We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food with a view of the square”
Review of Kaerajaan

Kaerajaan
Ranked #44 of 927 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Modern Estonian Cuisine in a middle of Medieval Old Town Tallinn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food with a view of the square”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch with a group from work. Table was upstairs with a nice view of the square. Service and food were good. Had the beet soup and "juicy duck" ... and it was juicy! Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    139
    41
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, service, price, atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had lunch here after taking the free tour of the city. We sat outside and enjoyed watching the world go by while we ate. The food (pasta) was very good, large portions and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mns06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Genuine innovation!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Most of the restaurants in Tallinn serve the usual tourist mush - pizza, pasta and bad steaks. This place is a few steps ahead of the others, with rabbit, duck and some very interesting fish dishes. I had the rabbit marinated in cider, and loved it. I also had a lingonberry parfair with caremallised rye bread - excellent again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Should be higher on TA list”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We choose this restaurant much by chance on our first night in Tallinn. Since weather was coolish, we ate inside. The room is attractive. We had a window table so we could still enjoy the comings and goings in the Town Hall square. We really enjoyed our meal to the point that we felt no need to try another restaurant the second night of our visit. The second time, we ate outside as the weather was warmer. What brought us back? The beet soup and the duck breast entree. Oh, and Mikk, our server. The second meal was almost as good although the beef was a bit shy of other choices. Wine pours are generous and prices are reasonable. Tallinn seems to be quite a "foodie" town. We didn't dine at any of the other higher rated restaurants, but it seems Kaerajaan should be higher on the list than it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A modern take on Estonian cuisine”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Usually avoiding restaurants in obvious tourist spots, we initially dismissed this restaurant because it is situated on the main square in the old town. However tempted by the menu we decided to give it a go. Other reviewers have described this as touristy, which I would disagree with. The food is a modern twist on good quality Estonian cuisine and is highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaerajaan also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Kaerajaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing