We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”

Goodwin Steak House
Ranked #63 of 911 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: US$16 - US$86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The GOODWIN Steak House is the only classic American steakhouse in the Baltics and Scandinavia. A team of professionals used steakhouse traditions and their own first-hand experience to create the first restaurant of its kind in Estonia. We have studied the concept for many years in the US and Australia, the countries of origin of steak production and cooking culture; the countries where steakhouses are national symbols – which is why we are proud to offer an authentic American Steakhouse with all the appropriate attributes. We opened our first restaurant in Tallinn in March 2009, eager to share our passion for steaks. According to GOODWIN’s philosophy, steakhouse culture is based on three main principles: the cult of beef, the cult of wine and the cult of guests. The cult of beef is an expert approach to steaks, from beef selection to cooking technology. The cult of wine includes professional wine selection: we know everything about wines and offer those perfectly suited to our steaks. The cult of guests is the basis of our hospitality. We know and love our guests, and we create the most comfortable environment for them. Guests enjoy everything in GOODWIN – meals, dinks, music, service, and the open and friendly environment. And we are sure that having once tried what we were able to achieve, you will become a true admirer of real steaks and will hence be our true friend! You are very welcome!
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Unfortunately the steaks were chewy. Overpriced. Wine should be delivered to the table before the meal, not in the same time. Overall got the impression that the staff was not too interested. Potatoes with mushrooms were good :).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiKisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    148
    83
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was one of the best Fillet Mignon's I've ever had. The staff were fast, courteous and very polite. I especially liked the little touch of the picture menu, so if wanted to try something new, you knew what you'd you'd be getting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondemetalninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Tallinn have a lot restaurants but not many steak houses, This is one them and it is a great restaurant. Great food. Great location on Viru street in Old Town.
In the summer time it can be too touristic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henrik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Steak you can cut with a butter knife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We started with the buffalo mozzarella with tomato which was amazing. The filet mignon and ribeye steak were so tender you could cut it with a butter knife! To top it off, the chocolate fondant which was essentially a chocolate lava cake melted in your mouth! We highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Tallinn!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank deniseandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“favorite steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

considering the fact that this steakhouse is a chain (Kiev, Moscow, Tallinn) this one is my favorite, maybe because of the meat quality, maybe because i just love the old town...located near the old gates to the city, boasting their huge burgers and steaks, this place is worth a visit if you are a meat freak. service is on par with the quality of the food! highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodwin Steak House also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Goodwin Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing