We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Wall Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Wall Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We would like to recommendthis place to anyone visiting Vilnius. Lina, the owner, is absolutely fantastic and her breakfasts are delicious!The place is small but cosy and the location is ideal. We felt that we werestating eith friends rather than in a hostel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricksilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    19
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
11
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Home Made House might possibly be the best hostel I've ever stayed at. It's quite small, only ten beds distributed over two dorms, but I didn't find this to be negative, on the contrary. You really connect with the other guests, because of the small size no one really feels left out. This is much thanks to the owner, who really does an impressive job keeping the guests happy. One of the days I was staying there she arranged a wine tasting evening with Lithuanian wine! She also makes breakfast for free every day (I repeat, this one woman makes breakfast every single day, for all the guests, for free!), and knows a lot about Vilnius and Lithuania, and is happy to help you plan trips inside and outside the capital. On top of all this, the location could hardly have been better, within walking distance of everything in the old town, and close to the bus and train station. I had a great time in Vilnius, largely thanks to this place! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer_909090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a very nice stay here two weekends ago - myself and two friends. Lina, the owner, really does care about this place, going so far as to cook everyone a lovely fresh breakfast every morning! During our stay we had pancakes and omelettes, all on the house. Lovely.

Worth mentioning that this is not a party place - we came back in the wee hours of the morning a few times, and Lina came around (very nicely) tell us to be a little more quiet. Can't blame her - the hostel is 12 beds and six of those are in an open-plan space just above the living room, so the sound does carry. Sorry Lina!

Anyway, during our trip to the Baltic states this was where we met the friendliest people and had the nicest conversations with the owner, who even took us herself to her favourite bar on our first night.

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed here for three days, and i had a very great time. The hotel is very clean, the owner is always giving you good informations on what to see in town, or which pub to go on night time. This hotel is very closed to the bus station and train station, this is quite useful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekologik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here only for 2 nights but made friends with as many people as I have made in the whole previous year. Lina prepared all for us: beds, breakfast, tips for visiting; even took the "guests" fro a drink in the evening. The cozy and small kitchen was where guests ("friends" to me more accurate now) could chat with each other and I would say it was very pleasant. The beds are clean, new and spacey. The floor is clean as no shoe is allowed inside. This hostel is perfect for those who travel alone or in small group as they can take time to talk to the others and create new connections rather than staying with their group an partying all night. I recommend it and thank you again Lina.

Room Tip: Maybe the smaller rooms are better as they have doors so no noise can wake you up at night, but duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinh1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This place made me feel very cosy and happy. The lady is very friendly and informative.
The room is spacy and clean. Mattress is very cumfy like home not like other hostels I've ever stayed. Bedsheet is also cute.
This place is quite small (approx 10 beds in total), so there's only one bathroom downstairs. One toilet downstairs, 2nd toilet is upstairs but the ceiling is very low.
Wifi signal works only downstairs.
Breakfast is provided. It was quite late the day I stayed around 9 am, so I had bread & jam she provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this hostel enough. In a great location, very affordable, spacious rooms and some of the friendliest staff going around. Try to time your stay for a Monday evening and take advantage of Lena's delicious home made pancakes for breakfast on Tuesday!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.7 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#20 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#17 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Astorija Hotel, Vilnius
0.1 mi away
Alexa Old Town Hotel
Alexa Old Town Hotel
#45 of 88 in Vilnius
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Wall Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Wall Hostel

Property: City Wall Hostel
Address: Rudninku 13 - 5, Vilnius 01135, Lithuania (Formerly Home Made House)
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your City Wall Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing