We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, 'House converted to Hotel' impression”
Review of Hotel Hansalinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hansalinn
Ranked #2 of 36 Parnu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2013

It was after much consideration that we booked them through Booking.com. Although booking.com did claim that hansalinn was good (8.2 rating in 2012). Also, it was probably due to the summer peak season that they charge so much per night. We paid 87 EUR per night for breakfast for 2 via Booking.com.

Location was tucked in a corner (quiet enough to have a good sleep) and near the international bus station (where Lux Express/Simple Express ran). A shopping mall is also nearby, the 'town' itself is right at your doorstep and it is also a easy walk to the beach.

Hotel itself was under renovation and I think it tries very hard to match up with others but this was how I felt when I stepped into the hotel. Firstly, there isn't much parking space in front of the hotel, so you can park your car at the public car spaces where you pay 3 EUR per day. Once you step into the hotel, it's the restaurant that you see and it's does not give you a welcome feeling as it's dim and kinda sad. We were greeted by this lady who wasn't that friendly (probably the only exception one as compared to the rest of her hotel colleagues) who then showed us to our room. The walk up the stairs made me laugh inside as the walls were painted in perhaps more of their 'local' style and they placed 2 big chinese vases along it. Then we saw some fake plants and a sofa, coffee table and some magazines racks (the ones that you'd probably use at home but not in a hotel). The room we had was number 18 Brügg. According to their website, they claimed that they have renovated the rooms. I believe it could be true, but we were just unlucky to have been given a unrenovated one. The room is small, shower is also small and you could really see that they are still under renovation where a new pipe was on 'standby'. There is also a small bar fridge (which you would probably use it at home in your own room) with drinks inside. Like someone else has already mentioned that the ventilation in the bathroom makes alot of noise, I do agree but I wasn't disturbed by it. It just felt cramped in the room.

Breakfast was ok but wasn't really hotel standard. Coffee was not freshly brewed and the hotel breakfast ladies had to help the guests to use their 'Senseo Coffee Pad Machines'. They were very helpful I must say. There were toast, rye bread, fried eggs (not the pretty lookings ones that you get from the hotels as they were not nicely formed), sausages, cold cuts, cheeses, pancakes, jams, cereals, juices, cucumbers and tomatoes. Fruits (uncut) were placed in a fruit bowl.

The funniest thing was when we checked out, we were given a feedback form and it mentioned that it would be a lucky draw to win a night or 2 stay there.

If the hotel didn't cost so much per night, I would be given them a better review but with this price and standard, it was just not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ameth_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for three nights in early April. Although we had a small room (booked through Booking.com), it was warm, comfy and a very reasonable price. The shower worked well and there was a small fridge with drinks you could buy if you wanted. The breakfasts were plentiful although the coffee machine was definitely weird! The weather was extremely cold and it snowed during the last day and overnight, but the hotel remained very warm. The staff were really helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had a reasonable meal. The other two nights we ate out. The Sweet Rosie Irish pub just round the corner was excellent value. Car parking was free at the weekend and it was easy to park. If you want a small, good value, friendly, unpretentious hotel near the centre of Parnu then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Room 17 is small but comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I was staying in Hansalinn for 4 nights during off-season and had a very good experience. The staff was accommodating to our needs (e.g. when we needed breakfast take-away for couple of people in the wee hours in the morning, they did it), the rooms were cosy and clean (though a few randomly placed electrical outlets). The decor of the house was enjoyable and we felt like home. Also the food was great - rich breakfast and hearty dinners.

The sauna complex was good, too, especially with the cosy sitting area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanneleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Recommend to check carefully when booking accomodation with kids in Parnu - we tought that 4 stern would quaranty medium quality and value for money. If you are lucky in Hansalinn you can according to reviews get a ok room, but if you are unlucky you end up with the room where toilet facilities are poor, small room where facilities are not up to date. Also if you are travelling with small kids it is better to check location, downtown location noisy. There is also noise from the 1st floor restaurant. Based on the experinece all 4 stern hotels along the beach in Parnu are worth of money anf fullfill 4 stern requirements. If you are unlucky you end up with motel standard in Hansalinn. Very questionable value for money if you are travelling with kids and wish that basic things are in place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viivi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Firstly, make sure to book your room well in advance as Parnu fills up quickly. Because there is such high demand in the summertime for lodging in this town, (due largely to the beach), hotel owners can charge significantly higher prices than in other towns in Estonia, including Tallinn. I say this as a precursor to my review, and the practice of charging more than elsewhere is important to keep in mind.

We stayed for 2 nights and I paid 84€ for a double + 16€ per night for an extra bed for my son. The mattress was left in the room for me to unfold and put the sheets on myself. On the plus side, the decor was possibly nicer than in other establishments. (I noticed that in many other hotels, the decor seemed to be a little outmoded from the 70s.) There is a flat screen television with some good cable stations, it is centrally located (just five minutes on foot from the bus station and right in the center) and the breakfast is decent.

Here is my gripe: I can accept that prices would be higher in this town because of the beach scene. Nevertheless, when you charge 100€ (for 3) for a 2 star hotel, the management should assure that basic quality is systematically guaranteed. I notice in a former review that other clients also didn't have their room made up. This was our case as well, and this is not acceptable. In the bathroom, the toilet seat was nearly falling off and the door screeched very loudly every time it was closed. (In other words, if you had to get up and go in the middle of the night, you could not close the door without waking everyone up.) These things can and should be repaired. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is very small, just enough room for a corner shower, a toilet, and a sink. (Cosmetic bags must go on the floor.)

In retrospect, after having visited Parnu, I would have chosen to stay in one of the lovely older villas near the park. Many, but not all, are a bit more expensive, but they are so utterly charming, that it may be worth it to pay a little more. The issue here again is value for your money. Other than your initial arrival and departure (lugging suitcases and what not), there really is no advantage to staying in the center. The town is divided in thirds, from top to bottom as follows: town, park, beach. And they are all really close together.

Back to this hotel: if everything had gone as well as possible, I still would have felt the room was overpriced. Unfortunately, I feel these errors are pretty egregious given the price. I do feel badly having to write this review because the staff was nice enough. Good luck in your choice for a hotel in Parnu.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonesNîmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Located in the city center of Parnu, close to shops, restaurants, night clubs. Traditional house; calm backstreet. Own restaurant. We booked a room for three which had a double bed and an extra travel bed. It was pretty small and the bathroom was also tiny. Everything was very clean but rooms were not tidied up the second day. Breakfast was ok, nothing special, but had fruit , muesli, eggs and fresh bread. Overall a nice hotel but a little but too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudtimO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank VVEPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Parnu hotels
0.3 mi away
Parnu Hotel
Parnu Hotel
#8 of 48 in Parnu
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hedon SPA & Hotel
Hedon SPA & Hotel
#2 of 48 in Parnu
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ammende Villa
Ammende Villa
#6 of 48 in Parnu
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Estonia Resort Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sadama Villa
Sadama Villa
#20 of 48 in Parnu
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tervis spa hotel
Tervis spa hotel
#9 of 48 in Parnu
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hansalinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hansalinn

Address: Malmoe 15, Parnu 80011, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Parnu
Price Range: £33 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hansalinn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Pärnu, the summer capital of Estonia, the Hansalinn offers 11 cozy and quiet rooms and a very good restaurant. Each room is individually designed and offers a romantic atmosphere. Close to the Hotel Hansalinn, there is a beautiful church, a new concert hall, a theater, a museum, galleries, shopping streets and nightclubs. The yacht harbor and the beach, which is considered to be the best in Estonia, are within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Hansalinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing