We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Great location,clean,friendly manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbacan Apartments
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed in Vilnius for 2 nights. Manager was just friendly,arrived in late evening and he collected me from airport. My self contained flat was huge for one person; very clean throughout, appreciated the coffee mix and bowl of fruit to tie me over the next day. There was even fresh flowers, very lovely touch. Also appreciated the views from huge windows and French door leading to balcony. Flat was just minutes walk to old town main street with cafes and restaurant. I would definitely come back to Barbacan Apartments!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewrockstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitrij C, Manager at Barbacan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear, Drew,
Thank you for staying at Barbacan Apartments.
We hope you enjoyed Lithuanian “cepelinai" and beer.

Waiting to see you again during summer

All the Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

The Barbacan appartment was chosen as a place of staying during our family '13 New Year/X-mass car-trip. We have got much more then we expected. As we travelled with two kids of 1 and 3 years old, we needed more space then other hotels could offer. Also a fully-equiped kitchen and bathroom with washing machine made our staying there almost home-like. The Bed. It was more then 2 meters long and also wide enough, so we could enjoy a deep sleep with our older kid without disturbing each other. The location is ideal. It is not too close to the walking part of the Old city, so it is very quite during nights and mornings. On the other hand it is not too far, so you always have a chance to get home on foot and "walk out" the excess of local spirits gained during dinner.
The underground parking is very usefull during winters, as it often takes a long time to pack the kids and stuff and also you are always sure that your car will sleep as sweet as you will yourself.
Best regards to Dmitry - a very attentive manager.
Finaly I am sure it was worth paying more for appartments then for the hotel.
Thanks to Barbacan it was my family's unanimous dicision to came back again.

Room Tip: The best view is offered by room 8 on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanislav I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitrij C, Manager at Barbacan Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear, Stanislav,
Thank you very much for your positive response.
We hope to see you soon again at Barbacan.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 17 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This is a hotel in a perfect location for a weekend of sightseeing & relaxation in beautiful Vilnius .True,it may not be in the most scenic street in the city but that's the only negative comment that i can make on the place .We arranged a taxi pickup from the airport with the hotel for 45 litas & on arrival at the hotel it was a pleasant surprise that check in took no more than 2 minutes .We took the lift up to our room on the 3rd floor & were amazed on opening the door at just how big the room & the bed were .The room was comfortable,spotlessly clean & had tv,aircon,mini bar(reasonably priced),tea making facilities,radio/cd player,wi-fi etc .There was also a small balcony .The bathroom was also a sizeable room with bath/shower,hairdryer,plenty of towels(changed daily),bath robes & was well stocked with shower creme,liquid soap,shaving set,dental set etc .The heated tile floor was a nice touch .
As the hotel was quiet breakfast was ordered from a menu list rather than being the expected buffet .All the old reliables were available such as tea,coffee,toast,cheeses,cold meats,sausages,eggs,omelettes,cornflakes etc .Portions were a good size & we certainly didn't have less than we would have had if it been buffet style.
All the staff were excellent & all spoke perfect english & always greeted us with a smile .Nothing ever seemed to be a problem for Natalija & the rest of the team as on several occasions they searched the internet for us to find adresses & timetables .They are a real plus to the hotel .
Facilities in the hotel include a small gymnasium,a sauna(free of charge)& a 2 lane bowling alley in the basement which offers a 10% discount to hotel guests .There is a free of charge luggage room in reception,very handy if your flight is several hours after checkout .
Location wise for the sights,i don't think the hotel could be better located .The Bastion tower is no more than 100 mts away .St Teresa's Church & the Gates of Dawn are hardly a 5 minute stroll away as is St Casimir Church .The Philharmonic Hall,Town Hall,Presidential Palace,the University,Pilies,Didzioji & Vokieciu streets are all just a short stroll away as are the Cathedral,St Anne's & The Barnadine Churches & the weird & wonderful Uzupio district .The National Museum is about 20 minutes walk,situated close to the Cathedral & well worth the 5 litas entrance fee .For a fabulous view of the city get the funicular (2 litas) from next to the museum up to the castle & Gediminos Tower (entrance 5 litas) .For a different type of experience altogether,take a walk up Gedimino Avenue to the KGB/Genocide Museum (6 LITAS) .The dungeon is a dark,depressing & disturbing place but upstairs is also very informative & i doubt if anyone that visits would not be affected in some way by what they would see there .
We found Vilnius to be surprisingly good for the quality of it's restaurants & bars .We had very good meals in Cili Kaimas on Vokieciu Street & Amatininku Uzeiga on the corner of Didzioji & Stikliu streets(in front of The Town Hall) & a slightly poorer but still okay meal in Forto Dravas on Pilies Street .If you enjoy coffee there are plenty of cafes around with the Double Coffee chain having numerous outlets around the old town & Gedimino Avenue .
The excellent local draught beers were really cheap ranging from about 5.50 litas to about 7.00 litas for a 500 ml glass .We were lucky to find some great bars to enjoy our Baltas & other Svyturys beers in .Unfortunately Avilys microbrewery on Gedimino has closed but on a side street further up the avenue we found Busi Trecias which also brews it's own beers & was a fantastic place to spend a couple of hours in .We also liked Prie Angelos beside the angel monument in Uzupio & Cactus Mexican Cafe close to our hotel .
Vilnius surprised us .It was much better than we had expected .Great food & beer,very reasonable prices & amazing sights but it's biggest asset is it's inhabitants ,so friendly & helpful .If you visit pick up the free copies of Exploring Vilnius & Vilnius in your pocket from the hotel reception .Both contain everything you need to know for a great time there ,made even better by the excellent Barbican Palace hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Absolutely prerfect location for exploring the old town by foot.
Spacey rooms, careful design. Attention to details. Beutiful view from the breakfast room.
Coffe/tea machine in the room.
Very kind staff.
Comfortable for wheelchair users

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
Thank GataGorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I was in this hotel for 4 days. As soon as we arrived we got to know that a laptop had been stolen the previous night and people were badly arguing in the hall of the hotel.
The room was big, and so the bed... but it was cold even if outside it was sunny and hot.
Staff very unfriendly and most of all careless and distracted. Horrible breakfast, old bread, little choice of nearly nothing.
Don't go there unless you have got any other options...

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank delfino_blu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The Barbacan gave me a very good rate as I was staying for ten days and although I was given a room with no balconey it was a quiet refuge duing this busy stay. It also has suites with balconies for families. The room very clean and comfortable, quite large, although I had to request a vacuuming which wasn't done in several days. The location good, about a five minute walk to the old town. Breakfast with a good variety but the same every day. The restaurant not open evenings. I'd stay here again. A medium quality hotel similar to Best Western in N. America.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidibgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.3 mi away
Artagonist Art Hotel
Artagonist Art Hotel
#1 of 88 in Vilnius
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#9 of 88 in Vilnius
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#8 of 88 in Vilnius
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Astorija Hotel, Vilnius
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbacan Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbacan Apartments

Address: Boksto g. 19, Vilnius 01126, Lithuania (Formerly Barbacan Palace Hotel)
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vilnius
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range: £43 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barbacan Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Vilnius Old Town, Barbacan Apartments provide an excellent option for anyone seeking high quality and luxury of space. Without a doubt, whether you are visiting Vilnius for business, or simply for sightseeing, Barbacan Apartments provide a highly convenient location: at the crossing of Boksto and St. Kazimiero streets, just a step from the main tourist venues: St. Anne's Church, Cathedral Square, City Hall and the defense Bastion. The Barbacan Apartments meet the needs of families, business visitors and those looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay in the heart of the Vilnius city.The complex comprises of 15 furnished, self-contained serviced apartments. Guests can expect a dedicated 24-hour apartment manager services, high-speed Internet access, fully equipped kitchens, pristine bathroom and a lift to all floors. Well-equipped kitchenettes include a refrigerator, microwave, cutlery and crockery. Underground parking facilities are provided along with weekly maid services. Each apartment has a balcony with the wonderful view of an Old Town and all guests have the use of the pleasant inner flowered courtyard in the summer. We warmly welcome you in style, offering you comfort and service to provide you home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barbacan Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Vilnius
Quality Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing