We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
389 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Von Stackelberg for three nights in April. It is no more than 5 mins walk from the old town but top tip - make sure u mark the hotel on a physical map/Google maps as once in the old town which has more back alleys [all very interesting] than I care to tell you, it can seem like a maze to get back.

We stayed in a Zen Deluxe room on the first floor with jacuzzi bath. 3 nights B and B in a well sized room with free Wifi, huge plasma TV and computer in the room was 300 Euros.

There is a lovely spa area providing treatments but we didn't have time to check it out.

Taxi from airport to hotel 8 to 10 Euro maximum.

Breakfast is a good selection of hot and cold food.

The bar closes at 10pm [local regulations] but the bars in the old town are open till the wee small hours.

All in all, good value, very clean, little if any noise and handy for the old town.

Another top tip - free Wifi virtually wherever you go in Tallin e.g. bars, cafes, shops etc.....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    191
    57
    26
    10
See reviews for
60
261
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I stayed here for one night on business in on of the Zen rooms.

My first impression after being dropped off at the back was of an old-style hotel that had been sympathetically modernised. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient.

My major disappointment was the size of my room, compact would be the diplomatic phrase to use. There was barely enough room for all the furniture and you can forget floorspace for exercising or stretching. The bathroom was complete with a spa bath but again there was little space to store toileteries or indeed to get dried.

Breakfast was good, if fairly standard.

On my next visit I might try one of the larger chains for comparison...

3 out of 5

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grabri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Cannot recommend highly enough, went for along weekend with partner and had a fantastic time. Superb value for money for what is a excellent beautiful hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is located close to the centre of Old Town and was clean and well set out. The room itself was lovely, very cosy and comforting with all modern features such as TV, internet, phone etc. The bathroom had natural slate tiles and a fantastic shower and a bath with spa facilities. The breakfast covered all taste ranges with hot and cold foods and tasty juices.

I would, and have been, hearty recommending this hotel to friends 110%.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaviesHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

If you're staying in Tallinn on business for a night, you can choose the big chains like Swissotel, Radisson etc. However for about 1/3 the price you can stay at the von Stackelberg.

All the rooms are completely new. (Newly built inside an ancient building.) They are very simple and compact. A bit "plasticy" but so what. Perfectly clean. Compact. Breakfast (probably better, if anything, than at the big chains), WiFi, etc is all FREE instead of having to pay for everything at every turn. Someone on reception is open probably all night.

Of course, at the big chains you will get maybe a swimming pool, etc. - which is great, but is it really worth the money?

If you are a tourist and not on business. Be aware that the von Stackleberg is close to - but not in - the old town. For total tourism you would probably be better right in center of the old town, consult the map version of tripadvisor. (For business travellers, the Radisson etc are ALSO not really in the old town.) But for sheer value if you're economising on holiday, you just need somewhere to sleep peacefully for a few nights while checking out Tallinn, it would be difficult to beat the von Stackleberg.

The very expensive Schlössle boutique hotel (heart of the the old town), and maybe the Telegraaf, are the only "notable" hotels in Tallinn - so is it really worth paying more than the von Stackleberg?

Pay no more than 10 euros in a TAXI (negotiate first!) from the convenient airport to the von Stackleberg. Everyone knows where the hotel is instantly. BTW if you are confused by the strange name, 'von Stackleberg' is simply a historic family from the area.

Just a tip - Tallinn AIRPORT sensibly has completely free open WiFI all over the airport, it might make your business trip easier if you know this.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We received an upgrade to the Stackelberg, though we originally had booked rooms in the adjoining City Hotel, part of the same company. Stayed here for a week. It's not really 4 stars, but we got an excellent rate + upgrade. The young girls at the reception were quite nice, though not very talkative.

I did not like the gloomy atmosphere in the downstairs restaurant though and the breakfast was not that nice. So I only went for breakfast twice. Breakfast staff wasunpleasant. Location not very good. Opposite the Meriton Hotel though, which has a spa and Asian and Spanish restaurants, which is a plus.

Rooms are slightly noisy and should be soundproofed, because of the traffic. Room quality rating maybe 3,4/5, just beyond average. Corridors can get noisy, if groups invade the place. Overall a pretty average stay. Suggested improvements: make the downstairs restaurant look and feel different, add minibar, add room service, sound proof, more TV channels and more info on Tallinn in Rooms and Reception. Also newspapers and a guest table for the lobby suggested as well as a vending machine for snacks and drinks.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kurre200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Von Stackelburg Hotel in Tallinn, is truly a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. With the large, comfy beds, and the relaxing rooms there isn't a great deal more you could actually require from a hotel. The rooms are a good size, though not huge, but more than spacious enough for a couple. There is free internet in all the rooms, and a decent size TV as well. I have never actually slept on such a comfortable bed though, best 3 nights sleep of my life!
Myself and the people I travelled to Estonia with enjoyed the Restaurant on the first night, and all enjoyed a large meal. They so snacks which we all assumed to be like English starters, but turned out to be the same size as a main meal, so we each had 2 large meals that night!! Ended up all being very full, and content.
The staff in the hotel were increadibly friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Everyone that we spoke to make a great deal of effort to speak in English, and were more than happy to go the extra mile to give us advice and directions.
The hotel is situated roughly a 10 minute walk from the Olde Towne centre wherethe nightlife will keep you more than entertained. Tallinn has so many bars and restaurants that everyone would be catered for.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed in the hotel for a long weekend in a Zen room. Hotel was perfect for our stay, location was a few minutes walk from the centre of old town and easy to find. The staff were very helpful and polite and had no problems. There was a breakfast buffet with a large selection of hot and cold food and drink each morning which stayed open later on weekends. We had a spacious modern room with a nice bathroom - including a jacuzzi bath. The whole hotel was very clean and tidy and I'll definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porridgeoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Property: von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing