We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Splendor with Modern Conveniences” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old World Splendor with Modern Conveniences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Kempinksi Hotel blends Old World splendor with modern conveniences. We requested a quiet room away from Cathedral Square and the hotel desk staff reassured us that all of the rooms were adequately soundproofed, even the ones facing the square. Sure enough, we had a spectacular view in a peaceful setting. The room, replete with lofty ceilings, sparkling décor, and a luxurious bed, was fit for a queen or king.

The service quality of the hotel staff puts American service quality to shame. Upon check-in, we were escorted to our room by a hotel staff person, who asked us if we had any questions or needed anything. The hotel staff members went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and pleased with our stay.

While the pool is a lovely and meditative setting, the fitness room is a little cramped. Opt, instead, to explore the enchanted cobblestone streets of Old Town for exercise. Cathedral Square is right outside your doorstep. Gediminas Tower, the only remaining part of the Upper Castle, is within walking distance and well worth the climb. From the Tower's vantage point, the views of Old Town are stunning. After you snap a few photos, survey the landscape, and plot out your path of exploration.

Within a few blocks, you'll find Pilies Street, which is mostly for pedestrians and is lined with restaurants, cafes, and shops. In the other direction is Gediminas Avenue, the main street through Vilnius.

Bask in luxury and splendor at the Kempinksi in Vilnius. The only problem is: you won't ever want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmytink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time spent on Tripadvisor and giving us your kind comments on our hotel. It was pleasure to read that you truly enjyed your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square and we are especially happy to hear that you evaluted the service provided by our staff so positively. As you have kindly listed some worth-seeing historical places in Vilnius we would also like to recommand that, on your next visit, you see the remains of the Vilnius city walls at our hotel. Kempinski has always prided itself on its sense of history: during the restoration of the building, the remains of the city’s 16th century defensive wall were uncovered and part of that old wall has been glassed-in and can be seen at the entrance to the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back and would like to assure you that you will always receive personal attention at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    42
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
250
34
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hospitality in Kempinski hotel in Vilnius is not only a phrase, buta pure fact! Very nice and kind receptionist saved my night and my whole trip in Vilnius! Thanks once again! She is so warm and ready to help. This is true for entire Kempinski team. Very beautiful and luxury hotel... Thanks to my receptionist, to Ms. Leni (if I'm not mistaken) I had a very nice time in Vilnius!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent newly refurbished hotel in an amazing old building, in the best location you could wish for. Beautifully appointed room and great bathroom with all amenities. Great service, room clean to a vey high standard, service at breakfast the best we have ever experienced. Good and varied food, pastries could be improved as tea scones and cakes.
Bar very nice, staff experienced, knowledgable and helpful. THe best hotel during our visit to the Northern Capitals, a must stay!!

Room Tip: We had a side street view but the square square must be beautiful even though a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to hear that we contributed to making your trip to Vilnius a great experience. It was a true pleasure to learn that you valued the excellent quality of our rooms, and that you experienced the best breakfast service. Thank you very much for your feedback on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Pampering, luxury, beautiful as centrally located as can be. Staff is fabulous and helpful. Hotel is spectacularly beautiful inside and out. Highly recomend it. Rooms are big and comfortable. The only down side is the AC that is very warm in the rooms but everything else is described as luxury, location and beauty. A true experience when visiting Vilkus

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ecb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose Kempinski Vilnius based on its website, tripadvisor accodolades and ideal location. On Sunday night Sept 22 my wife and I, her sister and her sister's husband entered the lobby and immediately "fell victim" to warm, sincere greetings. No bored painted on smiles to be found here. This would hold true for our entire five night stay no matter who in Kempinski attire we interacted with. After being taken to our immaculate, spacious and well appointed rooms it was off to a crash course in EuroBasket 2103 followed by an evening of cheering Lithuania in the bar. This lead to being at the historic City Hall Square the following night welcoming the returning Silver Medal players. Our preplanned schedule was busy enough, but each day brought new suggestions from the Kempinski staff and from there came more laughs then I can recall. I for one felt like a member of the Over the Hill Gang at summer camp in the elegant setting of Cathedral Square. The breakfasts were a pleasure with the same caring attention found in that room be it morning or dinner. The bar/pub just added to the positives.
We traveled to Lithuania to trace and research my wife' and her sister's paternal side of their family. When the time comes to return, the first order of business will be to book a room at Kempinski Vilnius.
It's dangerous to mention certain people for fear of offending others. I tend to add letters to your first names or at least get them out of order. I should be safe with Ausra, front office mgr; Egle, first to greet us; also, there was the acquaintance of Lidya (6 degrees of separation).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T-AND-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your powerful and very positive comments on our hotel. We were very happy to read your kind comments, and we were glad that we could contribute to making your trip to Vilnius a great experience.Your compliments mean a lot to us. We are especially grateful for your kind comments about our staff members’ attentive service. Your words were well-received by Ausra and other staff members. It was a pleasure for us to assist you, and please count on our team to assist you during your next stay as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is right on the Cathedral Square. Great location. The spa and pool are great . The amenities in the room are pretty good. The beds are absolutely amazing. The only cons is that there is so new that it lacks a little bit of glamour and heritage , but that will change.

Room Tip: the higher floor the better for views and noise from the paved streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed our remarkable European flair and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Its not often a hotel stay is perfect. There is always something to point the finger at.
Not this time. We were met by Sergei at the airport, a great guy with lots of tips. The ladies in the reception are just wonderful. Only smiles, tips to make the stay great and offers to help with every concern. And they feel genuin, not only "trained". Their spa is perfect and their winter warmer massage is just heaven. The complimentary snack served together with drinks in the bar is one of the best I've had(local mature cheese, marineted olivs and mixed nuts).
Add all this to the best bed and linnens, new and beatiful decorated room(deluxe) at a top location and you have a winning consept. Thanks to Ana and the lady in red, booking is quick and they help you out with whatever you like in advance. I'm so glad we are going back in end of november.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Astorija Hotel, Vilnius
0.2 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#10 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stikliai Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square

Property: Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Address: Universiteto g. 14, Vilnius 01122, Lithuania
Phone Number:
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and elegant Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square is truly a distinctive and individual hotel experience in the very heart of Vilnius. Relax, enjoy and find yourself surrounded by refinement at one of our 96 rooms and suites overlooking spectacular views over the Cathedral Square and Old Town. The hotel features contemporary Le Salon Bar & Lounge, refined and elegant Telegrafas Restaurant, Kempinski The Spa offering relaxation and treatments, 6 fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing