We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a hostel than a hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Tallinn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #22 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“More a hostel than a hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is clean and very well located (just 5 minutes walk to the Old town) but the place is very basic. If you find a good deal, then it is ok.

They have a bigger and much better hotel next door, and that is pretty much were you will check in and have breakfast and all that.

Nothing special, I will only be back here if I find a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    54
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
15
45
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Location was good, costs 10eur from the airport by cab. 10-15Min walk to old city.. Room was quite large and comfortable.
This place is not a hotel seems more like an apartment. They don't daily make up the rooms and provide new towels, sheets.
There is not reception inside the building in where the rooms are located. Check in is available in an other hotel's reception 50-100m ahead. It should have been informed before. It is annoying to walk back with a big luggage after getting off the cab.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blitzistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Very conveniently located just outside the city walls. Was reasonably priced, however under the bed wasn't cleaned (bit dusty) and the bathroom had an odd smell as if there were plumbing problems. Otherthan that I suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandracmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

The City Hotel Tallinn was a good, chep option in the centre of Tallinn. The rooms were basic, clean and warm, and we had a nice bathroom. The hotel has obviously been designed to be a budget hotel. You have to pay 10 euros to get your room cleaned, and 5 euros for fresh towels, but it was a good base for a few days.

Tallinn can be expensive, but our en-suite room here cost less than some private hostel rooms with shared bathroom.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the castle and Kick in de Koek, and 15 minutes from the Town Hall.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennynumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed here in January 2013. This hotel was a less expensive option for Tallinn. The room was very basic, but very clean and quite a good size. Overall it was a bit soulless (for the three nights I was here I never saw another hotel guest) but for a single traveller or those on a budget it's a good option. Check in and breakfast is done at the neighbouring Von Stackelburg Hotel which is about 30 meters up the road. Staff at the Von Stackelburg are quite helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Having booked the room online for 27 euros, we stayed at the City Hotel for one night. We got our room keys before the proper check-in time from the von Stackelberg Hotel about 100 metres from the City Hotel. Our room was facing the courtyard, just as we had wished. It was clean, there was hot water in the shower and the television worked. Nothing to complain because we knew we hadn't booked a 5-star hotel room. The breakfast wasn't included in the price but that didn't matter for us, we just bought something from the Prisma in the shopping centre we wen't to after waking up. Can't say much about the service since the only person we talked to was the lady at the von Stackelberg reception but she was nice to us. The location is convenient, many old town restaurants within a ten minutes' walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

If you are on a stag or a hen weekend and looking for somewhere cheap this would be ideal. It's well situated and not expensive.
HOWEVER - we stayed here, thinking we were booked in to the associated von Stackelberg (where we had stayed before and were very impressed with). We were misled by the photos on www.booking.com - not the hotel's fault, and they in fact offered us a free spa session as compensation.
Our room faced on to the busy main road on the ground floor so lots of traffic noise. It was also a bit stuffy (August) but no way we could open window. We were kept awake all night by rowdy groups of people coming back (finally got quiet about 4am) and to top it all two weeks after our return we were found to have scabies!!!! Obviously can not prove it came from here but can not see where else we got it from. Suspect the sheets had not been properly washed.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank HPEJoPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.8 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#20 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Tallinn

Property: City Hotel Tallinn
Address: Paldiski mnt 3, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Tallinn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Tallinn is a fresh new value concept hotel which offers accommodation at a significantly lower rates than the general price level - in essence you do not pay for services you do not need! The hotel features 17 cozy single, double, twin and triple rooms with designer walk-in showers and newly updated free WiFi connection throughout the hotel. The cozy and spacious lounge is a perfect place to spend time with your friends.There is also a new small Library Lounge where you enjoy a good book and a cup of coffee or tea. And there is free parking next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your City Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing