We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here with 4 friends at the beginning of may 2013 for 3 nights and it was perfect in every way, lovely rooms, beds, food (both breakfast and La Boheme its restaurant) and very friendly and helpful staff and the hotel itself is just outside the old town. Also had lovely spa treatment. Tallinn itself was a fab city to explore and the Von Stackleberg is just the place to do it from!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    196
    57
    26
    10
See reviews for
63
264
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for four nights and we were very satisfied. We stayed at a Zen Deluxe room and the room was clean, bigger than a normal hotel room and the bathroom was fresh and spacious. A jacuzzi bath was also available in the bathroom.
The room had wifi and also a stationary computer. We had a room towards the street, but the traffic noise was low and did not bother us.
The breakfast buffe was not huge but it was quite alright. It tasted good and the atmosphere in the cellar is cozy. But beware that the tables can be occupied fast, they are not so many.
A walk to the old Town took about five minutes, so the hotel is well situated.
We took a taxi to the hotel from the Airport and the tax was seven Euro. The same amount when we took the ride back to the Airport.
A nice touch was that we received some sweets and Tallinn liqueur in the evening by room service free of charge.
One night the in room dining was ordered to the room. It was fast, no problem ordering the food and it tasted good.
The only thing that was not good was that we had to call every night to receive champagne glasses.
The hotel is a good choice and very affordable. We would llike to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good hotel with friendly helpful staff. We asked for back of hotel as a few previous reviews had suggested, it was still quite noisy if you want to keep the windows open. We had a Zen room and bathroom smelt a little strange. Beds comfortable but floors under bed not swept and a very large but harmless Harvestman spider type insect was living in the light fitting. Fortunately we saw him on the day we checked out. Spa treatments well carried out and breakfasts were plentiful with a very good selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlywedMay2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I would recommend staying at the Von Stackelberg, but only if you book a room in the category Zen Deluxe and only if the room is facing the courtyard (e.g. Room 110). I glimpsed a standard room and it was too small to turn around in. The normal Zen room that we were given upon arrival had a tiny bathroom, it smelled of sewage and was on the ground floor facing a 6 lane street that cars went racing down. Horrible. The next day we upgraded to a Zen Deluxe room and demanded a room facing the courtyard. What a change! The room was great, coffee capsule machine incl. The bed was a delight to sleep in. The large bathroom with floor heating a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was a pleasure (different types of bread, choice of juices, various tasty cheeses and salamis, smoked salmon, cereals, jams, hard and soft-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, fruit and even mustards). Anyone who complains about the buffet is mixing up 4 and 5 stars and should get real. Service and cleanliness were befitting a 4 star hotel. The location is to be seen strategically. You are exactly outside of the old city walls, which means a 5 minute walk to town square but you avoid the high level of noise from pubs, bars, restaurants and clubs. And there are a hell of a lot of these in Tallinn! To sum it up: If you choose the right room category, facing the courtyard, the Von Stackelberg is a great hotel. Everything else, book somewhere else. Simple as that.

Room Tip: Book Zen Deluxe, nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottraban74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very nice, good clean hotel with a modern contemporary look and feel. I would recommend this hotel for couples, groups or even if your travelling alone. As a group of stag lads, we've had a great time and no issues with the hotel. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweet-ScentsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in April, we were upgraded to a Zen room which was lovely and spacious. The staff were very helpful, friendly and the breakfast was great, with a very wide selection of fresh and cooked food. Tea/Coffee in the room as well as a spa bath!
The hotel is in a great location too.

However the room was in an annexe building on the 2nd floor so we had to carry large suitcases up (and down) 4 flights of stairs. Also the room was a double/twin and although a large suite like room, the bed could have been bigger and the room could do with suitcase racks and more hanging space.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have large bags as there are lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a zen room from Monday to Thursday in march.

Check-in was very smooth. We provided our passport details and credit card details but were not offended by that at all as most of the hotels in Europe do.

The room was adequate size and nicely decorated. It even has a bubble bath, which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was also nice with a variety of selections.

Only downsides are...

1. It is not a walking distance from the port. You need to catch a cab.
2. Some improvement needed with house keeping. On the first night, the hand soup and shower soup were both empty.
3. A bit noisy if your room is facing the main street. Our room was on the first floor facing the main street. Noise from traffic kept me awake a few times in the morning.

However, considering that it was only £50ish for 2 persons per night, I can say I am a satisfied customer. Also, Tallinn was such a lovely town and I would love to go back there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akitravelestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
1,621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Property: von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing