We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Viru Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viru Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very nice and friendly staff, excellent location in the heart of the Tallinn, good breakfast, very good bed, clean, value for money. I can´t say anything negative... i had a single room, it was simple ja clean. Shared toilet and shower both were clean. If you need simple, nice bed in the heart of everything this is your place!

Room Tip: Single room, number 7 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnteroFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    63
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
39
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have spent 4 days in Viru backpackers hostel, which is right in the center of the old town of Tallinn, everything is close, so you can walk everywhere. There is a big supermarket Rimi close to the hostel.

The hostel is clean, very cozy, it brings up the feeling of home. There is breakfast as well, which is simply delicious: toasted bread, butter, jam, pancakes and etc:)

The most important thing is that people who work there are amazing, they are super friendly, they give you a free map, show you directions, recommend tour. Thanks to them the atmosphere in the hostel is very warm and unforgettable. We will go back as soon as we have a chance :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here in July 2011 as part of a tour through the Baltic States.
It was initially hard to find the hostel entrance and access was only via stairs to the upper floors.
The location was brilliant, right in the centre of town with an easy walk to the port and the old town. Breakfast was poor - jam and bread only. Although the worst part was the noise coming from the street.This was not just a busy town centre noise, there was a club / pub just along the road where singing went on until 1am. Not a problem if you are out yourself, but forget getting a good nights sleep here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveo_1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hostel. The en suite room was great, the bathroom has a heated floor (fantastic in the winter). Very comfy bed. Breakfasts are very sweet (toasts with jams, muesli with milk). We had an everyday talk with the stuff before and after sightseeing so they always could give us an extra hint about what to see/where to eat. They were also very helpful and sincerely interested in every guest's story. The place is cozy and feels like a huge flat. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Viru Backpackers is the best hostel among all hostels I've stayed so far.
It is located in the center of Old Town in Tallinn and you can get into any bar or museum within few minutes.
Hostel located on the 3rd floor in very atmospheric building (just give a try the elevator and climb up on the upper floors).

Hostel staff is very friendly and welcomes any your questions. They advised us great bars and told us a lot about Tallinn and Old Town.

You can leave your belongings (backpacks etc) if you came to Tallinn before checkin time or if you want to explore Talinn after checkout time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was not able to stay at Viru Backpackers due to unforeseen circumstances. When I got in touch to cancel my reservation they responded immediately and were extremely helpful. I've stayed in hostels all over the world and I was impressed by their service. I think that customer service and flexibility is very important in this business and they are good at both.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evesmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Hostel is very small but cozy, capacity of 25 guest makes him friendly and pleasent for stay, shared bathroom are ok, kitchen and common are very nice. Superb location close to city centre. Two simple bets, sink and small cupboard in the room is not really enough but for short stay why not...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lukas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
810 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#17 of 85 in Tallinn
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 85 in Tallinn
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viru Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viru Backpackers

Property: Viru Backpackers
Address: Viru 5, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Viru Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viru Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing