We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's been a while, but I have good memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #19 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
The Hague
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's been a while, but I have good memories”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This may not be the best review, as it's been years since I stayed here. So I can't comment on current service, prices etc. What I do remember is that the location was great, just outside the Old City center. Back then, service was great for the price.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nienkekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    55
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
45
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in November with my husband - we payed just £112 in total so didn't expect too much. what we got was quite basic but the room was warm clean and comfortable and as a special bonus in the guest lounge there was unlimited tea and coffee and a packed breakfast/lunch that helped us through the day when we went walking.

Tallinn is a stunning city and the old town is doable in a couple of days so on the others we ventured out and one day walked to Pirita - well worth it - and on another we walked in the opposite ditrection and ended up at the tallinn folk museum. after being out in minus 4 all day it was lovely to get back to a warm shower and a comfy bed.

they say you get what you pay for - we did and i think a little bit more.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyEckersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed two times in this hotel with my friends. This hotel near with Old Town (about 5 minutes on foot). Hotel's staff very friendly, breakfast was good. So, if you want good hotel, but you don't want to spend money - this is excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitesyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Overview

i stayed here during a stag do to Tallinn in October 2011. It is a basic hotel, split into two parts, in a great location near the Old Town.

Standard of Accommodation

Ok first thing's first, this hotel is very basic. Well, the part we stayed in certainly is. The hotel is split into two parts, the first is the part that you check into etc. It looked really nice, a clean modern lobby and comfortable lounge. But we weren't staying here. We stayed in the second part, a short walk down the road. This is completely different. There is no reception desk or anything, and the corridors are quite narrow. The rooms themselves are very basic, and in need of modernising. However, if all you need is somewhere to put your head, they are fine.

Location

The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the Old Town. You can either walk through the park and into the Old Town, or take the more direct route up the hill. We stayed in Autumn and the trees in the park and were a beautiful colour, really stunning.

Staff

The staff though deserve a special mention, they couldn't have been better. Really attentive and helpful, and spoke English really well (better than us in fact...)

Final thoughts

If you can, I would probably recommend staying in the first part of the hotel, but this may cost a bit more, i'm not sure. But if you want something that is cheap, and in a good location, then the second part of the hotel would do the job.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcampbell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

not much more to report , Hotel was awful checked out of a non refundable room and moved to Swissotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ringo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We visited this hotel on a 10 man stag do during late auguts 2011. for three nights. Its worth mentioning from the start that this hotel is split into two parts...the good part and the less good part. The good part is a 'spa hotel' and is quite impressive in its general look and feel. The staff are excellent and friendly. The 'other' part is a 100 yard walk out of the main entrance outside and through a secure key card access door. This part of the hotel is run almost as a seperate entity, and sadly this is where we ended up. The rooms are basic but functional, i was lumbered with what was really a fold out camping bed so beware if your sharing with more than 2 people per room.
In the middle of the night the slats fell out of my bed making a loud noise, it even woke me up after a massive night out with on a stag do! Quite a shock.
Bathroom was a wety room, no drain curiously, the room got really quite wet, (three sharing). The breakfast was a curious brown paper bag left with all the other guests in the shared area ( a basement room, well maintained but very basic. This breakfast area has not staff its a essentially a communal guest area where they leave the food bags. The bags contained homemade sandwich (cheese and salad) a yoghurt, a drink (sugar and apple juice) and a peice of fruit (pot luck). This wasnt really very appetising after a 24 hour drinking binge, i never managed to finish a bag and mostly ended up buying breakfast elsewhere.
The hotel is in a good location, very near a nice park and the old city walls (up a hill). In this part of the hotel there is a vending machine only so expect to be making trips out.
Also worth mentioning is that there is an amazing hotel opposite this building, 5 stars and truly quite impressive (Meriton Hotel), two of the members of the party stayed there and we were all quite jelouse, it had an incredibly plush entrance with food hall, bar and entrance to spa and gym area...really of a very high standard, rooms were also as you would expect from a 5 star international hotel, those double cost approx 75 per night! amazing value and makes the City Hotel look really quite meagre and insignificant. Also the City Hotel only clean rooms on request and even charge for the privelage...even for towels!
We did various activities and the hotel was very helpful with arrangements and transfers, taxis etc.
Overall City Hotel had good staff (when you could find them) and the rooms did the job. But if your looking for high class at a low price then go for the Meriton, theres really no comparison.

Room Tip: Choose the Meriton across the road if you can afford it, if not this hotel is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjörður
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

There is no lobby or staff at this hotel. You use the lobby at the hotel next door - which is not a problem. They were very accomodating and friendly. Clean, cosy, quiet rooms very close to the old town. I would definetely stay there again. Only downside is the lack of real breakfast. You get a little sack in the mornings with bread, joghurt and a fruit. Didn´t matter in our case as we slept in and went to lunch anyway,

Room Tip: Clean, comfy, quiet, cheap and very well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goofus1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#38 of 82 in Tallinn
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Euphoria Hostel
Euphoria Hostel
#47 of 82 in Tallinn
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#55 of 82 in Tallinn
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Tallinn

Property: City Hotel Tallinn
Address: Paldiski mnt 3, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Tallinn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Tallinn is a fresh new value concept hotel which offers accommodation at a significantly lower rates than the general price level - in essence you do not pay for services you do not need! The hotel features 17 cozy single, double, twin and triple rooms with designer walk-in showers and newly updated free WiFi connection throughout the hotel. The cozy and spacious lounge is a perfect place to spend time with your friends.There is also a new small Library Lounge where you enjoy a good book and a cup of coffee or tea. And there is free parking next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing