We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unfortunate disappointment...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

2 of us stayed there on Easter for 2 nights. The hotel is located just at the bottom of Toompea Hill, on the West side of the old city and a 25 min walk from the ferry terminal/10 min drive from the airport.

The hotel itself is clean. It looks refurbished although the finishings are a bit rough in some places. They have a tiny fishbowl/aquarium at the entrance with a huge gold fish, we felt sad for it being in such a tiny place. There is also a courtyard at the back (with not much to see) and it has a spa at the basement.

The room: we had a 'superior' double room but it really felt quite small and it has little space for luggage. There is a desk with a retro computer that you can use, a big wardrobe, and a small bathroom. The bathroom has heated flooring so that's nice, but the shower enclosure is SO tiny you'll have trouble washing properly without touching the walls. The mixer in the shower just kept going cold/hot/cold. The bed was comfortable but the duvet quite small.

The worst part was the noise. We had a room facing the street on the ground floor and we asked for a change because of the traffic, but we were told there would be no noise because it was the weekend. Wrong - cars were passing by and the loud music of some could be clearly heard. However, we didn't hear the rooms around.

The food: terrible breakfast. It was part of the deal but when we went down to the basement for breakfast, the offering was very poor: tiny fruit that looked quite old, a poor choice of drinks (concentrated juice, only fatty milk...), a few pastries that were overcooked, and sausages & eggs. The eggs were cooked somewhow/with something that made them yellowish gray. I never figured out what that was but it tasted bad. The rest of the hot items were clearly swimming in grease.

The service was OK - Katya at the front desk was really nice, otherwise the rest were average service.

All in all, we were very disapointed with the room and the food considering what we paid, and more so because of the location which is the quiet side of town.

Will I stay there again? no way. I'd rather stay on the east side in the new town, where I can more easily walk to places and it's more lively.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtard, not the street.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights:
+ atmosphere; thick stone walls, peaceful
+ hotel guests; not typical drink-drink-drink department! Well mannered people
+ clean, personel very attentive and polite
+ breakfast
+ late checkout free of charge
+ wonderful roof windows in rooms
- bed in Deluxe Zen room correspondent of average 3star hotel (better bed in Superior regular where stayed one night)
- towels NOT matching 4 star status nor atmosphere, small, rough, dissapointing
- at breakfast on both mornings the best fresh bread ran out, requested it and - nothing. One day ran out, the other missed it as everyone wanted same. Why there is a shortage of obviously popular item?? Beats me.
Would we recommend it, yes, overall our stay was a positive experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Finnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely historic building - location is at the upper old town border so if you have walking difficulties it is a bit of a slope into the wall old town and coming back its a very long incline back or you can use the steps which is quicker but there are quite a few. The rooms are clean but the beds are very small - there is no mattress covers and the sheets don't fit the beds, the mattress was not in good or clean condition - the bath was not fixed and very small and if you use the shower which went hot/cold water would spill all over the bathroom floor. The staff were very nice and the girl who greeted us was exceptionally nice and helpful ( forgot her name ) - easy to reach from the airport and the hotel gave us very good directions. We eat in the restaurant once and it was nice but expensive. The also ask for 3 euros for a very small bottle of water in the room but you can walk 10 mins to the rail st. where there is a supermarket open till 23:00 I would not stay again because of the beds and the walk into/out of the old town.

Room Tip: ask for the back as the front is on a very busy corner with constant traffic
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in March, porter was waiting for me at airport as arranged.
Great breakfast buffet, restaurant dinner good quality (about 30 euro). Sadly the spa was fully booked for the weekend, I should have pre-booked as advised in all their emails.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who are amazing and speak perfect English.

Buy a CityBus tour ticket at reception for 20 euro for 2 days, bus stop is 3 mins walk, it's a great way of getting around and learning about the city

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice, newly renovated rooms and areas. Colour sceme is lovely. Free, well working wifi. Pleasant service in conference facilities. There was a wif of soviet times in the air. Mainly due to old piping. Overall a fantastic stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tuuli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel and SPA treatment to everybody. Nice, tidy hotel situated 4 minutes walk from an old Tallinn castle and maybe 8 minutes walk from the old town. Hotel is situated next to the busy city road, but You won't hear a thing. It's nice and quiet inside the room even with your window opened. Friendly and helpful staff. We upgraded to ZEN room - it was very spacious with extremely comfortable bed, lot of space and a bath with Whirlpool Bath ready to use. (Great feeling when you're relaxing with a glass of wine in your hand:-)
Once again - with no hesitation - I recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazyTheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Everything is just about right in this place. The hotel is set in beautiful court houses just at the outskirt of Tallinn old town but it's easily within 10 mins walking distance away which involves a nice stroll through the old city wall past the Toopea Castle. The lobby area and the courtyard are tastefully decorated and the rooms are just right. In some places the rooms are either too warm or too old or too stuffy, von Stackelberg got it just right and the rooms overlook the pretty courtyard area.

The rooms are very clean although the bath area may lack toiletries. They only provide 3-in-1 shampoo, bathgel and conditioner. The kettle in the room with tea and coffee is a big plus and the free excellent WIFI connection is also a huge plus.

The breakfast and dining areas are in the basement cellar. The staff are generally helpful and polite and speak very good English.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KahChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,719 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing