We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel in heart of Old Town”
Review of Viru Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viru Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hostel is probably the best hostel the three members of our group have ever stayed in - and we are seasoned travellers. Lovely and clean, big room (we booked a triple and one of the three beds was a large double - bonus), very helpful staff, nice breakfast provided in the mornings. Very good value and located right in the heart of the Old Town. Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zproud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Me and three female friends booked a four bedded room at this hostel for a long weekend in Tallin If you get you bus ticket from the kiosk in the airport it should cost you 1 euro if you get on the bus it will cost you 1 euro 60. Very good on location the room was clean also the shared bathrooms and toilets were clean, Continental self service breakfast also pancakes if you wished is also included in the price, it also said coffee and tea all day but there was never any milk and the coffee was vile but for what we paid it was not worth complaining about.The beds were clean and comfortable, It is located on one of the main streets of Tallinn which our room over looked but this did not stop us from having a good nights sleep. On the Friday we went to Helsinki on the ferry we booked this on line before we went, we did have to get up early but the staff left out bread and butter jam so we could have some thing to eat before we went. The staff were very helpful we decided to get a taxi back to the airport which for the four of us did not cost much more than the bus which the staff ordered for us.Very good value for money .Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshire9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Good location and a clean room with a excellent staff. Went to the Tallinn backpackers and had a very nice time with them. Tnx to Matt, Tara, Sven and all the others that was including and care for everyone in the hostel group. I WILL BE BACK...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thunder007mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great location in old town. Shared bathrooms were clean, good showers. Tall ceilings with large windows make the rooms airy and great place to relax after exploring the city. My only complaints would be that the mattresses were were not the most comfortable and the walls were a bit thin, so noise could be a problem if others staying there are rowdy, but wasn´t a problem when I was there. But staff was great - very helpful. I´d definitely stay here again if I returned to Tallinn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Always you will get some problem to find a door for this hotel (hotel). It's just 3rd floor and 10-12 rooms. Shared WC and shower.
You can use self-service kitchen and get breakfast - bread+butter+coffee+pancakes.
There is internet.
Sometimes noisly, because all walls are papers...

There is only 1 positive moment: price for this perfect location.

Ths hotel is good for cheap weekend with 1-2-3 nights, when you need only bed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Arkhipov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

“Extremely good location at the entrance of old town, my single room was comfortable and without noise so I was able to hace a good sleep.1 bathroom with shower is big and comfortable, the others are small but all very clean. Ask for the laundry in advance is very cheap and they do it next day. The staff change every day, I think thath they were also backpakers as me, but efficient and friendly service. Free wifi and breakfast that you prepare in a very small kitchen. Very recomemded hostel in Tallin

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Secondary hostel of the Tallin backpackers so if you want the bar or sauna have to go to te others hostel. This one is quite and in one of the main streets of the old town. Very quite and cosy.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plebiscites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 120 in Tallinn
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
0.2 mi away
Tabinoya
Tabinoya
#1 of 42 in Tallinn
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
16eur Fat Margaret's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viru Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viru Backpackers

Address: Viru 5, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range: £22 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Viru Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Viru Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing