We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever a hotel again in Tallinn”
Review of Viru Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viru Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never ever a hotel again in Tallinn”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Good location and a clean room with a excellent staff. Went to the Tallinn backpackers and had a very nice time with them. Tnx to Matt, Tara, Sven and all the others that was including and care for everyone in the hostel group. I WILL BE BACK...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunder007mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    60
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
39
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great location in old town. Shared bathrooms were clean, good showers. Tall ceilings with large windows make the rooms airy and great place to relax after exploring the city. My only complaints would be that the mattresses were were not the most comfortable and the walls were a bit thin, so noise could be a problem if others staying there are rowdy, but wasn´t a problem when I was there. But staff was great - very helpful. I´d definitely stay here again if I returned to Tallinn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Always you will get some problem to find a door for this hotel (hotel). It's just 3rd floor and 10-12 rooms. Shared WC and shower.
You can use self-service kitchen and get breakfast - bread+butter+coffee+pancakes.
There is internet.
Sometimes noisly, because all walls are papers...

There is only 1 positive moment: price for this perfect location.

Ths hotel is good for cheap weekend with 1-2-3 nights, when you need only bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Arkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

“Extremely good location at the entrance of old town, my single room was comfortable and without noise so I was able to hace a good sleep.1 bathroom with shower is big and comfortable, the others are small but all very clean. Ask for the laundry in advance is very cheap and they do it next day. The staff change every day, I think thath they were also backpakers as me, but efficient and friendly service. Free wifi and breakfast that you prepare in a very small kitchen. Very recomemded hostel in Tallin

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Secondary hostel of the Tallin backpackers so if you want the bar or sauna have to go to te others hostel. This one is quite and in one of the main streets of the old town. Very quite and cosy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plebiscites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Location was good and room was comfortable. There was abit of noise coming from the street, which is understandable as it is located on one of the main streets of Tallinn.

One major thing negative was being locked out of the building, by a door we were told couldn't be locked. Luckly we new where the hostel sister property was, Tallinn Backpakers. We walked to it which was around 10 minutes away and apon arrival was told that they didn't have a key to that door, as it was never locked!!! When they rang the phone in the hostel the member had staff had left and not been replaced meaning that we where stuck outside at 1am. With a bit of luck an Italian lady who was staying there final answered the hostel phone, after 1 hour of calling, and another person stuck outside spoke Italian and told her our prodiciment. After 2 and half hours of waiting we final was let in!!!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viru Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viru Backpackers

Property: Viru Backpackers
Address: Viru 5, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Viru Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viru Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing