We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious experience”
Review of Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky
Ranked #4 of 970 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$88
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine-Dining
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxurious experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We decided to try the creme de la creme and I tell you it was worth every penny. The restaurant and the hotel are pearls. Too bad we missed the music this time. They have live music on some days. The service is out of this world. The food was ecellent and compliments of the chef were a nice surprise. One minus was the oats "porridge" with my fish... otherwise perfect. The Chablis crowned the dinner! The waiter was there for us, at least it felt like that. Nice and quiet. Sophisticated I should say. Like in the old days I assume. Go and let yourself be treated like a royal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruoholao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    119
    35
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent service - the best so far in Tallinn. The food was great also. One of the amuse-bouche was the best part of the meal, so fresh and tasty between the startersand the main course. Not the cheapest restaurant but well worth visiting!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The service was very good, as was the atmosphere. We really enjoyed all the many complementary items between the courses, and the food, though certainly not cheap, was good value for money given the quality & luxury of what was offered. We had a really nice time. The staff were very friendly (Hello Mr. Toots!)

Helpful?
Thank Undermind_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tallinn's finest”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

So far the best restaurant I have been to in Tallinn - and I've been to a few great ones! The service was incredibly good, clearly the process is very well planned as everything worked like a dream from the moment we arrived. Everyone spoke excellent English and I loved the musicians playing classical music by the entrance. It is a fine dining restaurant so it isn't quite as relaxed and casual but not too stiff either. And I really do have to admire how smooth and professional the service was!

Not the cheapest one in town but I'd say it's worth it. Me and my partner both had 3 courses (pelmenis as starters, beef fillet and venison fillet as mains and Baked Alaska as dessert) and those with a couple of drinks & coffee were about 135 €.

Will definitely be going back, and highly recommend for couples as well as business lunches/dinners.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinsoyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Tchaikovsky, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor’s pinsoyfi

With this „reply-possibility“ on Tripadvisor I would like to quickly thank you on behalf the entire team of the Restaurant Tchaikovsky (Kitchen & Service) for the time you have taken out of your busy schedule to share your thoughts regarding your recent dining experience at our Restaurant, which is part of the Hotel Telegraaf here in Tallinn.

Fabulous that you had a great time and I also thought it was very interesting to read your other reviews on Tripadvisor and how we compared to other good restaurants here in our beautiful hanseatic city.

Thank you for dropping us a line as to when next you will be requiring a table at the Restaurant Tchaikowsky (and a possible reservation at the Hotel Telegraaf); we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future !

With our best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Hotel Telegraaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muraste, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good place”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent service, the food was perfect, and the restaurant as well. Not the cheapest restaurant in town, but definitely worth it. We all ordered three dishes and everything was super.
One of the best in Tallinn!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tchaikovsky also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Tchaikovsky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing