius airport, he charged us €22(80 Litas) for a 10min drive to the guesthouse. Take the train from the airport it's so cheap & the terminal is only a short walk from the Airport terminal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed at this guest house for 3 nights; it is conveniently located to the train and bus stations and also to a major produce market and a supermarket (Maxima). It is also close to the Gate of Dawn entrance to the Old Town. Friendly staff with breakfast served in your room. Even though my room faced the street, it was quiet enough for sleeping well.
The only drawback is that the area is too deserted at night so it made me somewhat uneasy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeroma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Eastern City Gate
Best Eastern City Gate
#23 of 88 in Vilnius
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mikotel
Mikotel
#44 of 88 in Vilnius
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#37 of 88 in Vilnius
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexa Old Town Hotel
Alexa Old Town Hotel
#46 of 88 in Vilnius
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#22 of 88 in Vilnius
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep in bnb
Sleep in bnb
#13 of 86 in Vilnius
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Market B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Market B&B

Address: Pylimo g. 57, Vilnius 01137, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Vilnius
Price Range: £25 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Market Guesthouse is situated in an early 20th century Old Town building minutes away from the City Hall, the Gate of Dawn, other tourist hotspots and entertainment places. Decorated according to its name the rooms represent different stalls of the market; the fish, the flower, the chocolate and etc. All bedrooms are en-suite equipped with flat screen satellite TVs and wireless internet. A stay is supplemented with organic breakfast from the local market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Downtown Market B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing