We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky
Ranked #3 of 927 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$84
Cuisines: French, International, European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine-Dining
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Let me start by telling you that i did specially take my time to create account on tripadvisor to review Your restaurant. We had a seven course dinner at your place and we have to share our feelings about it. Dinner was prepared by Your own chef Vladislav Djatšuk and 2 Michelin star restaurant chef from Hamburg mr Karlheinz Hauser ( or was it his team? ).It was full house with probably about 80 guests and we were seated in the smaller room. As i understood half dishes were made by local chef and other by visiting team.
 First course was different kind of tomato with yoghurt and passion fruit. It was fresh and tasty, and we really liked it. 
 Second course was scallops with cabbage and caviar. It was clear that kitchen was starting to struggle to get dishes out at reasonable time. As we were seated in the second room i think we were served among the last customers and by the time we got our plates, scallop was already cold. Probably the scallops were put on the plate first and then other ingredients little bit later. I think everybody knows the process of preparing many plates at once so i prefer not to stop here to go through that. Also cold sauce was helping cooling process.I understand that it takes time to prepare so many plates at once but i really think that professionals have to be avare of problems that it could bring- and dont like to have this kind of mistake on my table. Apart ofthis the taste was good and ingredients matched eachother rather well. 
 Norvegian king crab , Enoki mushrooms and apple. Apple was a surprise, i liked the dish.
 Crusted sole with black garlic, truffles, spinach and beurre noisette sauce. I did not find this combination of ingredients working together on one plate, giving me mixed feeling of what i just ate. It did not have any caracter at all with spinach taste stepping out.Never serve it again to customers! 
 Lettuce sifon and vinaigrette granita cleared awful taste of last dish in my mouth. Thanks.
 Frozen goat cheese with orange and olive oil and crumbled black pepper.
How can i describe it? All show-no go. I would have better not touched it at all an just pleased my eyes with beautiful appearance.
 Last dessert was almond cream with vineyard peach and lavendel. Flavours were ok, but did i just got served with regular peach compote?
 The whole dinner took 5 hours to serve which is a little bit too much. Waitress came before dessert and advised us to take a break and have a walk because it was still being prepared and not ready to be served jet.
After every course waitresses were asking for feedback from us and by dessert they stopped doing it, maybe it was coincidence, maybe they did not like honest feedback. Thay were nice to us and professional, describing every dish and vine. As for vine, it was quite good match for food, exept for rabbit which we would prefer stronger body, maybe even red vine.
 Taking all together i had wery high expectations for Your place and i was little  disappointed. I am considering coming back and choosing a-la carte menu, maybe you could do better with ordinary evening but i guess it will take some time until i am ready to take another shot in the dark.
 By being regular customer at Alexander from the beginning i now really understand why you have given out second place, and i am sorry to say that the difference is huge between these placings. Next time i hope the judges will also attend events not separate dinners, there could probably be some surprising results this way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mailika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Tchaikovsky, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Tripadvisor’s Mailika1

Thank you so much for taking time to review the Hotel Telegraaf’s Restaurant Tchaikovsky on Tripadvisor.

All guest and customer feedback is important to us, both for the Hotel as well as for the Restaurant, therefore all reviews and guest comments are being recorded, shared and discussed; the feedback is used for motivational purposes and / or to streamline our training endeavours, depending on the nature of the feedback received.

Indeed on Oct 24th we had the privilege of a two star Michelin chef– he was in the kitchen personally - visiting Tallinn and our Restaurant Tchaikovsky and as you stated correctly half of the dishes were based on their recipes and the other half on the recipes of our own Executive Chef.

For us it was great to experience that we do not have to stand behind a „certified“ two-star chef, and as we can read from your review sometimes you preferred the dishes preferred by our guest chefs, sometimes those from our own kitchen; the feedback from other guests participating in that same event told us pretty much the same: it was not possible to really identify „who did which dish“, giving us the understanding that the dishes served in our Restaurant are indeed on a higher level. I am sure you understand that we find this very motivating and re-assuring.

I will not not go into commenting on your impressions of each dish and its wine selection as ultimately one’s taste is one’s own; yet again allow me to thank you for the detailed impressions you personally had. For any lack in service you experienced please accept our sincere apologies.

You are also mentioning that this was the first time you were our guest at the Restaurant Tchaikovsky, and that you are contemplating to return. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back so please feel free to do just that and return and allow us to convince and show you the À la carte skills of our Service and Kitchen team.

Please feel free to send an email to tchaikovsky@telegraafhotel.com to place your table reservation – to let us know when you would like to re-visit us – and please feel free to make a cross reference to this very review.

Thank you and best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    110
    33
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerava, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We ordered the tasting menu at the restaurant Tchaikovsky and it was a very pleasant experience. Service was excellent and without fault. The pelmenis were extremely good, best food I've had in a long time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lene67424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nb1 title well deserved”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Truly, one of the best restaurant experiences ever. Fancy interior, good for date or business, band playing, fantastic staff... but the best thing was the food. What we really liked here was the harmony of tastes and some little surprise ingredient in every dish. The restaurant where everything was right, bill happily paid (140e for 3 course menu for 2 with wines = not bad at all).

We are so gonna return when next time in Tallinn.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even a Veggie will feel like in Heaven”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Being a vegetarian is not always easy in high class establishments. This Restaurant went past and beyond my expectation to accommodate my vegetarian restrictions. As a matter of fact, I ate the best vegetarian meal (and part of it was not even on the menu) in a long time. The wine list is elaborated, and Yuri, the man in charge will make sure you are tasting exactly the right wine with your perfect meal. The presentation of the dishes is wonderful (dry ice works wonders), and the way that the different herbs, spices and ingredients are associated deserves stars from Michelin. I will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henriette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fine dining experience!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We were staying at Hotel Telegraf, so dinner at Tchaikovsky's was a very easy option.
What a sublime experience.
The food and service were outstanding. Juri our waiter fabulous pairing wines with our choices.
An incredible evening and highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tchaikovsky also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Tchaikovsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing