We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Congress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Congress Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Amazing hotel , friendly nice staff, small but nice rooms, excellent breakfast, good location. recomended

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrzysioJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    262
    93
    20
    8
See reviews for
87
186
34
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights while on a business trip. I liked the hotel. The staff was very friendly and service minded. When I checked in I got the code for the free wifi, and it worked fine for me. The hotel is 4 star rated, but I would say the room is more 3 star, and besides it was quite small. When it comes to cleaning, nothing to complain about, very clean! The breakfast was nice and varied, but maybe a bit different from the swedish ones I am used to... Location is good, within walking distance to old town. Over all, I am very satisfied, and if I go back to Vilnius, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taximannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Despite booking a plain average room I was given quite a large room on one of the top floors, around 35m2 with a couch group, working desk and a large balcony (shared with other rooms) along the river with a view on the business district. Quite nice to sip a chilled drink on a warm night with view over the river. The wifi worked well and the minibar prices are reasonable too. The service and friendliness was standard, nothing you would remember particularly positive though. Everything was clean even though the design is slightly outdated with lots of carpets. It's only a short walk from both the old town and the business district and directly opposite the opera.

Room Tip: Take a floor with a balcony, floor 9 I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7thlevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The service in this hotel has got to the worst I have ever come across. We had booked my parents in to stay for a week as we have a wedding in a few days time. We arrived at the hotel late at night with them to find the hotel had no booking for them even though they had confirmation. The hotel was full and the 3 useless satff behind the desk had no interest in their situation or trying to help find another hotel. All they wanted was for us to leave the hotel. i hope for the sake of the lithuanian tourist industry that not all hotel staff are like this

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cill123Dubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed with my wife from 10 - 20th July 2011. I had booked a superior room three weeks before my stay and emailed the hotel to inform them I would be arriving late. When I arrived, the hotel had allocated a standard room and not what I had paid for. As it was late, I agreed to discuss in the morning. Next day the staff did ensure I was placed in the room I paid for so it worked out in the end but at first I was told there were no superior rooms available and I had to insist before the message got through, not a good start. I was in room 508. The hotel is in my opinion in need of modernisation and is starting to look dated internally. If you stay at the Congress, please be aware that the hotel is on a busy road junction next to a roundabout and the traffic noise can be bad at times, one thing that the Vilnius drivers seem to like is to cruise down the road next to the river, which goes down one side of the hotel and their cars and motorcycles have very loud exhausts, though if you close the windows, it is not so bad, This hotel advertises a "Mini Gym" and this is perhaps going a bit far as the equipment consists of 2 cross trainers located in a glass greenhouse like room on the 5th floor without air conditioning. I would not like to attempt to use it as the temperature in there was high, due to the fact that the sun shone through it most of the day and I never saw anyone in it. I only ate Breakfast in the hotel, which was of a reasonable standard, nothing special. The staff are OK but not over friendly and the concept of customer service does not seem to have taken hold in this country yet. On the plus side the superior room was of a good size, the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. WIFI in the hotel is free and my only complaint is that it was poor or non existent at the end of the hotel where my room was, they need to improve coverage. Over all I think that the standard of the hotel is probably 3 star and considering the price I paid for my stay is a bit over priced. Would I go back?
Well I stayed there to be near to a company I was working at, so location was important but there are better hotels for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy but the river view is good if you are not a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmbosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My room was used by heavy smokers before I got it, so the smell was almost unbearable!!! Breakfast room is much too small in relation to the number of guests. We were asked to come to breakfast at 8 am and then had to wait for another 25 minutes because all the tables were taken, then nobody cleared. When I asked at the reception why we had to wait for such a long time, the answer was: what shall I say?. No apology at all! Hotel is located at very noisy crossroads, so don't expect getting a good night's rest.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eireann_alhambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel is far from the main attractions of old town. It’s better to choose another hotel if you want to appreciate the beauties of the city. Moreover personnel is not so kind and services do not respect its category. This is the hotel for you if you are a business man.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandr073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.3 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tilto
Hotel Tilto
#9 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel

Property: Congress Hotel
Address: Vilniaus str. 2, Vilnius 01102, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Vilnius
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
#12 Business Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars hotel “Congress” is situated in the Old Town of Vilnius. It is an ideal location for those who arrive for business as well as for tourism – near Cathedral, Opera – Ballet Theater, Gedimino Avenue, Congress and Parliament Palaces. You will enjoy old town prospect through the hotel windows. XIX century building today is an elegant Hotel. 79 guestrooms were specially designed to reflect elegance, style and comfort. There are 18 Single, 48 Double, 4 Superior, 5 Junior Suite, 3 Suite and 1 Apartments in our hotel. In 2015, Congress Hotel received award “Certificate of excellence 2015” from TripAdvisor®. In 2016 and 2017, TripAdvisor® elected us TOP 10 of the best hotels in Lithuania and we are proud of the highest awards – “Travelers’ Choice 2016”, “Travelers’ Choice 2017”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing