We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, quiet - great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Elegant, quiet - great breakfast”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A very sensitive modernisation of one of one of the city's wealth of stunning old buildings.

It's quiet, softly lit with very helpful staff. Our Zen double room was elegant and very comfortable with a generous bathroom and great lighting.

Breakfast was among the best I'd experienced at a hotel for a long time. Tasty hot selection (i.e. English fry-ups) as well as meats, cheeses and fruits. Good coffee too.

Wifi is free and very fast and reliable; TV channel choices are minimal but fine.

The Zen treatments are exemplary (the massage and facials).

It's not the most-central hotel but given Tallinn is tiny, that doesn't matter. It's only a few minutes' walk across a park until you're in the spotless, sublime old city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    205
    63
    28
    11
See reviews for
66
281
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I chose this hotel as a over night spa get away as part of my Christmas holidays and it was just great. The Package included a room, private use of the spa sauna with Japanese pool, breakfast, one lunch and two treatments. Already before hand, the staff was very helpful with organizing all these program points according to my schedule.
When I arrived I was upgraded to a Delux room with own sauna which was the cherry on top of this stay. The location is good, a short walk away from the old town.
The hotel itself is very lovely decorated and has a beautiful flair. The room was clean and spacious and nicely decorated as well.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, both the breakfast and lunch were delicious.
The spa (Japanese pool and sauna) and the treatments were amazing - the perfect thing to get rid of the stress of a busy year.
The only minus points were that my room was facing the street which made it slightly noisy and that the water pressure of the shower was not that strong.Also connecting my own laptop to the internet was not as easy as expected but I was not there to work. These few points did not take away from the overall experience which was great - I cannot wait to book my next stay!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiRa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We wanted to spend the new year's eve in Tallinn, so I made a reservation to von Stackelberg already in November. I also paid the room (189 euros) in advance. When we (me, husband and daughter) got there on new year's eve, the reservations manager told us that the hotel is overbooked and they are going to transfer us to their sister hotel called Kreutzwald. So they put us to a taxi and we drove to a Kreutzwald, which was not so close the Tallinn Old City as Stackelberg, and the closesness of the Old City was the main reaseon why we chose the Stackelberg… NOT GOOD! The room which they first gave us in Kreutzberg was not cozy at all. It was cheap looking and gloomy. I called to reservations manager that we are very dissatisfied, so she arranged us a suite. I also asked for a free entry to Kreutzberg spa, and that’s what we got. In the end I think we got value for the money, but I am not at all happy for the way we were treated in von Stackelberg and in Kreutzwald. If I haven’t been so demanding, we would have spent the new year in that first gloomy room which was far away from being worth 189 euros!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here a weekend in December. We emailed and requested a room facing the courtyard and when we arrived we were upgraded to a zen room (105). The room was great, and we slept very well and were not disturbed by any noise outside. The only complaint I have is that the bathroom walls are very thin, not much privacy, but everything else was great. The breakfast buffet was great and a huge spread of both cold and warm food (mostly cold, such as cookies, cakes, different break, cold cuts, herring, salmon, cheeses, vegetables etc.) and the coffee was strong and good. The restaurant area was downstairs and very cozy. I also have to praise the hotel staff, they were very friendly and helpful and when I emailed my room request prior to our trip they responded in hours (so did the spa staff when I booked our services).

The hotel is only about a 5 min walk from old town and it's about a 9 euro cab ride from the airport.

We also used the spa services for 90 min couples massage and it was wonderful. I highly recommend both the hotel and spa services.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthlmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a triple room and it was absolutely excellent! The staff were so helpful and the room was to a high standard with enough space for 3 adults. Location is great, so close to the old town and attractions. Facilities at the hotel are great, it's finished to a really high standard and would definitely recommend the restaurant at the hotel - really tasty food. The spa was a great way to chill out after a busy day exploring.
Highly recommended to anyone wanting to explore the city!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel with good location close to old town. Friendly staff. Hotel was partly under renovation and one of our rooms were affected By early wake up By guys working outside our room between 7 and 8 in the Morning.

Looking nice inside and renovation done with good taste.

Breakfast was below par. Not so great selection. Most of the selection was not available during breakfast without waiting. Maybe they had too few persons working and in addtion to this the breakfast was way too small for hotel full of people and due to that some people were standing and waiting.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We were well welcomed by the personnel at the reception. The room 104 is just behind the reception, that means ground floor, window room next to the hotel service entry, the room is small, the bedsheets are too short/small for the mattress witch is really uncomfortable, the furnitures old, breakfast ok, wifi inoperable and the worst thing was the bad smell in our room (worst public toilet smell). We asked for a solution and alternative because it was unbearable staying in this room with that smell. Solution provided at the reception was NONE! Our solution: sleeping with open window with 2 degrees outside. Even the second day was unfortunate. No solution/alternative offered from the hotel personnel after asking again. This hotel is widely away from the 4 stars standards. We booked a hotel for our 3 days stay in Tallinn and we were disappointed. Especially because nobody seems to care about the guests. We are both cabin crew and we spent 3/4 of our working year in hotels - so we know what we are talking about. Well, all in one, Tallinn is a magic city and this hotel kind of nightmare. Forget also about the zen spa, tiny and cold sauna, little pool no relaxing area available, costs 8€ and you must do a reservation for a completely cold and empty spa. The location of the structure is good 10 min walk to the old town. I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgrTll, Owner at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Firstly I would like to apologise that on this occasion it seems we have not met our high standards of service and comfort and your expectations - i have looked into the problems that occurred with your room and I understand on the night of your arrival there was some odour from a faulty bathroom drain outlet and we were unable to change your room immediately due to high occupancy - the following morning this problem was checked and rectified by our Housekeeping and engineering team and we offered complimentary Sauna on your request as compensation - our Spa is cosy and based on a Zen theme with a Japanese plunge pool and jacuzzi which we continually receive very positive feedback on so am surprised that you were also not satisfied with your experience there - I have spoken to the receptionist who said that there was no mention of this the following morning on check out - I sincerely hope that we can exceed your expectations should you decide to visit Tallin again and hopefully we can have the opportunity to host.....please contact me personally in this repect
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 83 in Tallinn
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Property: von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing