We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the young at heart, mind, and body”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortuna Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortuna Hostel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“For the young at heart, mind, and body”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Located next to the railroad tracks, making it an easy ten minute walk from the station, Fortuna is not for the light sleeper. Very well maintained reception, kitchens and rooms are appealing. The bathrooms could use better ventilation as they ask you not to flush used toilet paper. When we were there, we encountered a fairly large group of late teens who seemed as though this was their first time away from home. Needless to say they were very loud late into the evening. Add in the six or so construction workers using the kitchen first thing in the morning and you have a rough night's sleep. Good value and overall a clean and tidy place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithHusbandInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    35
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
10
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fortuna Hostel is a large hostel and a good base for Vilnius. It is close to the railway station, buses and easy to find from there. It is close to the old town too, although not in it. It has some large rooms and the beds we had were comfortable, like couches really. The staff were pleasant and helpful and there are two kitchens to use. There are a few computers available free, although not all were working, downstairs. There are plenty of bathrooms and toilets and you can ask for your washing and drying to be done for you for a fee.

It was a bit noisy from the trains which went past at night as it is very close to the railway tracks. It is also better to ask for a room which is not near the terrace area as people go out there to smoke and talk and you can hear the voices and smell the smoke in the rooms near there - which happened to be our room. It is a large hostel so attracts many people. Some hostellers were noisy at night. I would suggest that the hostel takes away the sofas in the hallways as this encourages people to sit and talk there and you can easily hear this in the rooms. However if you want this type of social atmosphere it is great for you. Linen a bit past its used by date but it was clean.

I would recommend it, especially to younger people.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the terrace, unless you like to have noisy people outside talking at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilnius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Staff is very friendly and speaks good english (exept the cleaning lady) Bathooms and showers are clean and there is annoff of them. Coffee and tea for free. Location is good by the Dawn gate, less than 10 minutes from train and buss stations 2 minutes to old town. Free lockers. Almost 100 tv channels ( you wont miss a footballgame). Very i will be back. Maybe the best value for the money.

Room Tip: I was in dorm and it was allright other finnish guy staying here said that doubles are good and chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great hostel in great location. I have stayed in dorm and in private room there. Stuff is really helpful and nice, bathrooms are clean. Private rooms are spacious. There is a railway near the hostel but in my opinion it doesn't disturb your dream. On the second floor there is a terrace, where you can socialize with others or go for a cigarette. When a train is coming, It's hard to hear what other people say, but really it's more funny than irritating.

Room Tip: Private four is a really good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliszja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We are four guys who stayed in a four bedroom room. The room itself was very clean with plenty of space, with three single beds and a double sofa bed. We were given free linen which TBH had a few holes in a couple of the pillow cases. Towels cost 2 Litas / Towel.

Although the toilets / shower was a shared facility each room we saw had a toilet / shower directly outside the room which almost made it a private facility.

All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. The only real downside to this hostel is that it is located next to the train track which ment it was very noisey at night with long freight trains travelling at all hours.

Having said all that we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steptoe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.3 mi away
Alexa Old Town Hotel
Alexa Old Town Hotel
#44 of 88 in Vilnius
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.6 mi away
Downtown Forest Hostel & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostelgate Backpackers
Hostelgate Backpackers
#6 of 78 in Vilnius
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaika Hostel
Jamaika Hostel
#3 of 78 in Vilnius
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel B&B&B&B&B
Hostel B&B&B&B&B
#12 of 78 in Vilnius
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Hostel

Property: Fortuna Hostel
Address: Liepkalnio g. 2, Vilnius 02121, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortuna Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fortuna Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing