We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 22 November 2005

The Grand Meriton is well-situated, though it is across the street from the much cheaper Uniquestay (no basis for comparison other than they have free wireless internet and I had to pay for a 20 euro upgrade to get the same thing which sent the room cost from slightly higher to much higher).

The people are very friendly, if somewhat undertrained. I asked upon check-in if they had rooms in which the windows opened. They had no idea. Seems a fairly basic question, and that mgmt. would show the staff what the folks wandering into the hotel are paying for.

Another positive is 24 hour room service and bar, which is a plus if you want that one last drink or munchie before heading to bed. Had the grilled salmon from room service and it was quite good. Served with a potato puree and passion fruit. The puree was a tad cold, but in all an acceptable room service entree.

For those who plan to use the "fitness center" I would recommend bringing trainers and going for a run. The equipment is sparse, out of date, and in some instances, completely non-functional. The sauna looked OK, not sure how busy it is.

Last, but not least, was the failure of the GM to get back to me regarding transport from the airport. It turned out fine (my transportation) but think it would have been a simple thing to either a) do something about it, or b) send me back a short note saying they don't do that sort of thing.

Bottom line, it is a nice, clean facility in a good location. But if you want some extras or have been spoiled, as I admit I have, by staying in fairly nice places, it is a disappointment. Next time I'll stay across the road, forgo the alleged extras, and save 30-40 euros per night.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
There are newer reviews for Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2005

This hotel is a short walk from the old town (on the "upper old town" side), and offers quiet rooms and friendly service. The doorman, Souza, is particularly friendly and helpful, and really made us feel welcome. Upon arriving at the hotel, you will see that there is a so-called "casino" on the premises. We weren't too pleased about this, thinking it might generate noise late at night, but it turned out to be just a room full of slot machines.

The lobby is smoky and furnished in a dark red that we found a bit tacky, but we cheered up when we got to our room and found it to be clean, a good size, and - best of all - duvet/comforters on the beds rather than blankets. The sheets were cold-pressed, too, and the double curtains include a small velcro tab, allowing you to make the room totally dark. Along with the complete and utter silence, this helped us to get a great night's sleep every night. The bathroom was nothing especially luxurious, but was really fine, featuring a Swedish Ifö toilet and a huge bath tub which we put to good use.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was good, with a big range of hot and cold dishes to choose from, although we weren't blown away by the quality of the food. The clientelle in the hotel seemed to be pretty mixed - quite a few Brits, as well as some Finns and lots of other nationalities.

At one point we wanted to go for a bit of an excursion, and after talking to Souza the doorman, he recommended renting a car, which he then promptly arranged for us at our request. This couldn't have been better - we got a great little car for the day, delivered to and picked up from the hotel for EEK600 (€38). Note that, as in many other places in Tallinn, we had to pay for the car in cash - make sure you have a bit of cash on you at all times, because you can't always rely on credit cards, especially in Taxis.

In the basement of the hotel there is a spa/massage center, which my wife used and was very happy with: a 1 hour massage is EEK350 (€22), although note again that you must pay in cash here, or pay via the hotel with a 28% service charge added.

Checkout went smoothly, and overall we would definitely consider staying here again, especially considering the excellent "special rate" we got by booking on Expedia. We had a look at the SAS Radisson while we were in Tallinn, and it definitely had a newer and more luxurious lobby, so it might be a better bet if you are looking for something special, but it is in the business district, and a bit further away from the old town. The Meriton Grand is definitely a solid choice.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hyslopc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2005

The hotel said they were completely full for the nights we wanted, but we were still able to book a room on expedia. So that may have caused us to get the worst room in the place, but regardless, it didn't seem worth the money. The rug was stained and worn in parts, the a/c did not work properly and the room was very stuffy at night. And no bar soap or shampoo in the shower? However, the desk staff was so nice and helpful that we ended up feeling good about the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alice87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2005

My cousin and I flew to Estonia, Tallinn from Gatwich in London to visit our relations in December,2004 and spent New Year's Eve with them. The Hotel Tallinn we found was a good Hotel and in a location making walking to the Old City of Tallinn very accessible. The staff at the Hotel were obliging and the breakfast served was excellent offering many choices. We would not hesitate to stay there again. We only had 4 days there but I intend and hope to return to Tallinn and expore further. What a beautiful City. The room we shared was a big room with good facilities. We were able to move the two single beds into different situations and found the size adequate to accommodate us. The atmosphere of the Hotel was welcoming and the staff courteous. The rooms were clean and well serviced with TV. I flew from Melbourne Australia to stay with my cousin who lives in York, UK. Can't wait to get back............

1  Thank gera007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2005

We have now stayed at the Grand several times, and would stay there again. Go up to the cocktail bay on the top floor at dusk and watch the floodlights light up the Old Town and the cathederals, with a drink in hand!
Excellent service, clean and handy for almost everywhere in Tallin. Use Tallin as a 'Jumping Off' spot for elswhere in the Baltic. You can take the overnight train to St Petersburg or the helicopter to Helsinki.

  • Stayed: March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Badger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2005

The Grand is a new hotel just on the edge of the old town, a 5 minute walk away. Just cross the busy road and you're in the park. The rooms and bathrooms are a decent size and furnished in that typical "classic tasteful" hotel style. Not exactly personal but this is a hotel and not your home. We had a standard room, comfy beds, TV (including 3 German programmes but no English ones except for sport), minibar, phone, all the usual stuff, with lovely views of Toompea. This is a capital city and so there is quite a lot of traffic, but it is very light compared to most other cities. We live in a city so it didn't bother us, but those not used to traffic noise might prefer at room not facing the road. There are also no-smoking areas and rooms so neither smokers nor non-smokers have any reason to get het up about smoking policy. There is a nice bar/coffee bar in the reception area with a fireplace, comfy chairs and free copies of the Financial Times. The breakfast buffet was varied. The bread and pastries are baked on the premises. Staff were efficient and pleasant except one young woman whose surly manner reminded me of the old Ostbloc times. Nothing to get upset about, there's one in every bunch. And they all spoke very good English. This hotel is good value for money, centrally located, friendly, comfortable and has good facilities (sauna, fitness room, Internet). What more do you want?

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank happydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool, England
16
Reviewed 7 October 2004

This hotel is ideally situated near to the historic Toompea area of the city. It is a short walk to the Town Hall Sq.

The staff are especially friendly and helpful and I would like to give special mention to Jay-Jay the porter.

Facilities are top notch and I would stay here again. The only down side was the choice of room service... cheese platter or cheese platter

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
1.1 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.8 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 27 | Paldiski mnt 4, Tallinn 10149, Estonia (Formerly Meriton Grand Conference & Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#27 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £51 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn is located at the very heart of the capital, close to the Old Town and the Parliament. Hotel offers easy access to the main shopping areas, theatres and the wide range of restaurants. Harbor 3 km • City center 0 km• Airport 7 km • Old Town 1 km • Shopping center 1 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Grand Conference And Spa Hotel
Meriton Grand Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing