We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central solitude”
Review of Hotel Tilto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tilto
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I selected the Hotel Tilto as a part of a flight+hotel package with Wizz Air. The Hotel arranged a taxi pickup at the airport for my after-midnight arrival and both the car transfer and arrival at the airport were friendly and efficient. The room, which did have a double bed, might have been a bit small for a couple. But, I was alone on this trip and the room was just the right size - there was space for one suitcase, a nice little closet and a desk for added surface area. There were plenty of electrical outlets for recharging all the various gadgets we tend to travel with these days AND there were nice, strong reading lights on both sides of the bed. The bathroom was beautifully finished and clean clean clean. The a/c, which I didn't think I would need in Vilnius, worked really well and I was most grateful as the weather was unusally warm when I was there. a nice big window faced out onto an inner court and had nice blackout curtains. So, let's say I was very happy with the room itself (and the staff that kept it nice and clean).
The breakfast buffet was interesting with lots of choices that don't generally make it onto American-style breakfast buffets. I really enjoyed that and couldn't have asked for more.
Hotel Tilto is quite centrally located, just around the corner from the cathedral square and quite close to several of the other main tourist attractions. I never used public transportation or taxis while I was there as the hotel was an easy walk from any of the places a first-time tourist would want to visit in Vilnius. Many restaurants and lounge bars are within just a few minutes walk from the hotel and the area felt super safe even in the wee hours of the night.
Finally, the hotel is a real oasis of quietness. Even if super central, night time brings with it complete silence at the Hotel Tilto. Don't know when I've had such a good rest in a very long time.
When back in Vilnius, I will definitely plan on staying at the Hotel Tilto!

Room Tip: I travelled as a single. Room 206 had a double bed, so I suppose it might sometimes be sold as a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BobB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very pretty structure characterized by some irish style , the position is perfect if you want to visit Vilnius. It's very close to the historic centre and you can easily reach it on foot. The rooms are pretty and clean and the staff very kind . I spent three days in this hotel in Vilnius a couple of weeks ago and I enjoyed my stay very much. Also recommended for the very good value for money.
Manuel , from Milan (Italy)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manuelrunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel Tilto definitely ranks as one of the best! The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, the room was very clean & comfortable, and the buffet breakfast [which is included in the room rate] had a wonderful and varied selection each morning. The hotel is conveniently located near all of the sites of the Old Town. I highly recommend Hotel Tilto as the place to stay in Vilnius and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Hotel Tilto in Vilnius is a smaller hotel located on the northern edge of Old Town, a beautifully restored section of Vilnius clearly given over to the tourist trade. All the main attractions of Old Town are within a ten minute walk of the hotel. The staff speaks excellent English and is eager, not merely willing, to be helpful. The day I checked out the 4:00am clerk insisted on getting me some breakfast pastries even though the complementary breakfast wasn't scheduled to open for another three hours.

Speaking of the breakfast, it was fabulous. It is served cafeteria style in two separate rooms, with a wide variety of meat, breads, fruit and egg dishes. Being in eastern Europe, you won't find pancakes, waffles or "french" toast here. Every day when I left breakfast I felt well fortified for a good day of trekking and exploration.

My only complaint was my room on the third floor of the establishment. This floor is clearly a renovated attic. The rooms have slanted ceilings which limit head space over about a third of the room. The most disappointing thing about the top floor is the single tiny window, about 1 foot by 2 feet, embedded in the ceiling. This meant there was very little natural light in the room, no view of the street, and a need to fully close the window if there was any amount of precipitation. Aside from this, the room was fine. It was clean, secure and fairly large. The bedding and towels fresh, the bed comfortable, the air conditioning adequate. The private bathroom was a good size and the shower was great, water hot and pressure more than adequate.

I recommend staying here as long as the Tilto price is a bit lower than some of the nicer, larger, hotels closer to the center of Old Town.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the street, or good amounts of natural light, stay away from the top (3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and picked the hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. Great location right by the Cathedral and near the bigger streets, so there was a nice choice of things to do in the evening. I particularly liked the buffet breakfast included in the room rate--it included some extras you don't find elsewhere like multivitamin juice, lots of choice in cheeses, fried fish and sliced pastries stuffed with seafood or other yummy things. As others mention, the front desk is very helpful. Good wifi too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violetvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'm not sure what a boutique hotel is. Does it mean small? Tilto is certainly that. Not many rooms, all a bit compact and public areas such as reception and the breakfast rooms follow suit. Its big strengths are its location and the friendliness of the staff on reception. For the three days I stayed it was more than adequate. The bed was very comfortable. My only real reservation would be the cramped surroundings and limited choice at breakfast time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in the old town.
The rooms are quite spacious and the decor is modern and clean. We had a room out to the front, facing the road. This was quite noisy due to a bar being located just across the road (with an outdoor seating terrace) and in the morning quite a lot of cars passing the hotel. Rooms out to the back might be better. Also, the room we were staying in was not soundproofed very well - we were able to hear the bed in the hotelroom in the room above ours squeaking when the person was moving ...
The breakfast was a good continental selection, but the english breakfast wasn't that great.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: pick a room out to the back - quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeBa12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#9 of 88 in Vilnius
1,642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#3 of 88 in Vilnius
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artagonist Art Hotel
Artagonist Art Hotel
#1 of 88 in Vilnius
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tilto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tilto

Address: Tilto str 8, Vilnius 01101, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tilto 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Irish-owned hotel “Hotel Tilto” in the historical centre of Vilnius. The “Hotel Tilto” is only minutes away on foot from Lithuania’s famous Cathedral Square and other well-known tourist attractions of Vilnius Old Town: Gediminas Castle, National Museum Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania, St Anne’s Church, Gates of Dawn and many more. The “Hotel Tilto” team will ensure a warm and homelike stay for our guests, help organise tours in the Vilnius Old Town, a UNESCO world heritage site, and plan other entertainment. We’re happy to help with your leisure plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tilto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilto Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing