We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but quiet location for this stylish and friendly hotel”
Review of Kongo Hotel

Kongo Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kongo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Haapsalu
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Small and friendly hotel in a quiet but central location in the small resort of Haapsalu. Rooms are compact but spotlessly clean and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style and OK without being exceptional. As a solo, the compactness of the room wasn't such a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

But room was very small and beds were very narrow and bedlinen was rough. The breakfast wasn' t tasty, the bread was hard (not fresh) and porridge was without any taste. Price and comfort is not in an accordance. Overpriced!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed in the Kongo Hotel with the whole family in Autumn 2012. We stayed in Suite which was perfect for family with 2 kids. Hotel provided also baby crib.
We really liked the hotel interior - scandinavian style. The room was spacious and very clean with wooden floors. In suite there is also small kitchenette with refrigerator and water heater, but you need to bring your own coffee and tea.
The Location of the hotel is perfect - the only hotel in the centre of the city in Haapsalu's old town. All museums and small lovely cafes are only 5 minute walk from the hotel. Also hotel clients get discount in Haapsalu's Water Centre which is also only a short walk distance from the hotel.
Ilon's Wonderland was really a place to go with small kids and also big trains in Train Museum. Even in Autumn time Haapsalu was a city in Estonia worth to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed here for couple of nights with a dog. Place was clean but our room had skylight window, which was ok all though a bit problematic. There seemed to be plenty of rooms with normal windows. The room in general was ok all though noises from the corridor's where distinct.

The restaurant was great in the sense that food was excellent and the price was low. You could also bring your dog to the terrace, which was nice. Staff was kind and helpful!

Location is great as it is in the center, near the promenade and the center of Haapsalu. Don't forget to visit the beautiful islands near by (Hiiumaa and Saaremaa).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Everything is excellent in this Hotel. Staff at the reception, staff in the restaurant and the Manager, everybody was friendly, cooperative and they take special care of the guests. We were vegetarian and did not have much choice to eat but they made arrangement to make excellent vegetarian food for only two of us.After we had most delicious food in our trip so far, we came to know that Manager specially made that food for us.Hotel rooms are neat and very clean. Location of the hotel is excellent. We would certainly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Better choice wil be double appartments with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceepeeMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hotel website provides best rates and booking is easy - they came back in just 5 minutes with confirmation on extra requirements. Nice and clean place, central location, yet quiet. Hotel restaurant had supertasty meals - kudos to new head of kitchen. Family room with kitchenette suited us really well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosLnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel had very nice atmosphere. It was clean and the stuff was very helpful.
Easy to find.
One thing that we did not like were thin walls. You could hear babies crying, people talking etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulla_Estonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haapsalu hotels
0.6 mi away
Promenaadi Hotel
Promenaadi Hotel
#3 of 8 in Haapsalu
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paeva Villa
Hotel Paeva Villa
#4 of 8 in Haapsalu
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spa Hotel Laine
Spa Hotel Laine
#2 of 8 in Haapsalu
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fra Mare Thalasso Spa
Fra Mare Thalasso Spa
#1 of 8 in Haapsalu
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aikarali Bed & Breakfast
Aikarali Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Haapsalu
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beguta Guest House
Beguta Guest House
#3 of 16 in Haapsalu
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kongo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kongo Hotel

Address: Kalda 19, Haapsalu 90503, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Laane County > Haapsalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Haapsalu
Price Range: £52 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kongo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kongo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing