We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3* hotel but very overrated on Tripadvisor!”
Review of Hotel Tilto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tilto
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel via Expedia and paid just over £60 for 2 nights including breakfast buffet, which we thought was fantastic value.
Yes, as other Tripadvisor members have mentioned the hotel is centrally located and close to the main cathedral and clock tower, however, so are many other hotels in Vilnius, so this should not be its main selling point.
The hotel's plus points are its friendly staff, quiet location, and clean, modern rooms with a big shower and comfortable bed. The exposed brick wall decor also adds a nice, unique touch.
Where the hotel fails big time is in its presentation of breakfast. This is by far the worst aspect and really needs to be improved.
First of all, the breakfast room is tiny with just 4 tables so there is no sense of privacy at all.
Secondly, the quality of the items on display ranges from poor to mediocre. It seems very budget-orientated. The hot sausages, pancakes and porridge were passable but the bread was stale and of poor quality. We also tried cold meats and cheese which were OK as were coffee and juices.
Thirdly, some of the Lithuanian food such as potato pancakes, herrings and beetroot salad are not breakfast items and should be served at lunch, as my Lithuanian girlfriend confirmed. So it seems strange that they would be served at breakfast time. There were other unusual foods like ricecakes and nuts on the table.
The girls at reception were all really friendly and helpful and it IS a nice hotel, but I have stayed in better 3*s which have not been as highly rated on here as this one so it was a little dissapointing as my expectations were high.
A few more observations:
The room did not have a fridge with drinks & snacks and the kitchen had closed before its 9pm time as we tried to unsuccesfully order room service one evening.
The hotel has a sauna and swimming pool but these were very expensive, which is a shame as otherwise we would have tried using them.
To recap, we recommend Tilto Hotel as an affordable stay, but we are certain that there are better (and pricier) hotels to stay in the capital.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filthiestfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in February. Awesome staff, great location, delicious breakfast. Hotel arranged out pick up at the Vilnius airport, even though we arrived at midnight. Room did not have a closet and a bit small, but we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I stayed in this Hotel for a weekend in february. It is located withing walking distance of all the sights, great restaurants and bars but quiet enough to get a great nights sleep. I was in room 201 a deluxe room, it was huge must be 50 square meters with a seperate sitting area and comfortable bed nicely decorated and furnished. The room was spotless and had free wifi. It is the best boutique hotel i have stayed in.
not only is it a great hotel but the staff are fantastic,knowledgable about the area and helpful in booking anything you need. I left a large sum of cash behind in my room and the staff there made sure that it was returned safely. Thanks Inga and Simona for making a great holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceOlaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

It was only for one night, one week-end in Vilnius. Reception was nice, Room ok and the hotel is close to everything in the old town :-)

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank CamS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We booked a triple room for 3 nights and was pleasanly suprised by the spacious accomodation provided. The maid service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel amenities were more than satisfactory for a three star rating hotel. Breakfast was repetitive but plentiful with a good choice of pastries, fruit, cereal, meats and eggs.
The best thing about this hotel was the location, only a couple of hundred yards from the cathedral and the main streets in Vilnius, also comparitively speaking, the hotel was great value for money.
Vilnius is a charming little city full of cultural sites, decent restaurants and bars. The shops were quite cosmopoliton. One of our favourite hostileries was a brewery/bar called the Avilys, they served a small selecion of home brewed beers and the food was good too. Lokis restaurant provided a truly memorable meal in traditional surroundings, the menu was unlike anything I have seen before with dishes such as Beaver, Wild Boar and Venison and served in a really unusual but delicious way. The Reval Skyline bar was also something to savour, with great views over the city and charming cocktails.
I would definately recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to spend a short break in Vilnius.
Vilnius has an array of churches and other cultural sites to visit. Do not miss the Castle, the Cathedral, St Peters church and the military cemetry.
The people are friendly and courteous and happy to help the inquisitive traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyneth006_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

This is a very good place to stay when you are on a short visit to Vilnius. Tilto is a small and cosy hotel on a quiet street in the centre of the city. The hotel is located very well, close to all the major points of interest, just a minute walk from The Cathedral Square and Gediminas Prospect. The staff was very friendly and assistive.
The check-in and check-out were fast.
As for the room we occupied, it was renovated as the hotel itself, the furniture looked new. We had two single beds. The beds as well as the blankets were very narrow. So, it was not very comfortable to sleep. The room was equipped with LCD TV, but they had only one channel in English and one channel in Russian, and the majority of the channels were in Lithuanian. The bathroom was comfortable for a three star hotel, though the bath was slippery and had no curtain.
The breakfast was good: not very extensive choice but the quality of food was high.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Very good value for money. We paid aprox. 40€ per night (right value on our experience maybe up to 60-70€). Not a luxury hotel, but definetly worth the price. We are wondering some of the comments about the rooms and all that, it is fact that if you want five stars you have to pay more...

No clue about the class of the restaurant..

Riina and Jaakko / Finland

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rautiojaakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#9 of 88 in Vilnius
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#8 of 88 in Vilnius
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#3 of 88 in Vilnius
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amberton Hotel
Amberton Hotel
#28 of 88 in Vilnius
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artagonist Art Hotel
Artagonist Art Hotel
#1 of 88 in Vilnius
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tilto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tilto

Address: Tilto str 8, Vilnius 01101, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range: £44 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tilto 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Irish-owned hotel “Hotel Tilto” in the historical centre of Vilnius. The “Hotel Tilto” is only minutes away on foot from Lithuania’s famous Cathedral Square and other well-known tourist attractions of Vilnius Old Town: Gediminas Castle, National Museum Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania, St Anne’s Church, Gates of Dawn and many more. The “Hotel Tilto” team will ensure a warm and homelike stay for our guests, help organise tours in the Vilnius Old Town, a UNESCO world heritage site, and plan other entertainment. We’re happy to help with your leisure plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tilto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilto Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing