We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group”
Review of Kaerajaan

Kaerajaan
Ranked #42 of 947 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Modern Estonian Cuisine in a middle of Medieval Old Town Tallinn
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
323 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great for a group”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a business dinner at Kaerajaan. Two waiters were very efficient in serving a group of approximately 30 in the private dining hall upstairs. The food was terrific. Salads were very fresh and the fish dishes were excellent, as was the desert. The views from the second floor showed the bustling activity of the square below.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peeter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    140
    42
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
2 reviews
“Good location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Restaurant is located on the main square and to serve estonian food to tourists. I really liked the food there, very good!!! I had wild boar and it was delicious! I also liked the desert. But I was a really offended with the service. The waitress didn't pay us any attention, kept forgetting everything and I felt as if she didn't want us there. When we left nobody even said bye :((

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“A bit overpriced but OK food”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has friendly staff and a nice terrace. We ate kama flour pancakes which wasn't so good. The duck brest was juicy and the beef a bit undercooked. Creme brulé was awesome! Price for two persons was ~79 euros.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a lovely restaurant. The food was very good, we had the duck and boar they both great.
Followed by chocolate fondant with berries and ice cream. All in all very tasty The best meal we had in Estonia
We were looking on to the town square. They gave us blankets and put the heater on later in the evening.
The toilet upstairs is worth a visit as it is in a chimney.
The prices were reasonable considering it was in the main square

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected a lot more...”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

It ain't our typical choise to choose a restaurant at the main square of Old Town, but Kaerajaan had received good reviews. The interior was very nice and the large windows to the Raekoja Platz makes it easy to follow crowds strolling by.
Really sorry to say, but the service and the food didn't live up to the reputation at all. Staff was friendly, but slow and clumsy, even forgetting things ordered. The portions looked great, but the lack of proper seasoning spoiled the experience... Prices seemed also to have gone up severely from the earlier reviews.
In short, there are several far better places nearby to explore, so won't visit again...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaerajaan also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Kaerajaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing