We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Lokys

Restaurant Lokys
Ranked #16 of 742 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Latvian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Narrow Stikliu street in the old town of Vilnius began it‘s history in XVth century, when merchants and craftsmen, invited by Lithuanian Grand Dukes, here started their businesses - shops, workshops and taverns.The building, where currently restaurant “Lokys” is situated, was build in the end of XVth century for one of the merchants both for living and trading purposes.Over centuries, gothic cellars changed their owners for couple of times. Here have been shops, taverns and beerhouses, until 1972, when it was restored and hunters’ restaurant “Lokys” housed here.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very good food even though my cheese cake with strawberry dressing was minuscule. The staff was very friendly indeed - the best we've had during our 10-day trip through the Baltics. Shop assistants in Lithuania shoud take lessions from them :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    469
    139
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic red beat soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very good service, good variety menu and very well prepared red beat soup. We regret that we did not make a second visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great place to sample traditional Lithuanian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The restaurant has a nice outdoor garden and a casual ambiance, and doesn't feel terribly touristy. Their fried bread and garlic dip is a Baltic must, and some of the best I had on my trip. I had a beef and venison stew with pickles in a nest of horseradish mashed potatoes, and it was delicious. Dined alone and felt very comfortable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
162 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in the oldtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a very nice place in the oldtown where it is possible to taste some of the typical local dishes.
I had a good "hunter dish" with deer and other fowl.
The deer was too "well done" for my taste, but in any case it was good.
Also the soup was ok.
Complessively a good place where I will back in the future.
Price: around 25Euro for the whole dinner (starter, main dish, sweet and beer) that is a bit high for this city, but ok for the quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maximilian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place was wonderful. To start we got the fried black bread with cheese dip - I forgot the name of it - and this was my favorite so far (I have had it at 4 places) The FRESH orange juice is always a big plus in my book. I got a steak and the others in my group got venison. All the sides were yummy. We all were full and satisfied at the end of dinner.

Dessert was great too….i had Hot Chocolate with ice cream - and it was a bowl of melted chocolate with a scoop of ice cream. So yummy.

Service was great. We sat outside - nice night - when it started to sprinkle they moved others inside, but before they got to us it had stopped. NO BIG DEAL. It was fine and good.

Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank walkerm029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Lokys also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Restaurant Lokys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing