We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place, free parking and WiFi”
Review of Fortuna Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortuna Hostel
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great hostel, even I came after 11 P.M. I was welcome very well. Nice kitchen and rooms. I was traveling with my own car, so I hadn't any problems with parking in this hostel. Park area is huge and safe. Strongly recommend for few days stop in Vilnius

Room Tip: Near the Vilnius bus/train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 295Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a HI hostel. It is really clean, lots of bathrooms, free wi-fi, two kitchens and lots of common spaces with comfy couches. There are also a lot of plugs so you can recharge your phones. It does not have a free breakfast but all the pluses outweigh that. It is less than 10 minute walk from the bus and train stations. It is also a very short walk to old town. Really nice staff. They do not have lockers in the rooms for your bags but they do have smaller lockers in the hall for your valuables. This is not a party hostel as there was a kid group there. The hostel is so big though that I hardly ever saw or heard them. If you stay there, make sure you take a good look around. The basement area is really neat. Free tea all day. They also have a freezer so you can freeze your water bottle overnight for the next day. I would stay there again and do recommend it. The hostel is located near the train tracks. The train goes by and it is loud. However, it doesn't happen often to be a problem.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine but the double showers next to the lockers was a little hard to regulate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Three friends and myself visited the Fortuna hostel in January 2013 for four nights. The hostel was very easy to find, and less than ten minutes walk from the train/bus station. The old town was less than five minutes walk away. The hostel is very close to the train tracks and train noises can be heard, but I didn't find it too loud or distracting, and trains are quite infrequent.

Our room was a four bed dorm, with each bed having its own bedside table and lamp. There was a portable heater in the room as well, keeping the room nice and toasty for when we returned from the freezing cold! We had a shared bathroom/shower room that was located just outside our room and was essentially our own as no other dorm rooms were near to ours.

The hostel had a large reasonably equipped kitchen that had tea and coffee facilities freely available. Furthermore the downstairs basement featured a games room with table football, table tennis and pool (passport or room key as deposit for balls and cues). Free wi-fi was available throughout the hostel and there were four computers in the basement connected to the internet.

The hostel staff were polite and friendly, spoke excellent English and helpful at dispensing advice. Overall an excellently valued hostel that is well worth staying at if you are travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazman1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Although this hostel is no great shakes, it is well worth booking if you're on a budget or just stopping over for a night or two. It is located just yards away from what seemed to be the boundary of the Old Town.
It is generously priced and has clean and fully working facilities. There is a 24 hour reception, free internet access, and a large lounge area with a ping pong table.

If you're travelling with friends I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnyIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

The hostel is nearly to Vilnius Old Town and bus and train stations. The staff is very polite and the accommodations are pretty nice. They have wi-fi in all floors and the kitchen and the toilets is organized and cleaned every day.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronzi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Located next to the railroad tracks, making it an easy ten minute walk from the station, Fortuna is not for the light sleeper. Very well maintained reception, kitchens and rooms are appealing. The bathrooms could use better ventilation as they ask you not to flush used toilet paper. When we were there, we encountered a fairly large group of late teens who seemed as though this was their first time away from home. Needless to say they were very loud late into the evening. Add in the six or so construction workers using the kitchen first thing in the morning and you have a rough night's sleep. Good value and overall a clean and tidy place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WithHusbandInTow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fortuna Hostel is a large hostel and a good base for Vilnius. It is close to the railway station, buses and easy to find from there. It is close to the old town too, although not in it. It has some large rooms and the beds we had were comfortable, like couches really. The staff were pleasant and helpful and there are two kitchens to use. There are a few computers available free, although not all were working, downstairs. There are plenty of bathrooms and toilets and you can ask for your washing and drying to be done for you for a fee.

It was a bit noisy from the trains which went past at night as it is very close to the railway tracks. It is also better to ask for a room which is not near the terrace area as people go out there to smoke and talk and you can hear the voices and smell the smoke in the rooms near there - which happened to be our room. It is a large hostel so attracts many people. Some hostellers were noisy at night. I would suggest that the hostel takes away the sofas in the hallways as this encourages people to sit and talk there and you can easily hear this in the rooms. However if you want this type of social atmosphere it is great for you. Linen a bit past its used by date but it was clean.

I would recommend it, especially to younger people.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the terrace, unless you like to have noisy people outside talking at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysunderway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.7 mi away
Ecotel Vilnius
Ecotel Vilnius
#35 of 88 in Vilnius
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zemaites
Hotel Zemaites
#49 of 88 in Vilnius
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaika Hostel
Jamaika Hostel
#10 of 89 in Vilnius
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Downtown Forest Hostel & Camping
0.5 mi away
Hostel B&B&B&B&B
Hostel B&B&B&B&B
#11 of 89 in Vilnius
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
LITiNTERP Guest House
LITiNTERP Guest House
#8 of 75 in Vilnius
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Hostel

Address: Liepkalnio g. 2, Vilnius 02121, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Vilnius
Price Range: £8 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fortuna Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Fortuna Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing