We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - a bit haphazard!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maikrahv

Maikrahv
Ranked #201 of 910 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: European, International, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Maikrahv is a romantic restaurant with medieval ambience, delicious food and friendly service, located right in the heart of the old town, the Town Hall Square. If you appreciate delightful food, good drinks and high quality entertainment program - you're welcome!
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice location - a bit haphazard!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A bit of an odd experience. The staff were very nice but don't speak great English - our Australian friend ordered orange juice and ended up with pear cider, like the rest of us had ordered.
When we arrived as part of a tour group from a cruise ship it took a few minutes for us to be seated, as another tourist group from Korea had arrived, proceeded to nearly mow everyone else down on the stairs and then guard all the tables until they were directed where to go. Also the arrangements for vegetarian guests took several minutes to arrange.
Then they started bringing out salad, which a few people received and then they came and took them and gave them to another table! We eventually got our salads - just some lettuce, tomato and cucumber with a little dressing so it felt a bit lazy.
The medieval style pork main was quite nice, my husband said the vegetarian main was very average. The pudding we had to check if it was vegetarian as it was fruits in some sort of jelly, which was okay.
The cellar was interesting and the outdoor tables had a nice view. The servers were all polite, the food was okay not great not awful, it really was a haphazard experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    58
    35
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
180 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Traditional Estonian But Too Much Tourist Flair”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is OK if you're looking for traditional Estonian food at a fair price. It's great for people watching. We were there during a big Arts Festival so we had "dinner and a show" for just the dinner price. The waiters and waitresses are in medieval garb and "hawk" tourists out front which caused us to have skepticism, but it was our first night and we were starving and it was close to our apartment, so we tried them. The food was quickly served, fairly priced and fair in portion given the price. I had some kind of traditional Estonian sausage which was a tad dry. I'm not sure if that's how they are supposed to be, so I let that go not knowing if I was in any position to wage a complaint. My husband ordered a lamb shank which was really abundant as a matter of fact and very tasty.

They might not need the hawkers, if they lost the 16th century garb to lure people in. That was what initially put us off at first. It's worth a go if you need to eat and haven't done any research before hand, but don't settle if you have the time to find "the real" Estonian food in Old Town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunny terrace”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We listened outdoor concert in the terrace of Maikrahv. The music was beautiful, we had a bottle of sparkling wine and a plate of different kind of cheese. The staff was friendly. The free wifi works only inside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heljä V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location marginal food”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Sat down for pizza and a glass of wine. The view of the square is outstanding and it's a good place to sit and watch the people go by. The wine selection was not very good and the pizza was just okay. As expected prices were also quite high due to it's location.

Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
410 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Outdoor with close view to the old city hall - or in their cellar”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a big restaurant at the main square in Tallinn. You can sit outdoor and enjoy the very close look to the old city hall - but you could also enter the big cellar where the restaurant also can cater for big groups. We were 14 in our group and had traditional Estonian food - and really enjoyed it. A big group of youngsters had a pleasant evening - but not too noisy. I think it is some touristic - but actually OK to my opinion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roarmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maikrahv also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Maikrahv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing