We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just got back from two nights in Vilnius and our stay at the Kempinski was great. Started off a little badly when arriving late at night and the transfer I'd arranged through the hotel failed to materialise at the airport. we managed to find a taxi and were greeted by a really friendly receptionist who told us that the hotel would pay for our transfer back to the airport at the end of our stay which they duly did. Our room was lovely, beautifully appointed and very clean with lovely toiletries and a turn down service which included a bar of chocolate!! Breakfast was lovely, again excellent service from the staff and it was nice to have a glass of prosecco to start the day! We visited the spa twice, beautiful pool, huge sauna, steam room smelt heavenly and staff were really helpful. This is the second Kempinski hotel we have stayed at and our experience of the chain so far has been second to none!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, and that you received a good overall impression of the hotel despite a small inconvenience at the beginning. Thank you very much for your kind words on our rooms and we are glad to hear that you really enjoyed our hotel amenities. Please count on our staff on your next stay in Vilnius. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at our Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square and we wish you pleasant stays at other Kempinski hotels.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    41
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
248
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zedelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

As Kempinski in Moscow this hotel is beautiful, luxury hotel, room are very nice with nice bathroom and very good service, staff are friendly, nice position to visit the town of Vilnius, good breakfast,

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great luxury and cozy hotel, the best in Vilnius, I felt myself at home, General Manager and all the hotel staff are outstanding, I had an amazig experience and I totally recommend this beautiful hotel. The hotel location is amazing as well. Great Job!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed our remarkable European flair and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Came here with my husband when he was on business. Was not sure what to expect of Vilnius but this hotel was a great starting point. Location could not have been better and they upgraded our room to give us a bigger one with a nicer view of the Cathedral Sq itself. For some reason the bathroom really stood out for me - just great amenities. Delightful breakfast. Absolutely delicious restaurant recommendations from the front desk and such a friendly team overall. Had an epic massage here as well - what a beautiful spa area. One of the most gorgeous hotels I've ever stayed at. And super comfy beds! Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your powerful and very positive comments on our hotel. We are grateful to learn from your comments that you enjoyed your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square in Vilnius. Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel, its rooms and its location and we are delighted to hear that you had an epic massage at our Kempinski The Spa. Next time you visit, we highly recommend trying the Kempinski Spa Signature Vilnius Treatment, created for Kempinski The Spa by Daniele De Winter. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Kempinksi Hotel blends Old World splendor with modern conveniences. We requested a quiet room away from Cathedral Square and the hotel desk staff reassured us that all of the rooms were adequately soundproofed, even the ones facing the square. Sure enough, we had a spectacular view in a peaceful setting. The room, replete with lofty ceilings, sparkling décor, and a luxurious bed, was fit for a queen or king.

The service quality of the hotel staff puts American service quality to shame. Upon check-in, we were escorted to our room by a hotel staff person, who asked us if we had any questions or needed anything. The hotel staff members went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and pleased with our stay.

While the pool is a lovely and meditative setting, the fitness room is a little cramped. Opt, instead, to explore the enchanted cobblestone streets of Old Town for exercise. Cathedral Square is right outside your doorstep. Gediminas Tower, the only remaining part of the Upper Castle, is within walking distance and well worth the climb. From the Tower's vantage point, the views of Old Town are stunning. After you snap a few photos, survey the landscape, and plot out your path of exploration.

Within a few blocks, you'll find Pilies Street, which is mostly for pedestrians and is lined with restaurants, cafes, and shops. In the other direction is Gediminas Avenue, the main street through Vilnius.

Bask in luxury and splendor at the Kempinksi in Vilnius. The only problem is: you won't ever want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timmytink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your time spent on Tripadvisor and giving us your kind comments on our hotel. It was pleasure to read that you truly enjyed your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square and we are especially happy to hear that you evaluted the service provided by our staff so positively. As you have kindly listed some worth-seeing historical places in Vilnius we would also like to recommand that, on your next visit, you see the remains of the Vilnius city walls at our hotel. Kempinski has always prided itself on its sense of history: during the restoration of the building, the remains of the city’s 16th century defensive wall were uncovered and part of that old wall has been glassed-in and can be seen at the entrance to the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back and would like to assure you that you will always receive personal attention at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hospitality in Kempinski hotel in Vilnius is not only a phrase, buta pure fact! Very nice and kind receptionist saved my night and my whole trip in Vilnius! Thanks once again! She is so warm and ready to help. This is true for entire Kempinski team. Very beautiful and luxury hotel... Thanks to my receptionist, to Ms. Leni (if I'm not mistaken) I had a very nice time in Vilnius!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent newly refurbished hotel in an amazing old building, in the best location you could wish for. Beautifully appointed room and great bathroom with all amenities. Great service, room clean to a vey high standard, service at breakfast the best we have ever experienced. Good and varied food, pastries could be improved as tea scones and cakes.
Bar very nice, staff experienced, knowledgable and helpful. THe best hotel during our visit to the Northern Capitals, a must stay!!

Room Tip: We had a side street view but the square square must be beautiful even though a bit more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to hear that we contributed to making your trip to Vilnius a great experience. It was a true pleasure to learn that you valued the excellent quality of our rooms, and that you experienced the best breakfast service. Thank you very much for your feedback on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Astorija Hotel, Vilnius
0.2 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stikliai Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square

Property: Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Address: Universiteto g. 14, Vilnius 01122, Lithuania
Phone Number:
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and elegant Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square is truly a distinctive and individual hotel experience in the very heart of Vilnius. Relax, enjoy and find yourself surrounded by refinement at one of our 96 rooms and suites overlooking spectacular views over the Cathedral Square and Old Town. The hotel features contemporary Le Salon Bar & Lounge, refined and elegant Telegrafas Restaurant, Kempinski The Spa offering relaxation and treatments, 6 fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing