We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok too” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodwin Steak House

Goodwin Steak House
Ranked #71 of 901 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: US$16 - US$86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The GOODWIN Steak House is the only classic American steakhouse in the Baltics and Scandinavia. A team of professionals used steakhouse traditions and their own first-hand experience to create the first restaurant of its kind in Estonia. We have studied the concept for many years in the US and Australia, the countries of origin of steak production and cooking culture; the countries where steakhouses are national symbols – which is why we are proud to offer an authentic American Steakhouse with all the appropriate attributes. We opened our first restaurant in Tallinn in March 2009, eager to share our passion for steaks. According to GOODWIN’s philosophy, steakhouse culture is based on three main principles: the cult of beef, the cult of wine and the cult of guests. The cult of beef is an expert approach to steaks, from beef selection to cooking technology. The cult of wine includes professional wine selection: we know everything about wines and offer those perfectly suited to our steaks. The cult of guests is the basis of our hospitality. We know and love our guests, and we create the most comfortable environment for them. Guests enjoy everything in GOODWIN – meals, dinks, music, service, and the open and friendly environment. And we are sure that having once tried what we were able to achieve, you will become a true admirer of real steaks and will hence be our true friend! You are very welcome!
Malta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just ok too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The title says it all....took it from a previous review. Its ok but overly priced and no as special as i thought it would be given the reviews. The steaks start at Euro 19.50 for 250 grams, Euro 26.50 for 350 grams and go up. Some, such as lamb, are Euro 9 per 100 grms. The burger seemed the best option which cost around Euro 15. The steaks are tasty but far too expensive when you consider that you have to pay for sides extra, except for the sauce. A green salad costs Euro 7, chips (small portion) is Euro 4, as well as a number of other sides which cost around Euro 4 each. No bread or butter with the meal unfortunately either. The steak was good but the salad was with salt and pepper, which was a bit too salty for me. The atmosphere was nice but they needed more waiters and as a result the ones that were there - although they were very hard working and very nice and friendly - did need some help considering all the stairs and inside and outside catering.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zanioculcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    146
    81
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow that's the way to dine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We were served by Boris and this gentlemen is amazing. He is always there, never in the way and soooo friendly. Even my kids commented that he is extremely nice!

The food was excellent too, but as I soften the case, the service makes the experience!

Helpful?
Thank Jacofouries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited this restaurant for the first time and we really liked the food. Carpaccio and garlic breab for a sterters were great, especially carpaccio, it was really good. I would love to go back for the carpaccio.
For a main course we took fish and meat. Salmon was ok, tuna fish very good and very good comments about sauces - we each had different sauce and they were interesting and tasteful. 2 of us took steaks (rib-eye and New York, smaller and cheaper ones), rib-eye steak got some comments about not beeing so good as expected, but again sauces were good.
We also liked desserts (creme brulee and chocolate fondant), but extra good points go to Goodwin Fresh – Vanilla ice cream and plum nectar - it was really good, good ice-cream in it.
About service - to make a first order it took some 15 minutes for waiter to come to us. It was a little bit too long time as we wanted to order starters first.
But overall we were satisfied with this restaurant and food and will visit again some time (if we have saved some money as this was quite expensive restaurant :) ).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank _kv_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very fast service giving the impression that they wanted you in and out as soon possible. Food was served very quickly yet the steak was cold, giving the impression that it had been pre-cooked. Side dishes were nice. Wouldn't return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DANDD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“read the menu carefully”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited tallinn for a long weekend and by the time we had stepped foot in goodwin we were already aware how expensive dining was. My friends and I were put in a private room away from other customers on the ground floor which at first was nice. We sat there for nearly 10 minutes before we were served and were told the three cheapest steaks on the menu were sold out. Coincidence? Hard to say, but what I can say is the steaks were so expensive even they had to try to trick you by charging price per 100g. Most of the steaks started at €40 and were as much as €80. Not only that, the sides came separately so you were just paying for a steak. No matter how good the steak is, nobody shoukd pay this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodwin Steak House also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Goodwin Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing