We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better online that in person”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel is a beautiful building and has a lovely courtyard for enjoying a book and drink, but the rooms are not quite what we expected. We booked the Zen Deluxe to gain extra space with a couch for lounging but the couch was so hard you would never want to lounge on it. The other reason for upgrading and paying more for the Deluxe room was to have access to a "pillow menu" that we were told did not exist when we asked for the pillow options (although I then showed the receptionist the mention of it in the brochure in our room and she still said that they didnt have this but rather our room had a few pillows on the bed and that was what it meant- let it be noted that those few pillows were decorative.). We also did not have a stand up shower and the site says the room will have a stand up or jacuzzi tub. We got the tub and when we asked for a room with a stand up shower we were told none of the rooms had that. The a/c would not cool the room sufficiently and the breakfast buffet choices were minimal and not well stocked. Lastly, the location is just on the outside of the Old City, which is what we wanted, but we came to find the majority of the sites we wanted to see were on the other side of the Old City so we might have preferred to get a hotel outside the Old City but on the northern or northwestern side rather than southern.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendystarkriemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

I was part of a group of 5 women visiting Tallinn for a long birthday weekend (ages 40-50). This hotel was in a convenient location, was small and charming, yet had a lovely spa (very affordable, and we were served champagne in the hot tub), an excellent and substantial breakfast, and lovely hotel restaurant and bar. The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful in every way possible. The zen rooms were spacious and modern, with jacuzzi tubs, cozy robes, an evening night cap and most amenities. Only complaint was lack of wi-fi in rooms (though there was a pc with internet in each room at no charge) and the lack of additional toiletries (I was looking for a disposable razor). There was wi-fi in main areas of the hotel, and the outdoor seating was private and charming- with blankets if needed. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel, and as women on our own felt completely safe in Tallinn at all times. It was a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Zen rooms were spacious and quiet, and had great black-out blinds for sleeping at any hour- ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had 5 days at this hotel whilst exploring Tallin. The location is within easy access to Old Town, the Port and transportation links. Very clean and the spa services were a treat. It was a pleasure not to stay within the Old Town as it was noisy and it is all cobbled streets.

Room Tip: I took a tip from another trip adviser review and chose court yard facing. The other rooms face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanj1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Went to Tallinn for a long weekend and booked a Zen room at the von Stackelberg Hotel.

I've asked in advance for a room not facing street, but still got a room facing traffick and the room was small. I payed extra for the Zen room, and had to use the window sill for storage of one of our suitcases (we had two) in order not to use all the floorspace. Bathroom had next to nothing for storage. Beds where really good.

Breakfast was ok. Industrial scrambled eggs, but they had fresh salmon and an ok selection of ham and cheese.

The restaurant at the hotel serves excellent food. Ate one lunch and one dinner there, and it was some of the best food I ate in Tallinn (but you can eat there without living at the hotel).

The hotel has it's own spa, and it's very personal and gives you a welcome feel. I had feet and face treatment and was very satisfied.

Hotel is situated 5 to 10 minutes walk from the Old Town. The walk to the Old Town is very nice through parks and the Town wall.

All in all, this is not a bad hotel. But the size of the room and the feeling that I didn't really get anything extra for paying more (124 euros per night) and having traffick disturbing my sleep drags my average rating down.

Room Tip: As said I asked when I booked months in advance for room not facing traffick, but still didn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the von Stackelberg Hotel. It has some strengths but also more than one weak point.

The hotel is generally well located in Tallinn. Just outside the Old Town, just a short walk to "Oberstadt". However, after the weekend, I bleive, that the other end of the Old Town would be the better choice, if you want to have dinner in restaurants outside the touristik area. A lot of good restaurants are located between harbour and Old Town.

The rooms are okay, large enough and clean. The design is not one of the most modern, but still okay. The bed is also comfortable. We booked a ZEN room, whith a Jacuzzi. Although we only use it as a shower, the water pressure was disappointing. The last time I made this experience, was in a hotel room in London.

Anyhow, unacceptable was the smell in the room after a few hours without open windows. When you returned in the evening the whole room smelled like a toilet. We complained once, but the lady only shruged her shoulder's. When you open the windows, the situation improves quickly.

But now we are coming to another weak point: Even if you book a room located to the backyard, it is really noisy. You don't hear only the traffic from the crossroads, but also the staff in the morning,carrying trolleys and other stuff on the cobblestone. If you are used to sleep with open windows, you should keep this in mind! When the windows are shut, you don't hear anything.

The Spa was okay.

Even though we booked breakfast, we never tried it.

WiFi didn't work in our room and the computer installed with internet connection was very slow and not state of the art. This is really a surprise, because you have free and open WiFi connection in nearly every bar or restaurant in Tallinn.

We paid about 130 Euro per night, which is in my opinion at the upper end of the price range I expect for a hotel of this standard.

Frankly speaking: The three points assigned to this hotel are quite generous.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magic_rocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed here with 4 friends at the beginning of may 2013 for 3 nights and it was perfect in every way, lovely rooms, beds, food (both breakfast and La Boheme its restaurant) and very friendly and helpful staff and the hotel itself is just outside the old town. Also had lovely spa treatment. Tallinn itself was a fab city to explore and the Von Stackleberg is just the place to do it from!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for four nights and we were very satisfied. We stayed at a Zen Deluxe room and the room was clean, bigger than a normal hotel room and the bathroom was fresh and spacious. A jacuzzi bath was also available in the bathroom.
The room had wifi and also a stationary computer. We had a room towards the street, but the traffic noise was low and did not bother us.
The breakfast buffe was not huge but it was quite alright. It tasted good and the atmosphere in the cellar is cozy. But beware that the tables can be occupied fast, they are not so many.
A walk to the old Town took about five minutes, so the hotel is well situated.
We took a taxi to the hotel from the Airport and the tax was seven Euro. The same amount when we took the ride back to the Airport.
A nice touch was that we received some sweets and Tallinn liqueur in the evening by room service free of charge.
One night the in room dining was ordered to the room. It was fast, no problem ordering the food and it tasted good.
The only thing that was not good was that we had to call every night to receive champagne glasses.
The hotel is a good choice and very affordable. We would llike to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,483 reviews
1 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
919 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £51 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and elegant lifestyle hotel created in the 19th-century city estate of German-Baltic Baron von Stackelberg – a small, cozy quarter of its own located next to the beautiful medieval Old Town of Tallinn, Estonia. Originally built in 1874, the building has an exciting history and underwent complete restoration in 2015 and is constantly being improved and renovated. The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn is located directly at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle, Nevsky Cathedral and the numerous landmarks of the best preserved medieval town in Northern Europe. You can enjoy a unique breakfast at the cozy restaurant Emmeline & Otto, which is also opened for fine dining, casual meals and drinks all day long. You can also choose to chill out in front of a fireplace in the von Stackelberg Lobby Bar with a delicious cocktail and a good book from the library corner. You can indulge yourself at our Zen SPA with a visit to the Japanese pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing