We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best boutique hotel in town”
Review of Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shakespeare Hotel
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best boutique hotel in town”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

From the moment we checked and until the moment we had to leave everything was simply great. Top rated customer service, characteristic and charming rooms with most comfortable beds and heated bathroom floors, delicious breakfast and of course location. It is my personal favorite and I can't wait to stay here again during my next visit. Definitely recommended 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuDro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    155
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
81
284
58
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stood in Shakespeare hotel for a weekend, it was a real treat. Bernard Shaw business room just great, very quiet with view on 3 crosses hill. I asume it's a best location in old town, next to beautiful St.Ann chuch. Rich breakfast in English style restaurant. Me and my adult daugther felt very wellcome there and spent good time in Vilnius. Try this hotel, it has an attitude.

Room Tip: can recommend rooms on the second floor looking on inner yard, ours was Bernard Shaw
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaMoscowRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Shakespeare in October 2013. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, breakfast superb, and the location was ideal, situated right by the old town and the Royal Palace. I stayed in a single room, fairly small but adequate. The Shakespeare theme is a little tenuous, but a lovely hotel. Always felt extremely safe in the area, Vilnius is largely unspoilt and not nearly as touristy as Tallinn. Would recommend both Vilnius and the Shakespeare.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElFantasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a single room which was dark and gloomy - 1 window at high level (so I couldn't see out) which seemed to be by the service area. Recently fitted bathroom which was nice and tiled, but only a hand-held shower unit in the bath with no screen; sit-down showers are very odd! Bed just about OK, a bit saggy.
Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.
General decor looks a bit tired and, well, kitch; all Brit-themed which in all honesty is a bit odd. No room numbers, only names (mine was Byron).

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckman9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We thoroughly loved our stay at the Shakespeare Hotel in Vilnius, Lithuania. It is within walking distance to Old Town, has free parking, charming comfortable rooms and GREAT food. The breakfast is incredible and we enjoyed our dinner there too. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This hotel made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysInTheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

When traveling I typically stay in 3-star hotels, so I was excited for a relaxing and comfortable stay here. Unfortunately, the hotel did not come through in any way.

The first night here, in the middle of the night, my partner and I awoke at 3:30am to an ENORMOUS crash. It sounded as though someone had thrown a rock directly at our window and/or was trying to break in. It was extremely frightening, and we did not sleep the rest of the night. As it turned out, the noise had come from part of the blinds falling off the wall and crashing to the desk below. So, our 4-star room was falling apart. Nice!

This could have been forgivable, except that the staff of the hotel ranged from arrogant to downright rude. Our last day there, I asked what our options were for getting to the airport. The one-word answer I received, with no further information, was "cab." I inquired about the train, and was told that there is no train that goes to the airport (which is absolutely false, as we ended up taking it!) I learned later (from Tripadvisor) that Vilnius hotels receive a kickback from cab companies if the hotel books its guests' cabs, so I'm guessing this is why I was given misinformation. In another instance, I overheard a traveler ask how to get to the Holocaust museum. Instead of being helpful or even civil, the guy at the desk thrust a map at her and told her it was on there.

Breakfast was good the first day, but the second day the waitress forgot half of my order. We also observed the server at the table next to us checking to see whether the party had touched their bread basket, and when it looked as though they hadn't, the server left it there for the next party. I wouldn't expect this from a 4-star hotel (or from a budget hotel, for that matter).

I'm not sure if we just got unlucky or what, but I would certainly never stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had booked a Business double room incl breakfast for 5 nights over the internet. At that time we booked a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel for 70Lt.
Upon arrival at the airport, we were met and taken to the hotel.

The hotel is lcated within the old town, on the north eastern side and is close to everything in the old town. We used the bus station and the train station and it is quite a walk, but achievable.

Check in was efficient, a map was offered and we were shown to our room, called the Jane Austen room.
Its a reasonable size, nicely decorated and very clean. Coffee/tea making, a complementary bottle of water and a fruit basket is provided. We could also have a free drink in the bar, which is a nice touch.

We decided to eat in the restaurant that night and although the restaurant was booked out, we ate in the bar area. The food was fantastic and very nicely presented. A reasonable cost and 10% given off the cost for patrons of the hotel. Service was also very good.

Breakfast each morning was excellent. You choose off a very extensive menu. The coffee was also very good. A very generous breakfast. Each choice was a delight and we chose a different choice each of the5 mornings. Also the female waitresses were very professional and welcoming.

The decor in the bar area is very comfy, with large, comfortable couches and well looked after pot plants.

Wifi is free in the rooms and although we initially had problems connecting, Thomas, from reception, perservered and we were connected. Thank you for your extra effort.

The hotel did our laundry which was returned the next day well presented and a reasonable cost.

We had a lovely stay at the Shakespeare and could not ask for more. Do yourself a favour and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.1 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Property: Shakespeare Hotel
Address: Bernardinu g. 8, Vilnius 01124, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
#3 Family Hotel in Vilnius
#4 Business Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakespeare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing