We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place in the heart of Tallinn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of In Vino Veritas - CLOSED

In Vino Veritas
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating
Description: In Vino Veritas restaurant is situated in the house about what the first written mentioning date back to 1458. It is a small family restaurant the food and drinks choice of which was made by the Italy cuisine loving owner .
Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy place in the heart of Tallinn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Were here with friends before the New Year. Atmosphere is very nice, felt myself like in real Italian trattoria. Food was good, staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend this place for people who like Italian cuisine and would like to spend a great time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ViktoriaJoe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In Vino not Veritas!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The restaurant is nice and cosy, and the food was fine. The weird thing was that we ordered a 50cl caraf of wine, and when the waiter poured it, it was clear that it was not 50cl. We're from Finland, and we're used to carefully measured glasses of wine, and I we know what a 25cl glass weighs in the hand! When questioned about this, the waiter became flummoxed and ran away, saying "15, yes, no 50!". He came back, not with the extra 20cl that he should have, but with a glass full of water in order to 'prove' to us that we had the correct amount. It was total silliness. We were amazed at the brass neck! If a customer calls you out, you respond accordingly. This was the most counter-effective form of arrogance I've ever encountered in a restaurant. Old school Estonian sexism at work thinking that stupid foreign women won't question you when you try it on. This was not appreciated.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank welshpony1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Quiet Place For Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ate here for dinner and thought that the food was very good. I had Salmon in Mushroom Sauce and my husband had Pasta and Chicken in Cream Sauce. The service was very good and they were very friendly. The atmosphere is cosy and romantic. It is located on a quiet street outside of the main tourist area so the prices were a tiny bit cheaper than some of the other places we looked at.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We would come back here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Goat cheese starter was superb. Prosciuto pizza was with prosciuto cotto ham but still it was really enjoyable. Great service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vilma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really tasty great value cute atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We had the pizza and pasta - was very tasty - really enjoyed ourselves. Can't say a bad word about the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandracmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed In Vino Veritas also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing