We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly dirty”
Review of The Monk's Bunk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Monk's Bunk
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terribly dirty”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've been there the last week. The only good thing about it, was the kind stuff and the location. It was totally dirty, there was no toilet paper after a while and they also forced you to take out your shoes so to have a clean place, but it was disgusting. The bathrooms were a mess and there was a terrible smell in the whole floor. Wouldn't recommend it for any reason.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menia_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    66
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
11
111
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

An extremely welcoming hostel with outstanding facilities, a fun environment that anyone can enjoy. Friendly staff to ensure your stay is pleasant and relaxing. Reasonable drink prices and a comfortable common room to relax in. I would certainly recommend this hostel to young backpackers who are looking for a good time. Great location in the heart of old town and useful travel information provided at the reception. Overall, my stay here was a fantastic one and will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Cool, clean, comfortable. Great bar and a brilliant place to meet people. Proper party hostel most nights. Good chill out room as well. Right on the edge of town, and Tallin is an excellent place to visit, easy to get around, fantastic bars, beautiful Old Town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 895Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Quality place, clean tidy rooms & great facilities. Sergei was so helpful when I first arrived. Good location too, only about a 10 min drive from the airport and a 5 min walk into the old town, great place. Extremely good value for money too, a definite recommend for all you backpackers out there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MartynM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was just awesome ... We travel with my friend around europe, until now 9 cities in 7 countries and The Monks Bunk Is the BEST hostel we had ...
First accommodation: Lot of space, very clean, comfortable. In this hostel you can have a diner for only 3€ ... And it is home made meal prepared by chiefs :p
Vibes: Crazy ! the is two stairs, one where there are the bed, very quiet ... And the other where there are reception, kitchen, bar ! Very good beer for ~2€ and very ggod ambiance ! There is computer, pool, sofa, a "cinema" room, Sauna and beer pong table :p (you have also a room for smokers)
Activities: A lot !!!! Shooting session or free Pub Crawl, I guaranty you that the staff of this hostel will make your trip in Tallinn AWESOME !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sefik U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great stay. Arrived on Monday night and spent 2 days there. First night was great, got introduced to people who where staying there an then went out on a bar crawl with them. Safe to say I was destroyed, couldn't move out the bed must of been the vodka jelly shots.

Nice clean hostel and very friendly staff. Can't fault the place.

Thanks

Jay

Room Tip: Try an stay below the bar nice an quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed in Tallinn for three days. On hostelbookers they recommended the Monk's Bunk, so that was the place where I decided to stay. As a 35 year old lone backpacker a had a great time over there. Staff feels like family after one hour (that in case you take a sit at the bar and are willing to meet them). People from other hostels and even locals came over every night to have a good time at the hostel and afterwards a staff always took us to the city for a bar crawl. You never feel lonely in this place. For openminded people of all ages I highly recommand the place. Thank you for the great time Darren, Emma, Aaron, Serbia, Try and all the people I do forget! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 83 in Tallinn
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk's Bunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk's Bunk

Property: The Monk's Bunk
Address: Tatari 1, Tallinn 10116, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we, the staff, are backpackers like you, rest assured that you will feel welcome from the moment you walk in until you leave the hostel. Our bar area is the perfect place to party and meet fellow travelers and backpackers. There is also enough space if you just want to chill out, read a book or watch a movie (in our specially designed cinema room). At night time you are welcome to join us for a joined pub crawl with our partner hostel Tallinn Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Monk's Bunk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing